49

You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. The phrasing may seem unclear but you cannot use several metamagic options and neither can you use the same metamagic option several times on the same spell. Here lead rules designer Jeremy Crtawford his intent for the rule on twitter: The intent is that a sorcerer ...


44

Spells that require concentration end when you die. Aside from that, a spell has to specify that it ends when you die for this to be the case. First up, we have the base duration rules: A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their ...


43

Disguise Self does not end when you are incapacitated According to the rules on spell duration in the Player's Handbook A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed. There is no ...


38

A spell ends when you lose concentration: Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. Phb 203, emphasis mine. So if you lose concentration the spell ends, no conditional time given. And we can also see what breaks concentration on the same page: You lose ...


37

It runs away from you at its normal speed and can return immediately Dissonant Whispers (PHB p.235) states On a failed save... and must immediately use its reaction, if available, to move as far as its speed allows away from you. The creature doesn't move into obviously dangerous ground... So if the creature has its reaction available it uses its ...


37

No. The guardian doesn't vanish when it deals a total of 60 damage, it vanishes when it has dealt a total of 60 damage. As soon as it deals 70 damage, it will have dealt 60 damage, and will therefore disappear.


34

The answer lies in the text you've quoted: If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. So when you move the Hex, the spell hasn't ended. It's still an ongoing spell, meaning that you don't need to recast it and the duration doesn't change - all you're doing ...


31

As of the latest Dungeon Master's Guide errata, Bag of Tricks (p. 154). The second paragraph ends with a new sentence: “The creature vanishes at the next dawn or when it is reduced to 0 hit points.” Despite Jeremy Crawford's answer to tweets, it seems this is the official position of their collective brainstorming.


29

I can find no RAW, or any rulings at all, that can help answer this question. That being said, the following is speculation based on the entry on PHB page 205 that details ‘The Weave’ of magic. In conjunction with how Wizards learn their magic, and the knowledge of the Arcane arts and the understanding they must have of the Weave in order to cast such ...


29

Concentration spells can be dispelled at will Simply dropping concentration (which takes no action, per the rules on concentration) ends the spell prematurely, unless the spell description overrides what happens when concentration ends (as conjure elemental does). If the spell is not a concentration spell, you can end it early if the spell description says ...


28

All effects with a fixed duration measurable in rounds end just before the beginning of one of your turns. (Otherwise, their duration would be too short to be a full round, or a full 2 rounds, etc.) We can see this by looking at a duration of 1 round, and applying the same logic to the case of 10 rounds. A duration of 1 round, measured in turns, is “each ...


28

Yes Player's Handbook, p.203, "Duration": A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.


28

The text of Extended Spell, emphasis mine: When you Cast a Spell that has a Duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double its Duration, to a maximum Duration of 24 hours. The text of Time Stop, emphasis mine: Time Stop 9th level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: Self Components: V Duration: Instantaneous Classes: ...


27

The Dominate Beast spell will end There was a (somewhat confusing) developer tweet about this topic. Jeremy Crawford stated (emphasis mine): In #DnD, the exceptional trumps the general. (No longer being a valid target trumps condition carryover.) When a wildshaped Druid reverts to their normal form, we have those two conditions: the target changing type, ...


25

No, it still ends after one minute The rules on Rage define the concept of a rage ending early (Player's Handbook page 48): Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven't attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then. Persistent Rage only affects rages ending ...


24

The first concentration spell ends as soon as you start casting the new one Xanathar's Guide to Everything (p. 5) has explicitly clarified this in the time since the PHB was released, in the "Concentration" entry from the list of 10 rules from the corebooks to remember: As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires ...


22

D&D 5e designer and official rules expert Jeremy Crawford tweeted the following errata on 09 Jan 2015: The bag of tricks is missing its duration: 10 minutes, 1 animal at a time. We'll correct it. In response to this question from @BrailSays: Bag of Tricks...no duration listed, nor limit to how many things total, just per day. Can amass army of ...


22

In general you'll need to look to the specific effect's rules. Most often you probably have something like this, from the Giant Poisonous Snake statblock: Hit: 6 (1d4 + 4) piercing damage, and the target must make a DC 11 Constitution saving throw, taking 10 (3d6) poison damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. If the rules ...


21

An animated object is only a creature while the spell is active The spell says (emphasis added): Each target animates and becomes a creature under your control until the spell ends or until reduced to 0 Hit Points. As soon as the spell ends for any reason (end of duration, loss of concentration, dispelled, etc.), an object animated by the spell ceases ...


20

Extended Spell only extends the duration once by doubling it. A caster can't use Extended Spell multiple times on the same casting, and the feature doesn't accommodate using multiple sorcery points at once. This is addressed directly in the Sage Advice Compendium At the bottom of page 5 of version 2.4 of the SAC, it says: Metamagic rules state you can’...


19

The rules are pretty clear. You don't break Sanctuary unless you make an attack or cast a spell that affects an enemy. As for it being OP, you're making a cleric not attack enemies or cast offensive spells, to maintain Spirit Guardians. It's not massive damage, and given that the cleric using it is doing nothing else, enemies don't even have any reason to ...


19

This is answered on page 198 of the PHB or here in the basic rules: Temporary Hit Points ... Unless a feature that grants you temporary hit points has a duration, they last until they're depleted or you finish a long rest.


19

Yes, you can put them out Common sense states that you can put out light sources to conserve them. Mundane items in D&D should function in essentially the same way they would in real life, although their behavior may be simplified for ease of play. When a lantern says "burns for X hours on Y pints of oil" this is meant to imply the rate at ...


18

The effect lasts only an instant “Instantaneous” is an adjective that must be attached to “sensory effect” or it stops making any sense as part of that sentence's grammar. The alternative, not-very-grammatical meaning wouldn't make common-sense sense, anyway: A spell doesn't need to say when an effect happens, when the point of the effect description is by ...


17

Yes... It would make absolutely sense for a caster to be aware when they lose concentration on a spell of their own. "This guard hit me pretty hard, I can sense that Invisibility I gave to Tim in order to secretly enter the King's palace wore off! He must be in trouble now!" However The situation you describe is not the loss of concentration. if ...


17

They go away. The spell gives you a loan of 5 current HP and 5 max HP, and when the spell ends, you give 5 max HP and 5 current HP back. (Maybe they intended you to keep the current HP like in other healing spells, but I'd be hard put to reason that the "for the duration" somehow makes the maximum HP temporary, but not the current HP too. We've also little ...


17

Think of charming as a condition - "Charmed" condition. Suddenly the creature cannot be charmed, i.e. it cannot have the condition. So it doesn't. In your specific case, it's no longer charmed.


17

The bless spell is not interrupted The key to the answer is: You briefly stop the flow of time for everyone but yourself. For everyone else, delta t is zero. No time passes for other creatures Turns / rounds each last six seconds -- six seconds elapse from the beginning of someone's turn and the beginning of their next turn. From this game mechanic, we ...


16

As of the 2018 errata, if an enemy takes damage from your spirit guardians spell, your sanctuary spell ends The description of the sanctuary spell (PHB, p. 272) originally said: If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends. However, the 2018 PHB errata added "deals damage to another creature&...


16

It must be cast on a creature and can stay active beyond that encounter So long as you can keep concentration, meet the original requirements of casting the spell, and the previously cursed creature has been dropped to 0 HP, you can use a bonus action to curse a new creature. No requirement to keep it active (just concentration) or for it to be the same ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible