Skip to main content
16 votes

In a Hard combat game, how do I hint that the story will be combat-light?

You never hint, ever. You tell it like it is. Your chosen system does not fit the story you are trying to tell. As such, it is no big deal: you can run any game with any system. That said, a system ...
Sardathrion - against SE abuse's user avatar
10 votes
Accepted

How can I make a useful tank/melee character?

Short Answer Increase your Fighting and Vigor, get Arcane Background (Chi Mastery) and deflection, use a spear (Str+d6, Parry +1, Reach 1) for a weapon, and use good tactics. Also, double-check that ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 15.8k
9 votes

Can the Marksman edge be used while duel wielding pistols?

Marksman can be used with two pistols as long as you are shooting at the same target. See here for official confirmation of this. As long as both are fired at the same target. A character can't Aim (...
Wibbs's user avatar
  • 17.8k
7 votes
Accepted

Does being “considered armed” from the Deadlands version of Martial Arts Edge grant a +d4 too?

The two Edges have different names, so their effects do not stack In Savage Worlds Deluxe, the Edge is Martial Artist. In Deadlands Reloaded, the Edge is called Martial Arts. Thus the only benefits ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 15.8k
6 votes

Can you split both actions in the turn when using Quickness

There is no such thing as “splitting an action” in the Savage Worlds rules. There is however the ability to take multiple actions in a turn. Characters may perform multiple actions such as ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 15.8k
5 votes

What exactly is a 'Damage roll' for Grim Servant O' Death/No Mercy edges?

'Damage' and 'damage roll' are interchangeable in this sense in SW. The books never refer to individual dice rolled for damage, except when adding them to damage. Even modifiers that seem to be added ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
5 votes
Accepted

Two fisted and Wing Chun martial artist, Is the 3rd attack free?

Wing Chun gives you an extra attack with no penalty. The no penalty bit means exactly that, and there is no malus attached to it at all. Combining it with Two-Fisted gives you three attacks in total, ...
Wibbs's user avatar
  • 17.8k
4 votes
Accepted

What does "modern day equivalent" mean for income in Savage Worlds?

Official Answer The Official Answer to this question is "Up to the Marshal", due to the varying importance of economics in campaigns, the optional nature of allowing the Rich edge, and the wildly ...
ValhallaGH's user avatar
  • 12.3k
4 votes
Accepted

Do gadgets/fetishes expire at the end of the session they are created?

Clint Black, official rules manager for Savage Worlds, answered this succinctly on the Pinnacle forums: If the power points reserves are not fully used, is the gizmo available in the next session, or ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 15.8k
2 votes
Accepted

Blasting gadgeteers object, Is it "Big boom" or "Boom Boom"?

As you correctly state in your question, depending on the amount of Power Points you spend, you have the following options each time you use the Blast Power: 2 PP - 2d6 damage in a Medium Burst ...
Wibbs's user avatar
  • 17.8k
2 votes

What does "modern day equivalent" mean for income in Savage Worlds?

According to a CPI Let's parse this... "If a regular income is appropriate" In this case, 'regular' would mean steady. A $150,000 annual salary, divided over however many pay periods. Maybe it's ...
miltonaut's user avatar
  • 177
1 vote

In a Hard combat game, how do I hint that the story will be combat-light?

I write with the presumption that the game system and previous games has already communicated to you player base that they should min/max their characters to be as effective at killing things as ...
Eric Silver's user avatar
1 vote

What does "modern day equivalent" mean for income in Savage Worlds?

There is no reference to matching Savage Worlds costs to a real world economy. The use of dollars to represent costs and income in game terms in every other instance suggests that for the core rules $...
Ringo_St R's user avatar
  • 2,072
1 vote

Does being “considered armed” from the Deadlands version of Martial Arts Edge grant a +d4 too?

The edge is replaced by the one in the Deadlands book. It is common for savage worlds books to replace edges found in the core rulebook. Normally, some kind of information is given about why the edge ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible