New answers tagged

8

Yes, Undead Fortitude would prevent them from reverting if they were to somehow acquire it. As you said, undead fortitude states (emphasis mine) If damage reduces the creature to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5 + the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the creature drops ...


10

It's Confusing One interpretation is that because undead fortitude says "is reduced to 1 HP instead" means that it would take effect and you would no longer be at 0 HP for the druids wildshape ability to revert back to their initial form. Unfortunately D&D doesn't give us nice concise timing mechanics like Magic the Gathering, because that would bloat ...


7

Not usually Two things are happening simultaneously here, both triggered by having 0 hp. According to Xanathar's Guide to Everything, that means the person whose turn it is decides the order things happen in. Usually, you take damage not on your turn when an enemy attacks you, so usually they decide you revert first. If it is your turn, however, this ...


2

You can Rage and Wild Shape at the same time. For reference, I'll quote and cite the two abilities. Rage (Ex) A barbarian can fly into a rage a certain number of times per day. In a rage, a barbarian temporarily gains a +4 bonus to Strength, a +4 bonus to Constitution, and a +2 morale bonus on Will saves, but he takes a -2 penalty to Armor Class. ...


13

Summoned creatures are minions. And therefore, they must be commanded to get actions. The chain of looking this up for yourself: Summon Fey is a Conjuration spell that says you summon a creature The Conjuration School of magic notes that "creatures summoned by conjuration spells have the summoned trait." Summoned states that "It has the minion trait." ...


1

I feel like this question has been covered in parts before. I've included references. These answers quote Mike Mearls and he says yes you can use of a staff as a focus. You'd likely need permission from your DM to use a club as a focus. DMG page 140 says that a staff can be used as a quarterstaff. If you have your focus/weapon in one hand your other hand ...


11

At level 11, druids get the class feature Druid Weapon Expertise, giving them expert proficiency with unarmed attacks and all simple weapons. If they want expert proficiency in a martial weapon, taking the Fighter Dedication and Diverse Weapon Expert archetype feats gets them expert proficiency in all martial weapons.


7

Dire Wolf is the better option here (usually) Compared to the Crag Cat, the Dire Wolf has three more hit points and one higher armor class. This makes it (marginally) more survivable; I'd expect to survive one extra attack. If I recall correctly, "combat efficacy" is measured in three-round combats, so I'll use that as my metric. In the likely event that ...


10

Rules As Written, yes. But it seems unintended Rules As Written yes, the feature states: The bond with your wildfire spirit enhances your destructive and restorative spells. Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire damage or restores hit points while your wildfire spirit is summoned, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell equal to the ...


7

You can add it to attack rolls Based on the wording of the ability I believe you are correct and that the d8 can be added to the attack roll of firebolt or any other spell that deals fire damage and requires an attack roll (e.g. produce flame). This is likely an oversight *"[...] roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell equal to the ...


-1

RAW: It is unclear, so yes you can add it to attack rolls Since the description does not specific what roll you can add the bonus to, it is possible that you could add it to the attack roll. However, I don't think this is how the ability is intended to work. Whats most likely intended: When ever you cast a spell that deals Fire damage, or a spell that ...


-3

Probably not Fire bolt only “deals fire damage” when it hits. If it doesn’t hit you don’t get the bonus die and if it does you don’t need to apply it to the attack roll.


4

Dinosaurs: Deinonychus I specify the difference between dinosaurs and other forms because in many cases, dinosaur Wild Shape forms are in a whole different league-- I for one don't like them, because visually it creates a very different kind of game. If you don't mind that, or like the idea of becoming one, then the deinonychus is easily your best bet ...


3

Circle spells require spell slots First lets start by looking at the rule for Circle Spells (emphasis mine): Your mystical connection to the land infuses you with the ability to cast certain spells. At 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th level you gain access to circle spells connected to the land where you became a druid. [...] Once you gain access to a circle ...


4

A spell gained from a Circle requires a spell slot to cast, but it counts as a Druid spell and is always prepared The Circle Spells feature is similar for each subclass of Druid and below I will quote the one from the Circle of the Land Druid Your mystical connection to the land infuses you with the ability to cast certain spells. At 3rd, 5th, 7th, and ...


6

Yes, Circle spells (of 1st level and higher) require spell slots. For druids (and other spellcasters who prepare spells), the benefit of extra spells is that they are always prepared, in addition to the number of spells they can prepare after a long rest. Once you gain access to a circle spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against ...


2

Bonus Hit Dice improve an animal companion's hit points Unlike with a familiar (Player's Handbook 52) that receives effective Hit Dice for, for example, resisting a sleep spell effect but still keeps its actual HD so that, for example, it is easily slain by an energy drain attack, an animal companion (36) receives bonus HD that are like actual HD in pretty ...


1

The animal companion gets hit dice, with all they entail, including hp. So if you roll hp, roll them for the animal companion (for a variety of reasons I strongly recommend using the average instead for hp from HD). The companion gains the full benefit from increased Hit Dice, including [...]. The animal companion, however, does not [...]. While the “...


3

As a DM, I think circle changes should always be permitted. We're playing a game, after all, and want to do our parts as DMs to not get hung up about each and every rule that is written or might be implied and could ruin the game for a player who is unhappy with his character - especially if our games won't be unbalanced by doing so. I've been playing D&...


9

You have a homebrew character concept where the DM may have different interactions in mind You've got some houserule/homebrew in here with your character concept. The below represents a rules-based answer to support how it should work, but your DM may think otherwise based on how they constructed your character concept. If they say something else happens, ...


4

Minor nitpick, but it sounds more like this Character has Tremorsense than Blindsight. On to the question: Since it says you can't use any of your special senses unless the new form has them, then no, you would not keep Blindsight unless the new form also has it. That being said, if the new form can see, then they would be able to as long as they are ...


19

Conjured animals would gain temporary hit points The Bear Spirit option of the Shepherd Druid's Spirit Totem feature states (XGtE, p. 23): The bear spirit grants you and your allies its might and endurance. Each creature of your choice in the aura when the spirit appears gains temporary hit points equal to 5 + your druid level. In addition, you and your ...


Top 50 recent answers are included