Hot answers tagged

75

Paladin Oaths are meant to be taken seriously The choice of oath is a significant part of the paladin class and it is meant to be a serious choice. The PHB suggests that even before reaching third level and choosing the oath as a class feature, you should probably have read ahead and thought about which choice to take depending on the nature of your paladin....


54

Failure is an option Players, through playing, can and should be able to meaningfully interact with the world. Usually they make the world better; sometimes they make it worse. Don’t rob your players of the opportunity and the consequences of a massive cock-up that they sincerely earned. How to DM these consequences I will start by saying that I haven’t ...


53

You don't have to give up on these classic trope scenarios just because the RAW for the Remove Curse spell says: At your touch, all curses affecting one creature or object end. In fact, looking across the various rule books you'll be hard pressed to find any "curse" that can cause the effect you described. A Bestow Curse spell can't turn someone into a ...


52

A paladin must adhere to their oath, although they don't specifically need to be lawful good. Before it was edited, this question asked if the paladin has to be lawful good. It was later clarified that they want to take Oath of Devotion, whose ideals suggest lawful goodness. It's worth noting that you don't actually have to be lawful good to be a paladin in ...


52

It's not clear that the ring would even activate The operative part of the Ring of Mind Shielding's description is: If you die while wearing the ring, your soul enters it, unless it already houses a soul. However, the language used to describe the lich's abililty to reconstitute itself from its phylactery seems to carefully avoid the words "death", "...


51

Is there a RAW or RAI that prohibits this? To the contrary: it is easily supported by RAW. From the Monster Manual: The alignment specified in a monster’s stat block is the default. Feel free to depart from it and change a monster’s alignment to suit the needs of your campaign. If you want a good-aligned green dragon or an evil storm giant, there’s ...


46

If you don't work with your DM on your back story ... ... anything you do with your background and backstory can create difficulty at the table, since a PC needs to fit into the game world. If you work with your DM on your back story .... ... and the two of you together come up with amnesia as part of why your character is adventuring / questing, then it'...


44

As @aaron9eee says, it's never too late to enforce rules as written (RAW). However, you say you haven't talked to your player yet about it. That should be your first step! Your player clearly knows something is wrong, so take them aside out of game and 'fess up: "I recently found out that we've been handling some of the monk features incorrectly. The game ...


42

They are not single-use The only thing close to something being 'single use' is if it is concerned ammunition such as arrows. But even those have rules around recovery. The lance is simply another weapon, like a longsword, longbow, or spear and follows the same rules regarding it's ability to be used more than once. There are even some weapons, like the ...


39

Your "Curse" is not mechanically a curse You can impose conditions that would be a curse in a fairy tale, but are not mechanically curses. Remove Curse is a 3rd level spell. It is meant to remove conditions such as those imposed by the Bestow Curse or Geas or to remove the atunement from a cursed item so that the item can be disposed of. Remove curse ...


37

You must use your reaction as you fall. After taking damage, you are no longer falling. The trigger is specific: you can use your reaction when you fall You take falling damage when you hit the ground, and at that point you fell, you are not falling anymore. Therefore, a Monk spends its reaction before taking damage. Narratively, it doesn't make much ...


31

You can have a NPC that is the BBEG. There are a number of ways to have the ultimate enemy of your players accompany them at times during their adventures. Multiple interactions is doable The Curse of Strahd adventure opens with guidance about the players interacting with the boss multiple times (p. 10, under "When Strahd Attacks"): Strahd isn’t a ...


30

You use your reaction when you fall, before damage is rolled The trigger for Slow Fall's reaction is "when you fall". This trigger occurs as soon as you find out you are falling, not after the fall when you take damage. Note that the Feather Fall spell has the same trigger (plus the ability of the spell to affect others as well), and the mechanics of ...


30

"Who does that?" Uh... practically everyone? Amnesia and the search for who you used to be is a very common background for a heroic character in literature, movies, and games. It's literally the main plot conceit of Knights of the Old Republic, Planescape Torment, The Bourne Identity, and Dark City, among many others, and it shows up all the time in ...


30

Adamantine armor It has the property: While you're wearing it, any critical hit against you becomes a normal hit. (DMG 150) It is only classified as uncommon, but it is still a magic item. Depending on how the DM handles that, the difficulty of acquiring one may change. You also need to be proficient in at least medium armor to properly use one. Note ...


