39

Yes, it is possible (depending on your circumstances and DM) Nothing in the rules prevents this There is nothing in the rules for resting that prescribes the environment that you can rest in. There are only certain things that interrupt rest according to the rules: If the rest is interrupted by a period of strenuous activity - at least 1 hour of walking,...


34

Add the modifier (+2) As you say, agonizing blast allows one to "add your Charisma modifier to the damage [*eldritch blast] deals on a hit." (PHB p.110, emphasis mine) Your Charisma modifier is +2, as you can see from PHB p.13. (Or many of us end up memorizing the mathematical rule: "subtract ten, divide by two, round down" to get from score to modifier.) ...


32

Yes, Witch Sight sees through Mirror Image Mirror Image is illusion magic, which Witch Sight sees through. While not concealing them in the same way Invisibility might, it is concealing them in the same way that hiding in a crowd would (the common definition of conceal being: "keep from sight; hide"). Thus, they should be able to see the real creature for ...


31

No, sorry. You can wear leather armor (AC=11+DEX); if you do you cannot cast mage armor on yourself per its description. Or you can cast mage armor on yourself (AC=13+DEX) and not wear the leather. Naively, this is an unambiguously-superior choice. Two more AC points and, since the invocation gives you mage armor at will, there's no cost in spell slots. ...


31

It's not inherently unbalanced, but it breaks theme In essence, you're moving the Sorcerer's ability to turn spell slots into other spell slots to the Warlock, with the added bonus of being able to do it in one turn. (A sorcerer needs to turn a spell slot into spell points first, and then turn those spell points into new spell slots.) In itself, this isn't ...


30

No. Consider that: Verbal (V) ...the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. If you can argue that this is ALL that is needed to cast a purely verbal spell, then anyone or anything with a mouth can cast it. Let's get more basic: suppose you don't have spell slots left to cast ...


30

"Hit" is the general term used for "You made an attack roll and equalled or beat the target's AC". So this would work just fine. If an ability was restricted to being used only with Melee weapons (or ranged ones) then the text would mention this directly by saying something like: "When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack" or "When you hit a ...


28

There are a number of answers: I speak as a current player of a 5e warlock, who has 20 cha and agonizing blast, and who does not at all feel like an overwhelmingly dominant force on the battlefield. I manage to do my part, but "trivialize" would not describe. Melee troops getting up close and personal with the warlock. If you're standing next to an enemy,...


27

Sure, it can't hurt. Assuming that the player agrees (and I see no reason for them not to), yes, you can just assume that a warlock with that invocation starts with their buffs on. I played a 3.5 game where all of us were using highly optimized, self-buffing characters who would stack buffs on ourselves before every combat. It was a waste of time for ...


25

The PHB errata clarify this as well. Eldritch Invocations (p. 110). A level prerequisite in an invocation refers to warlock level, not character level.


24

The skeleton may be moved twice; no falling damage The skeleton moves twice if each eldritch blast rolls "to hit" successfully. This would leave the skeleton in its original position at the end of Doris' turn (possibly destroyed). It is worth noting that the trigger to Boris' attack is Doris' attack, so Doris' turn is "when it all happens." When the ...


24

No. Or, more specifically, yes, as long as you didn't get those features via multiclassing, which is never. The multiclassing rules state: Extra Attack If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don't add together. You can't make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter's ...


23

Eldritch Smite is Warlock slot only Only warlock spell slots from the Pact Magic feature can be expended to use Eldritch Smite; spell slots from the Spellcasting feature do not work with it. An unofficial tweet by rules designer Jeremy Crawford in November 2017 confirms that this was intentional (unlike the paladin's Divine Smite, which had similar wording ...


23

You would have a +1 Sword of Wounding You have quoted the relevant text. The sword does not have a bonus to attack or to damage rolls. The damage is a secondary effect on the creature's turn and is not a part of the weapon's damage roll. Thus, Improved Pact Weapon's bonus applies.


23

The wording is not vague You always take the maximum value of any dice rolled to heal you. If someone casts a spell that heals 2d8+3 hp to everyone in 30 feet and it affects you and they roll a 3 and a 1 you heal 19 hp and everyone else affected heals 7. You treat dice rolled to heal you as if they rolled their maximum value for you. The source of the ...


22

Except where noted in the multiclassing rules, when you gain class features depends on your class level. In this case, invocations are class features that don't have special rules in the multiclassing rules that say otherwise, so you get them according to your class level. Note that in the case of invocations, it's even stronger than "it's not mentioned in ...


22

It returns with all inscribed rituals: Luke Anderson‏ @SaunaNotSawna · 23 Apr 2016 @JeremyECrawford When I replace my Pact of the Tome Tome, does it come back with all of my rituals/cantrips still in it? Jeremy Crawford‏ @JeremyECrawford · 26 Apr 2016 @SaunaNotSawna Yes. Qzotia‏ @SorcererQzot · 24 Apr 2016 ...


22

Jeremy Crawford answered a question like this on Twitter in November 2015. Darkvision is shades of grey. Devil's Sight kicks in only in total darkness. When asked: Devil's Sight invocation gives you no benefit in dim light and full color vision in darkness. Intended? He responded: Devil's Sight is meant to be an eerie ability: "Douse that candle so ...


22

Hex Warrior on a normal weapon Yes, the player must use this ability after every long rest if you want to keep using the benefits. As a DM, you can allow the player to just do it every day without them having to tell you each time. Tell them that you will simply assume they do it with that particular weapon every day unless they tell you otherwise. There ...


21

The Warlock can take Improved Pact Weapon Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the invocations you know and replace it with another invocation that you could learn at that level. Jeremy Crawford has clarified: Q: [I]n the warlock rule for retraining an invocation on level up, what level is "that level"? A: It's ...


21

This is a case where specific beats general. Book of Ancient Secrets does exactly what it says, which is that it allows you to: [A]dd other ritual Spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) 3/2 = 1.5 ~= 2. You can transcribe ...


21

You can heal an unconscious ally with Raven Queen's Blessing The blessing has no requirement for the creature to be conscious. Similar abilities that do have restrictions state something like: "... that isn't incapacitated..." (Sneak Attack) or "... who can hear you." (Bardic Inspiration) Using Raven Queen's Blessing will restore at least one hit ...


21

Yes. As you have stated, Eldritch Invocations are magical, and unless they are created by an artifact, or deity, i.e. the casting is through an artifact, or cast directly by the deity, then it will not work in, or protrude into an anti-magic field.


21

Movement breaks the invisibility of "One With Shadows". The Eldritch Invocation "One With Shadows" states: When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction. Emphasis mine. If you move, whether on your turn or outside of combat, the invisibility ends.


20

Only your Warlock class matters for the prerequisites. In your study of occult lore, you have unearthed eldritch invocations, fragments of forbidden knowledge that imbue you with an abiding magical ability. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class. Other things, like Cantrips and Proficiency Bonuses, are based on your overall character ...


20

They are separate lists This is shown as the features both start with the following: A new page appears in your Book of Shadows [...] This means that both features must exist on different pages and the features then go on to clarify that they only apply to names on that specific page: [...] targeting a creature whose name is on the page [...] [.....


19

Since the spells appear and are not written by you, they would be gifts from your Patron and would reappear when you renewed your grimore. The key wording for this interpretation is the word "appear" in the description from Book of Ancient Secrets. I would definitely rule that any spells you wrote in the book would be gone if the book was recreated (thus ...


19

No No feature which grants new spells counts against your spells known, unless it explicitly says so. Spells Known for the Warlock is exclusively for the Pact Magic mechanic, which this is not a part of.


19

This should work, if it's the last thing you do before going to sleep. Outside of combat, we typically don't account for actions, but this invocation would require keeping track of whether you do something that would be an action. For example, you can eat during a rest, but that would use an action if done in combat, so it would break the invisibility (...


19

You can move the creature 10 feet towards or away from you as you wish The key word in both eldritch invocation descriptions is "can". When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. And Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can move that ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible