Hot answers tagged

61

The shortest answer is, assuming the druid has the best-case scenario available to them, they wouldn't. The scimitar is all-around a better weapon than the sickle, assuming you're proficient in both (since the sickle is simple and the scimitar is martial, this is a reason why a character might wield the sickle instead, but doesn't apply to the druid). As a ...


55

By RAW, the Druid dies. Wild Shape protects you from a few specific things: When you revert to your normal form, you revert to the number of hit points you had before you transformed (and then take overflow damage). If you revert and have hitpoints remaining in caster form, you don't fall unconscious as a result of being reduced to 0 hit points. Finger of ...


51

Druids have been shapeshifters from the beginning The D&D Druid ability to shapechange showed up originally in their first appearance in the game, as a monster in the Greyhawk supplement for original D&D. At that time, they were known as "priests of a neutral-type religion", had both cleric and magic-user spellcasting, and had "barbaric followers". ...


44

By a literal reading of the rules, then no you do not start with ammunition (possibly just because Druids aren't really associated with ranged weapons). Compare with the Ranger starting equipment that specifically mentions a quiver and 20 arrows. However, you can speak to your DM. It would hardly be unbalancing to start you off with 20 arrows or whatever. ...


43

Wisdom: Prime Requisite versus Spell Casting Ability The thing that originally made Clerics different was the prime requisite being the Wisdom score. Druids, being a sub-class of Cleric, were along for the ride. TL;DR: originally, to differentiate the (hybrid) Cleric from the (pure)Magic User and the (pure)Fighting Man How? Via the prime requisite ...


42

Note the uses of the word Beasts in the description of what Wild Shape does. Beasts is a defined term; from page 2 of the Dungeon Master Basic Rules: Beasts are nonhumanoid creatures that are a natural part of the fantasy ecology. Some of them have magical powers, but most are unintelligent and lack any society or language. Beasts include all ...


40

Like most other answers, I would say yes, two shapeshifts in a combat is legit; no, you did not make a mistake by allowing your player to wolf out and; no, you shouldn't try to claw back the ability. One thing I would add to the previous answers is that this issue will almost certainly balance itself out fairly soon. Yes, a CR 1 creature in a level 2 party ...


40

They are not shapechangers. Shapechanger is a Tag (Monster Manual p.7) given to certain creatures. Becoming a druid doesn't change you from Humanoid (elf) to Humanoid (elf, shapechanger) in the same way that learning the polymorph spell doesn't change your sorcerer to a shapechanger.


38

Yes, the rules stop this simply by how the ability works. The ability just doesn't provide any way to choose two forms. It specifies one ("a beast that you have seen"). Without something giving a druid the ability to meld beast forms, the druid had as much ability to shift into a hybrid form as a random peasant does — none.


38

You might say something like: "Oh, well, a wizard can use a wand to cast spells, and a druid's yew wand is a wand, so the wizard can use that." But a wizard's arcane focus isn't just any old wand. A wizard's arcane focus is an item which was specifically created to be an arcane focus. If the druid's yew wand wasn't specifically created to be an arcane ...


38

Yes. The rules do not indicate that the thorn whip spell uses a grapple (which the weird would be immune to). The water weird has no immunity to the effect of thorn whip. Very clever use of a spell to defeat a creature.


37

Sort of, but no. Unarmored Defense does not provide a bonus to AC. It provides an alternate means of calculating it. So, your druid has two AC calculations available to him: AC provided by beast form. 10 + Dexterity Modifier + Wisdom Modifier You don't get to add the two together, because they both set AC to an absolute value. A brown bear has an AC of ...


37

In the PHB pg 164 it gives you the multiclass table for what proficiencies you gain once you place 1 level into Druid (or any other class). Note on this table it also reminds you that Druids will NOT wear any armor or use any shields made of metal, just like it does in the Druid section earlier in the book. Thus your answer becomes: No, you may not wear ...


36

Your analysis is correct but one sided You have accurately pointed out many of the advantages of the Moon Druid. It is true that it is one of, if not the strongest subclass in the game. But you have failed to account for some of the drawbacks that limit their output. Low AC: Most beast forms have comparatively low AC compared to the martial characters in ...


35

There's nothing inherently imbalancing about creating your own Circle, and it can be a great way to give your Druid a theme of your choosing. This was covered in some depth in this question. However, as you yourself have said, you've picked some of the best spells around for the custom Circle you've come up with. At that point you have to ask yourself why ...