27

This depends mostly on what it is you mean by "DMPC" Properly speaking, any character played by the DM is an NPC, a non-player character. Even major or regularly recurring NPCs like the PC adversaries and their lieutenants. A DMPC is a derogatory (to my ears anyway) term for an NPC that is not only prominent and regularly recurring, but also in whom the ...


27

Play as a Grave Cleric The Grave Cleric domain from XGtE (p. 20) has the following ability at level 6: As a reaction when you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you suffers a critical hit, you can turn that hit into a normal hit. This ability has a limited number of uses between long rests but unless you are getting critical hit too often, it ...


25

Yes, this is given as a half-orc parentage option in Xanathar's Guide to Everything Chapter 1 of XGtE is all about helping you figure out your character's background and personality, and it includes a brief discussion about parentage. For the races with mixed backgrounds (half-elves, half-orcs and tieflings) there are tables you can use to choose or ...


25

Lances do not normally break on hit in D&D 5e. The rules of D&D 5th edition assert that the DM can always invent their own house rules, or make rulings that aren't necessarily supported by the rules-as-written. However, there is no rule in the core rulebooks that says a lance breaks or is lost on a hit. It's just another melee weapon. The only ...


24

This is likely unbalanced For your tiefling paladin, this is likely at least a +3 to AC, which, depending on their build, could give them 21 AC at level 4 (shield + chain mail from Paladin starting gear, +3 base CHA modifier.) This is quite powerful relative to other options, and will improve with any additional ASI. If this doesn't look that powerful to ...


22

It's never too late to be honest. I have had a very similar experience, but as a player. I made a tiefling warlock character and being new to 5e I made a bunch of mistakes. Fairly minor things like taking the Magic Initiate feat at first level, and adding the spells on my expanded spell list to my learned spells - instead of just adding them to the list ...


21

Chapter 2 of the Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide is narrated by five Faerûnians. The introduction to Chapter 2: The Sword Coast and the North says (SCAG, p. 43; emphasis mine): This chapter details many of the locales of the Sword Coast and the North, as seen through the eyes and recollections of a person living in Faerûn. Rather than being exhaustive ...


20

You're the DM; that's all up to you There is a reason that for all creatures their alignment says that they "tend to be...". This is because a creature's experiences in life decide their alignment, not their race. Their race simply tends to influence this. Because of this, it's all up to the DM as to whether any given creature can push back against their ...


20

It's overpowered I will highlight specific problem points. The ability score increase of four dexterity is too much, and the corresponding decrease does not balance it out. This is because normal character builds in DnD tend towards not using all ability scores equally, resulting in almost any trade that results in more primary at the expense of a "dump ...


19

It is OK if you and your DM are okay with it Backstories are personal. Heck, roleplaying is personal. What's allowable, workable, usable, and/or fun is going be 100% up to the player and the DM to agree on. We can't tell you if it's good or bad for you or your table, but if your DM has an issue with it, then there's an issue with it. It doesn't mean they'...


19

This is something you should use a Rollable Table for. Create a table with 8 entries, one for each damage type. You could call it "Chaos-Bolt". Then modify your macro above to: &{template:default} {{name=Chaos bolt}}{{damage type = [[1t[Chaos-Bolt]]]}} If you want the actual number to show, just write the entries as: Acid (1) Cold (2) ... The results ...


18

Yes, the d20 has a higher impact than it might've had in earlier editions. Regardless of what level you're at, a bad roll can make you fail at something you're good at, whereas a good roll can make you succeed even in something you're mediocre or bad at. This is intentional. You're not really meant to overcome it. It's just part of how the game works. This ...


18

RAW is unclear about whether a mount and rider occupy the same space One important question is whether a mount and its rider are considered to be occupying the same space, or whether the rider occupies a space above the mount's space. If they occupy the same space, then any area of effect that hits the mount can also be aimed in such a way that it hits the ...


17

No. As mentioned by Krzysztof Skibiński, a spell book is not a magic item. The Thief archetype Rogue's class ability Use Magic Device allows your rogue to use a magic item that they normally would not be allowed to use. For instance, a Rod of Resurrection is normally only usable by a Cleric, Druid, or Paladin. This ability would allow your rogue to attune ...


17

According to the written rules, no. A dryad's Fey Charm action specifically says it targets one humanoid or beast that she can see within 30 feet of her. A yochlol is a fiend (and a demon and a shapechanger), not a humanoid or a beast, so it can't be targeted by the dryad's Fey Charm. Practically, however, you can do whatever you want to make a good ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible