New answers tagged

5

Yes The 2010 4e book, Underdark describes both the Feydark and Shadowdark, where the Shadowdark is just what you are describing. Additionally, the 2011 4e supplement, Shadowfell: Gloomwrought and Beyond, mentions the Shadowdark as well. But the earliest that I think the word "Shadowdark" was mentioned in official material was actually something ...


1

I agree with above post, you can by RaW cast gfb off shadowblade but can't twin gfb as it can hit multiple targets, it should be noted that boomingblade CAN be twinned, as it is a single target spell. It should also be noted you should ask your DM if you can take both greenflameblade/boomingblade AND shadowblade, as shadowblade is from xanthars guide, while ...


1

It appears in the nearest unoccupied space You claim that "all nearest unoccupied spaces" are gone, but that certainly must not be true, since at least some spaces still exist and they can only not be the nearest if there is a nearer space. The DM must determine what the nearest unoccupied space is, and the creature returns to that one. Probably ...


5

It would appear so. The Con checks, and levels of exhaustion gained, are applied at the end of the turn, for each Dash action taken during the turn. If you somehow take multiple Dash actions, you can gain multiple levels of exhaustion at once and run yourself to death. If you're at 4 levels, and gain a level from the first check, this drops your speed to ...


10

The notion of movement speed being per round and not turn is not very useful. In general, the stuff a character is able to do during a round is limited to their turn, the major exception here is reactions, which we'll get back to. Your speed is a metric which informs how far you can move on your turn for free. In addition, all creatures can take the Dash ...


2

Probably Uncommon, possibly rare Ok, standard disclaimer: Magic item rarity and power is in no way precise. It is perhaps most useful as a rough measure to help give evenly to the players, but there's a lot of taking things on the feel on both sides. That said, comparisons: The obvious comparison for me when looking at a bonus to initiative, is a weapon of ...


2

I would say this item is rare due to the "free" extra attack Regarding the +5 to initiative part The obvious comparison is the Alert feat, which gives the following benefits: You gain a +5 bonus to initiative. You can't be surprised while you are conscious. Other creatures don't gain advantage on attack rolls against you as a result of being ...


3

No, because blindsight is part of the "stat block," not the "traits" of the monster description While the intellect devourer retains its traits, blindsight is not a trait in the terminology of 5e, per se. This is how we know: The "stat block" is introduced on p. 6 of the MM and its elements detailed on pp. 6-9. Note that the last element of the &...


1

By RAW it is possible to die merely from chase-induced exhaustion Your hypothesis is that a creature starting their turn at level 4 exhaustion and already above the "exhaustion penalty threshold" (relative to their Constitution) and who could Dash twice on their turn, might therefore reach exhaustion level 6 upon the end of their turn, and thus die....


3

Conceivably by lip-reading, for example with the Observant feat The Message spell says: You point your finger toward a creature within range and whisper a message. The target (and only the target) hears the message and can reply in a whisper that only you can hear. Spells do what they say they do, so this means no one else can understand the message "...


10

Yes, other options do exist. Options that keep mental scores Wild Shape allows you to retain your mental ability scores, as you mentioned. Additionally, shapechange, a 9th level druid or wizard spell, works (though it only affects you). To affect others, you could use the 8th level druid spell animal shapes. Options that don’t work Polymorph explicitly calls ...


7

One rest will remove all the exhaustion levels you gained from the chase. A creature can remove the levels of exhaustion it gained during the chase by finishing a short or long rest. Emphasis mine. "the levels" are plural, but "a short or long rest" is singular. So the one rest applies to all the exhaustion levels. If it had said ...


1

As of Season 9, downtime days and renown are tied to level The latest version of the D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack does not contain a separate document for Curse of Strahd, so we'll fall back on the other documents in that pack. The AL Content Catalogue (v9.02) does have some AL-specific adjustments for Curse of Strahd on pages 30-35, ...


23

Frame challenge: Find 'whatever' steed is a class feature, not a spell Attempting to balance this as a spell is a poor idea, because this is just a 5e method of giving a Paladin a steed in a similar way to previous editions. Basically this is cast, then unprepared and never cast again unless your DM decides they want to kill your mount, which is basically ...


13

Pretty weak for 9th level If you really, really want to ride a Unicorn than this is somewhat better than True Polymorph for that because it doesn't require concentration. That being said, if you can cast True Polymorph and can find a large boulder or a tree you can ride a young dragon of any colour for an hour instead, and that's arguably one of the least ...


7

In addition to the answers already presented: Glyph of Warding will allow this The Glyph of Warding spell has an option that allows you to store a spell within it to be triggered at a later time. The section on creating a Spell Glyph can be found on page 246 of the Player's Handbook and reads (emphasis mine): You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or ...


