New answers tagged

2

Berserker Strength ACF (PHB2 p.33) counts as rage for the purpose of interacting with any other abilities that trigger on a rage, but has different bonuses, different activation criteria, and doesn't actually inherit any rules from the barbarian classfeature. In particular, it has no per-day or per-encounter limits, and instead activates every time you drop ...


5

Scablands Half-Orc I hunted around every race list that I could find, and, aside from Chet Erez's outdated work, this one was the only one that did the job. As far as I can tell, your only omission is the Scablands Half-Orc from page 43 of Sandstorm. Everything else is either homebrew, 3rd party, or Pathfinder. Frankly, the subrace isn't notable for ...


4

I have finally gotten around to compiling my own list, so here it is. Classes These are ordered with base classes first, in alphabetical order, then prestige classes, also in alphabetical order. Barbarian 1st, 4th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 16th, 17th, 20th (Player’s Handbook) Obviously, this is the typical source of rage. Also some damage reduction, but it’s ...


5

Since you can't treat a creature of your size or smaller as a mount, trying to mount them would result in them just carrying you. The benefits of mounting a qualifying creature is that you would get access to mounted combat feats and use of the Ride-skill to do X, Y, and Z. You will not get those benefits mounting a creature of your size or smaller. Since ...


0

It doesn't say what the penalties are except for "Mount or Dismount Quickly". It is most likely left vague for your DM to decide. The easiest interpretation is that such a mount counts as an "Unusual Mount", requiring special training and exotic equipment like an exotic saddle. By that logic we can refer to "Training an Unusual Mount" on page 205 in the "...


0

There is not, and really couldn’t be—if it existed, it would be wrong How wealth affects a party’s power in D&D 3.5e is extremely complicated, and it depends so much on the party’s composition, level, the foes they face, and so on. Some classes are, even at high levels, inconvenienced at worst—a cleric might really like their greater metamagic rod of ...


0

The second line of the spell description states "The figments stay near you and disappear when struck". Later it states "these figments separate from you are remain in a cluster" so again depending on the about of images and the location of the caster, a line is doubtful if more that 2 images. It also states that you (the caster) "can move into and through a ...


7

If the book does not provide specific rules concerning spellcasting services as part of starting equipment, this is the GM's decision. There are, however, some indications that can inform the decision: Page 111 of the PHB says (about buying starting equipment): Note that buying beginning equipment this way is an abstraction. Your character ...


0

Manual of the Planes implies that the portal's immobile The prestige class planeshifter gains at level 10 the natural ability demiplane seed (Manual of the Planes (Sept. 2001) 31–2). Over the course of the demiplane seed ability's 300-word description, only this sentence mentions the portal that connects the planeshifter's demiplane to elsewhere: The ...


1

Use the highest relevant miss chance from concealment The Player's Handbook on Concealment Miss Chance says, "Multiple concealment conditions (such as a defender in a fog and under the effect of a blur spell) do not stack" (152). Like most things that overlap instead of stack, only the highest amount—if any—applies, and if none of the amounts are highest ...


1

There are multiple ways to adjudicate this question. Technically any effects that produce a miss chance affect only by the highest miss chance in play at the moment of the attack so for a textbook answer there you go. This is to streamline die rolls during combat so that a single attack doesn't bog down the flow of the action but this restricts game play ...


5

My sense of Devils in general is that they are lawful because they fear reprisal of acting outside of the law. This reinforces the idea that Devils are punisher's of transgressions even within their own ranks and species. Higher level devils thus punish lower level devils into compliance with their orders and so on down to the lowest echelons like the Lemure....


2

Consecrate is a 2nd-level spell and disintegrate is a 6th-level spell, which is totally bonkers as far as I can tell. Undead tend to be the more common threat in most campaigns, making the truedeath crystal more valuable, not less. Of course, their costs reflect that, with truedeath being substantially more expensive (at the lesser and greater tiers), but it’...


4

We can't tell you what sort of rulings your DM should issue. This is especially complicated because the two crystals you cite seem to have very different costs: the greater truedeath crystal costs 10000gp (5000gp more than the lesser truedeath crystal), but the greater demolition crystal costs 6000gp (3000gp more than the lesser demolition crystal), even ...


2

You don’t need to roll anything at all to summon it; that’s just something you can do, whenever you want, as much as you want. The stats given in the description are for the sake of figuring out the bonuses on any rolls that the arm makes. So you know its BAB and its Strength and can figure out attack rolls, grapple checks, and so on.


5

Directly—maybe So there is a conflict between two rules here. As Matheus’s fine answer covers, tongues itself refers solely to speaking and listening, and any mention of reading and writing is conspicuously absent, compared with, say, comprehend languages which explicitly covers reading. The conflict I mention, though, is with some much more basic rules: ...


0

Well, taking from here the spell description is as follow: This spell grants the creature touched the ability to speak and understand the language of any intelligent creature, whether it is a racial tongue or a regional dialect. The subject can speak only one language at a time, although it may be able to understand several languages. Tongues does not ...


1

I would say, they do carry over. The supernatural ability Alternate Form reads (in part): The creature gains the physical ability scores (Str, Dex, Con) of its new form. It retains the mental ability scores (Int, Wis, Cha) of its original form. Apply any changed physical ability score modifiers in all appropriate areas with one exception: the ...


4

Typically no as warlock invocations are usually spell-like abilities and, as such, require concentration Warlock invocations like the least invocation hideous blow (Complete Arcane 134) are typically spell-like abilities (CAr 7), and "[u]sing a spell-like ability… works like casting a spell in that it requires concentration…" (Player's Handbook 142). ...


1

Complete Champion introduces Special Holy Symbols (CC, 133) which, apart from functioning as holy symbols, grant certain „+1 bonuses“. One of them, Moradin’s Forge, increases the effective caster level by 1 when used to turn or rebuke air creatures. The Special Holy Symbols presented in CC are all tied to one of the core D&D deities, but it is made ...


3

It seems that the only listing of "Deep Orcs" is the Orog from the forgotten realms in 3.5 edition D&D. They are described as "Physically, an orog looks similar to a large mountain orc, except that the ears are somewhat larger, and their eyes are huge and pale. They average six and a half feet tall"(71) They have also "mastered the art of forging armor ...


8

It seems that there was an error in the module text. What the original author of the text had written was tribal orc. What he meant to write was "Gray Orc" from the "Races of Faerun" book. The original creator of the book responded with... My primary resources were the 3.0/3.5 D&D PHB, Monster Manual, and DM Guide. There may have been some other ...


5

The normal effect of a spell is to obey its saving throw rules. If one were to pass a saving throw and then fail a level check, it would be a penalty/abnormal effect if the save were to be simultaneously discarded. Ergo, the normal effect is the effect of the spell on successful save. In order to counteract the effect of the saving throw, the absorb ability ...


1

It might mean either of those things. I don’t believe anyone will ever be able to tell you definitively what the author intended it to mean, because what was written is ambiguous, and there isn’t all that much external commentary on the spellthief (and none, to my knowledge, on absorb spell in particular). From a balance perspective, seeing as you must have ...


3

Sources of holy damage: • Spells: Blessing of the Righteous (Player's Handbook II) • Feats: Holy Ki Strike (Book of Exalted Deeds) Nemesis (Book of Exalted Deeds) Sanctify Natural Attack (Book of Exalted Deeds) Sanctify Weapon (Book of Exalted Deeds) • Classes: Demonwrecker (Expedition to the Demonweb Pits) • Salient Divine Abilities: Divine Storm (...


2

Deep Halflings are in the Monster Manual (p. 150) They lose the bonuses to Climb, Jump and move Silently, but gain bonuses to Appraise and Craft checks with stone or metal. They also have Stonecunning and Darkvision "These halflings are shorter and stockier than the more common lightfeet. Deep Halflings are about 2.5 feet tall and weigh between 30 and ...


15

Refer to the race's "monster" listing The "default" subrace for each of the standard races in 3.x is named in the Monster Manual entries for the races, where the racial traits from the PHB are reprinted. From the SRD: Elves The above information describes the high elf, the most common variety. Dwarves The information above is for hill dwarves, the ...


2

Most outsiders don't appear to age, but there's no general rule. The rules for Outsider Type in D&D 3.5 are listed in the Monster Manual, p.313. They don't mention anything about outsiders in general being immortal or immune to aging. The half-celestial description refers to the celestial parent as "immortal", but there's no other reference to it, and ...


6

Adu'ja The Adu'ja (Dragon #317, p.24) are a humanoid plant race with a level adjustment of +2. They photosynthesize, have all the benefits of plant type such as immunity to poison and critical hits, and have the ability to regrow missing limbs. The following prestige classes and effects may also technically fulfil the requirement of a plant type PC without ...


2

I don’t believe there is any option for this. I was wrong, see Quadratic Wizard’s answer. There is a woodling creature template in Monster Manual III with LA +3, which is notably not LA +2 or less. Monster Manual III also has the dread blossom swarm, which is the notoriously overpowered option for the symbiote template from Savage Species, but that doesn’t ...


13

Unless a creature's lowered its spell resistance prior to being rendered unconscious, a healing spell's caster checks that creature's spell resistance According to the rules, a spell noted as harmless in its Saving Throw entry does not automatically overcome spell resistance. Further, a creature that's unconscious does not automatically lower its spell ...


2

No, one does not gain or lose the class skills of a monster as part of what is granted by polymorph, only racial skill bonuses. Racial skill bonuses are any skill bonuses noted in the creature's description. For example, a nymph's description states: A nymph has a +8 racial bonus on any Swim check to perform some special action or avoid a hazard. She ...


3

No, it looks like you don’t. You add your arcane hierophant level together with druid or ranger levels to determine your total level for a variety of purposes relating to your animal companion’s stats—but not, as written, for its very existence. You do get the ability to summon a new companion familiar—but only after losing a previous one, so if you have no ...


5

You must be 6th level to learn (one of) those invocations The text you are looking at is the spell level equivalent for invocations. The information you are looking for is a page earlier (page 7). The four grades of invocations, in order of their relative power, are least, lesser, greater, and dark. A warlock begins with knowledge of one invocation, ...


3

I’m afraid, they would get zero rounds of free movement. If the granted power is connected to the number of cleric levels a character possesses and you have none, you can’t activate the power and cannot use it. What supports this view is this: The seeker of the misty isle prestige class (complete divine, 61) gives you the travel domain as an extra domain ...


0

Nothing in their respective descriptions states that they are mutually exclusive (Though Light weapons state they can't be used two-handed, and Natural Weapons cannot be two-handed for obvious reasons) If the weapon says it qualifies for Weapon Finesse, it means just that: You can use Weapon Finesse with that weapon. It does not imply anything else on its ...


2

Level 6: Get a celestial unicorn, but it won't gain class levels This fine answer mentions the exalted feat Celestial Mount (Book of Exalted Deeds 42) and the level 6 paladin planar substitution level that grants the natural ability celestial mount (Planar Handbook 33), both of which add to the paladin's special mount the template celestial (Monster Manual ...


3

Non-special-mount options In addition to the Celestial Mount feat or the planar paladin substitution level mentioned in Peregrin Took’s fine answer, there are a couple of other possible options to get a celestial charger companion, though it is not a paladin special mount and does not benefit from that class feature (it could be in addition to a special ...


5

No. What you can do is take the feat Celestial Mount (Book of Exalted Deeds, 42) and add the celestial template to your unicorn. You can also get it by taking a planar substitution level at 6th level (Planar Handbook, 34) but this makes you lose the remove disease class feature. The Celestial Charger (Monster Manual, 250) - a unicorn with the celestial ...


1

You need to create a custom item with the rules on the DMG To create a custom Magic Item you need to check first with your DM if it's ok or not to do it. If he gives you the OK, the estimated price of the item is as follows, being X dependand on the type of magic item you are crerating. Price = Spell Level * Caster Level * X Gold Pieces The minimum ...


4

The 2nd-level Sor/Wiz spell cloud of knives [conj] (Player's Handbook II 107) mentions nothing in its description about the caster being able to suppress its effect voluntarily. It even lacks a bracketed D after its duration, so it isn't dismissible. Thus ending the spell early—even if the spell's generated by a magic item—typically requires dispelling the ...


1

No one knows There are several questions with unclear answers here that the ultimate answer depends on. Can detect magic detect supernatural abilities? As another answer notes, the FAQ says 'yes'. It, however, does not explain all the details necessary for such a ruling to work: for example, it does not explain how to calculate the school of a ...


1

Warlock benefits from anima mage Correct, anima mage only improves the warlock’s “spellcasting,” and “You do not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained,” (Tome of Magic pg. 50). Complete Arcane defines the warlock’s “spellcasting,” for the purpose of prestige class progressions like anima mage’s, as follows: Warlocks ...


1

I would say no yes (as the question is for commanded creatures, shame on me), but read the edit Peregrin Took's answer covers really well the general rule on supernatural effects, and it applies to commanded undead (or any other creature) as you maintain a bond with those entities so you can order them for as long as you want, but a rebuked creature only ...


6

According to FAQ – yes. Turning/rebuking undead is a supernatural ability. Supernatural abilities are magical and go away in an antimagic field but are not subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or to being dispelled by dispel magic. Unfortunately, the rules don´t say (as far as I know, at least), whether an effect created by a supernatural ...


0

Subtype [Chaotic|Evil|Good|Lawful] Any effect that depends on alignment affects a creature with this subtype as if the creature has an [chaotic|evil|good|lawful] alignment, no matter what its alignment actually is. The creature also suffers effects according to its actual alignment. An LG succubus, which has the Chaotic and Evil subtypes, counts ...


1

There are no “magic item creation rules.” There are only “magic item creation guidelines.” You can only make the items the DM says you can make, no more and no less. The guidelines explicitly tell the DM that the guidelines cannot cover everything and that the DM will be forced to make judgment calls. I highly doubt you’ll find many DMs willing to let you ...


5

The rules say: A positive modifier is a bonus, and a negative modifier is a penalty. so the longsword's -2 penalty is not an enhancement bonus and cannot be reversed by the spell you describe. Note also that the longsword's -2 penalty is not described as an "enhancement" penalty, so even if it were a bonus it would not be an enhancement bonus. If you ...


5

The spell research guidelines aren’t really a capability of anyone, spellcaster or otherwise. The entire concept of researching a new spell is entirely up to the DM—the guidelines just provide ideas for a DM who wishes to make a character work for it in-character. But the actual ability to get a new spell comes from the Rule 0—that is the DM changing the ...


2

I agree with the comments above, as I have not found there are RAW that address this generally (only specific examples, as you mentioned with the Paladin's class feature.) However, RPG is about collective storytelling. I believe that when a PC endeavors to use their imagination to further the plot in a creative way, it should be rewarded. One example: ...


Top 50 recent answers are included