New answers tagged

19

According to the rules, yes, a rat can carry 15 pounds. The Basic Rules section for Using Ability Scores describes how Strength and size affect carry capacity. Carrying Capacity. Your carrying capacity is your Strength score multiplied by 15. Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times ...


11

Yep, those are the rules Now the rules for carrying things aren't really made to make sense, they're made to build good stories focused around mostly Medium sized people doing heroic stuff. So a lot of the rules aren't really focussed on realism. Pretty much everyone in the D&D world has a level strength that would be unreasonable in the real world, and ...


3

Nothing official from any of the typical sources Looking at the PHB, there is a section on "Variant Size Rules", but that is just do things fit, not adjusting for size. The DMG is similar in its lack of detail. This sorta fits with DnD 5e in general. It's trying to streamline and not get things bogged down with the minutia. However In fact the only ...


21

5e offers no guidance on the subject of equipment weight for differently sized creatures Unlike previous editions, nowhere in 5e's published rules is the question of equipment weight for larger or smaller creatures addressed. The DMG's section on designing new monsters briefly addresses weapons sized for larger creatures: Big monsters typically wield ...


7

RAW says No, but I believe the rules as intended or at least the rules as practical are that it cannot exert more than 10lbs of force. This is such a poorly worded spell (and has always been). In previous editions, mage hand was just the telekinetic ability to move small objects, but in 5th ed they made it actually take the form of a spectral hand, which ...


12

TL;DR Neither does the spell description provide any rules that would increase the weight that can be dragged above the weight that can be carried; nor do the rules apply which let characters drag double their carrying capacity. Therefore, the weight detailed in the spell description limits dragging as it does carrying. The spell description does not talk ...


-2

The adventurer's pack is actually neither empty nor full, but stocked with helpful items* while leaving space for more gear to be stowed. The total Bulk of the items adds up to 1 Bulk. This (1 Bulk) has been confirmed by Paizo as the correct bulk for the adventurer's pack. The 2 Bulk entry was an error. The backpack, by itself does not raise or lower ...


Top 50 recent answers are included