-1

not to mention, that everytime you use flurry of blows you're spending a ki point. If you've already spent the two ki points to summon your astral arms, you get that bonus attack for free. This is less impressive pre level 11, but after that your getting and extra attack each turn with no additional cost.


4

This answer falls under the category of "other" mentioned in the question title. Without a doubt, there are countless better uses for the Ring of Three Wishes: While wearing this ring, you can use an action to expend 1 of its 3 charges to cast the wish spell from it. Based on the answers to this question, your familiar is perfectly capable of ...


7

The closest suggestions to what you want that I have found are a Beast Master ranger or the find [greater] steed spells I was unable to find anything that allows a wizard/warlock to have self-only spells also affect a familiar summoned via find familiar. The closest things I could find would require heavy multiclassing into undesired classes, and still ...


8

Yes, these changes to the Way of the Four Elements subclass are balanced, but in my opinion, they don't quite go far enough and they don't help the monk feel like a monk As it happens, I've finally gotten around to playtesting my own version of the new and improved Way of the Four Elements monk subclass, which is pretty much what this blog suggested but with ...


12

Don't use banishment, for reasons other than CR Calculating CR There is nothing about the spell banishment that means it should be treated differently any other monster spellcasting. Therefore, there is two things to consider, Save DC and Effect. Save DC is determined by CR so simply look at the table for that. To determine if the spells effect should impact ...


2

The rule of thumb is that only spells that deal damage affect CR CR doesn't take into account most of what you mentioned. WotC never published exactly how CR is calculated, and there probably isn't an exact method. The DMG goes over the basics (I'm not sure if this what WotC use internally), and say that only raw damage (DPR, attack bonus/save DC), and raw ...


4

I don't think your assumptions really hold. It seems that since that since banishment is 4th level, i.e. for level 7 players, it should not appear below level 7 encounters. There's really no problem with adding Banishment to a CR 1 creature. It just removes one player from the fight for a bit, which isn't fun, but probably less harmful then standing around ...


1

If you get an ability once per turn, you get it once per turn If you get an ability that you can use a maximum of one time per turn and you use it once then want to use it again before a new turn has started, you can't. There's no special interaction when multiple creatures share a turn; there's no text that indicates such an interaction should occur.


1

In general, every creature has its own turn From the combat rules: nitiative determines the order of turns during combat. When combat starts, every participant makes a Dexterity check to determine their place in the initiative order. The DM makes one roll for an entire group of identical creatures, so each member of the group acts at the same time. If a ...


1

For creatures wearing mundane armor, I would convert their equipment armor bonus using the 5E Equipment Guide or as a quick estimate Multiply the Pathfinder value by 0.8 rounded down. (AC +10 platemail becomes AC +8 platemail, AC +2 Leather becomes AC +1 Leather ) Dexterity Bonuses should probably be about the same in both game systems. I quickly skimmed ...


5

It depends on your playstyle Here's what I would do if you tried to do that in an Adventurer's League game I was GMing: "I grab his sword from its sheath and attack him with it", you say. "Are you a battle master or something? Do you have a feature that lets you do that?", I reply. "No I was just thinking he's close so I should be ...


7

This is exactly the kind of thing I would want to see if I were your DM. I would let you do something as a reaction using The Rule of Cool (or Rule Zero): I would handle it as opposed Dexterity checks You are essentially trying to "pickpocket" your opponent which the book describes under Sleight of Hand. However, in this case, I think it would be a ...


30

A note on Ability Checks: For every ability check, the GM decides which of the six abilities is relevant to the task at hand and the difficulty of the task. So first and foremost the decision is up to the DM. If your DM allows it, the skill involved would definitely be Sleight of Hand The description for Sleight of hand says: Sleight of Hand. Whenever you ...


0

Do what you feel is right for your players. That said, you may want to consider the source of the caster’s power and weigh it against the complexity of the rule. Wizards are gaining power through arcane study. Warlocks through connection to a darker power. Sorcerers have it in their blood. Clerics and Paladins draw from the divine. Etc. Obviously, a Cleric/...


6

They can, it doesn't count as voluntarily ending your attunement. You need to read the sentence within context. The next phrase says If you’re targeted by a spell that ends a curse, your attunement to the gloves ends, and they can be removed. So what the sentence you emphasized means is that, unlike other magical items, where you can end attunement at will ...


0

This is not specified, and thus deliberately left to DM adjudication. 5e, unlike a number of previous versions, wholly embraces the idea of DM adjuducation, and, indeed, leaves a number of ill-defined areas at the edges of rules where DM adjudication is necessary. This is clearly one of those cases. When the trigger occurs, you can either take your ...


33

There is no arcana check required for copying from another spellbook. The rules for copying spells: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it. No check required means no failure is possible. As long as you spend the ...


14

The section “Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher” states: Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. So when you level, you get two spells for free. This section continues: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you ...


44

Copied spells and the two free spells are separate Note the full wording1 of the Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher section (emphasis mine): Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On ...


0

Spell does not fail as such, but it is unable to create the extradimensional space. Rules as written, the rope keeps rising up until the whole rope is perpendicular to the ground. The rope does not gain any special obstacle penetrating powers, so if it hits an obstacle, it can't meet the condition. But spell does not end either, so the rope keeps trying to ...


18

The Githyanki and Githzerai are warring factions of the same race, Gith. From MToF: But after they won their freedom, two factions among the gith disagreed on what kind of civilization they would forge. These factions are later described as the Githyanki and the Githzerai. Further, MToF lists the two as subraces of Gith. No matter which you choose to play, ...


7

They are one race with two subraces The history of the githzerai and githyanki are detailed in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes. The Gith were originally a single race, slaves to the Illithids until they rebelled and broke free. However, they split into two factions soon after this due to disagreements on the kind of civilisation they wanted to forge after their ...


4

The question asks not to include the Artificer from Unearthed Arcana. Now that there is an official Artificer class from Eberron: Rising from the Last War, I will present this answer that includes the official Artificer. (Note that much of my answer is borrowed from the other answers, I've just included a few levels of Artificer.) Through levelling only, you ...


-4

You are still going to have the same problem. Ranger 2 Paladin 3 will have 2 second level slots, but no second level spells. Your house rule doesn't suggest a way to resolve this problem. Having a level 2 spell slots but no level 2 slots is not as powerful to having slots and spells. It gets worse the higher the levels get. Paladin 10 Ranger 10 only has 3rd ...


10

It might not be doing exactly what you want It could encourage a smite-obsessed Paladin to take a 1 level dip in a full caster You want a Paladin 3 / Ranger 2 to have as many spell slots as a paladin 5, which is what your solution does, but it also has the (perhaps unintended) side-effect of buffing the following combination: Half caster at an uneven level + ...


1

The only thing I can imagine is the same things that are explained in the answers to this question. It's unlikely to generate a mechanical imbalance, however it reduces the cost of multiclassing. Whether that is an issue depends heavily on your table. I can't see any reason why this would be too powerful; after all the spellcasting is (by definition) a ...


2

Yes, if The following criteria need to be met: The trigger meets your group's interpretation of the criteria in the PHB for the ready action It must be perceptible It may need refer to a singular circumstance depending on GM (this is a bad ruling for a variety of reasons, but it is designed to prevent and does in fact prevent this specific trick and tricks ...


1

Observant + Advantage The observant feat gives +5 to passive perception checks, and advantage gives another +5. This means your passive perception bonus is +10, for a total of 20, with a perception bonus of +0. I believe this is the maximum difference attainable between passive and active perception. Perception of 28, with a bonus to active Perception of 8 ...


5

No, but not for the reason you may think Ready states: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round. This second sentence is just a reminder. The Marilith has more than one reaction, so it's an exception to the normal rule. As such, ...


28

Movement does not reduce your speed. The way Speed works in D&D 5e is as follows: Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round. Some creatures and characters additionally have a flying speed, which is how far they can fly in 1 round. After moving its speed on a turn, a creature ...


8

Movement isn’t Speed Using your movement for a turn doesn't affect your actual speed. Even if you've moved 30, 60 (via the Dash action), or even 90 (double-Dash with something like the Rogue's Cunning Action) feet, your speed is still 30. Your speed being reduced to zero is a result of things like being tied up or paralyzed, not just walking. Neither ...


6

No, the spell does not fail. The entirety of the rules for this spell are in the spell description. The first paragraph reads: You touch a length of rope that is up to 60 feet long. One end of the rope then rises into the air until the whole rope hangs perpendicular to the ground. At the upper end of the rope, an Invisible entrance opens to an ...


5

Invisibility, Hiding and Unseen Attackers When you are invisible, you gain all the benefits of being an Unseen Attacker, but are not hidden. Combatants often try to escape their foes' notice by hiding, casting the invisibility spell, or lurking in darkness... When a creature can't see you, you have advantage on attack rolls against it. If you are hidden--...


0

In addition the answers provided here, I think it's important to note one thing that wasn't mentioned, but plainly worded into the adventure: As written in Tomb of Annihilation, does not have the spell prepared, but giving that opponent that spell will make them immensely more powerful. It's really a question of when you would want them to cast it since ...


Top 50 recent answers are included