35

The phrase "gain the ability" means that it doesn't replace anything. In addition to your previous ability to wild shape as an action, you now also have the ability to wild shape as a bonus action. If it had been "your wild shape ability now takes a bonus action, rather than a normal action" you'd lose the ability to wildshape as an action, but this is ...


34

Because it's Cool! Remember D&D is a role playing game first and a war game second. If the player imagines her Druid as a sickle wielding bad ass, reaping the foes of nature: fan-bloody-tastic. I am DMing a player whose gnome cleric dual wields daggers - mechanically she is giving up +2 AC from a shield or a 1d8 primary for the chance to do roughly the ...


33

Yes. First off, let's note that there's nothing in the Druid description that specifically precludes the WS1 → WS2 transformation you're contemplating. Second, consider this line of "Wild Shape": You retain the benefit of any features from your class... and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. Wild shaping is a ...


33

It's very reliable. According to the description, it "predicts what the weather will be". No ifs, ands, or buts. This suggests perfect accuracy. That said, it's not very precise. (Precision is not the same as accuracy.) The description isn't clear whether it shows a single effect that predicts the weather over 24 hours, or if it changes in appearance over ...


31

You don't need to appeal to a Druid's alignment for an answer to this. You will find the general answer on page 65 of the PHB in the Druid class description. Druids accept that which is cruel in nature, and they hate that which is unnatural, including abberations(such as beholders and mind flayers) and undead (such as zombies and vampires) Does ...


31

Dungeon Master Guide, page 165 Dragon Scale Mail Armor (scale mail), very rare (requires attunement) While wearing this armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC, you have advantage on saving throws against the Frightful Presence and breath weapons of dragons, and you have resistance to one damage type that is determined by the kind of dragon that ...


31

Yes, truesight will see through Wild Shape. As you mentioned in the question, truesight can perceive the original form of a creature transformed by magic. And the first line of Wild Shape says that: Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before. So Wild Shape is a magical transformation, ...


31

When you level, the number of prepared spells you'll have will increase, but you still only prepare specific spells after a long rest, as normal You are correct, the total number of prepared spells available for druids are Druid Level + Wisdom Modifier. So when you level up, the total number of prepared spells will increase, either just by one (the level ...


31

Lack of specific rules means DM have to decide. Despite lacking an appropriate excerpt from the books, we can at least refer to the designer's intent in a close situation, as expressed by Jeremy Crawford on Twitter (Courtesy of Rubiksmoose): Wild Shape can introduce wild situations. What happens when someone swallows a druid in a Tiny form? Is a druid ...


31

No Cantrips are not prepared like the rest of your leveled spells. From the Druid Spellcasting class feature section: Cantrips At 1st level, you know two cantrips of your choice from the druid spell list. You learn additional druid cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Druid table. Preparing and ...


30

No, you must choose a beast Wildshape (PHB, 66) dictates: Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before. A Werewolf (MM, 211) states that they are a Humanoid and therefore not eligible for Wild Shape.


30

A druid can only assume the shape of a beast. Any combination of two animals would be a monstrosity. Beasts include “all variety of ordinary animals” (MM p. 6) while “Monstrosities are monsters in the strictest sense—frightening creatures that are not ordinary, not truly natural.” (MM p. 6) Even more to the point, later on the same page: Some [...


30

RAW, you are dead Xanathar's Guide to Everything states you move 500 feet in the first round* of falling. If you fall anything between 200 and 499 feet, you take 20d6 damage, and don't have time for Wild Shape. Your DM can save you Based on your question, your DM is willing to let you use Wild Shape while falling. Dire Wolf is not enough, you will need ...


30

On a literal reading, no Corpses are objects. Jeremy Crawford has unofficially advised as much on Twitter: A non-undead corpse isn't considered a creature. It's effectively an object. And see Is a dead creature's body considered an "object"? which addresses this. A beast is a type of creature. So, having seen an animal's corpse, you haven'...


29

You have it all basically correct So I can prepare wisdom mod (lets say +3) + level per "instance" (before doing a long rest). (So I can prepare 6 spells) Yes, you would have 6 spells prepared each day. However, you get your spell slots back and you get to re-prepare spells after a long rest, not before. You would need to complete the entire long rest ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible