New answers tagged

1

Yes, there's a way. Splash Weapons can benefit from Weapon Training...if you use a Flask Thrower. The Flask Thrower is an exotic weapon that says, This staff has a cradle at the end, designed to hold alchemical weapons such as acid. A flask thrower significantly extends the range of thrown substances that deal splash damage, such as acid, alchemist’s fire, ...


3

The only limit on the free choice of armor during character creation is the cultural standard of living. You're right in that the use of the game term favoured doesn't make sense here. Neither cultures nor callings have anything to say about favoured armor. In first edition it was your "chosen" armor/helm/shield. I suspect this was also the ...


0

RAW, no, but it need not be unbalancing to permit it If by 'use a vial of acid' you mean make an attack with it, then no. As stated in the spell itself, a found familiar can't attack: A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal. However, the familiars summoned by the Pact of the Chain Warlocks are an exception: Additionally, when you ...


8

Acid, alchemist’s fire, antitoxin, oil, perfume, or soap. We see in Xanathar's Guide to Everything under "Alchemist's Supplies" in the Tool Descriptions section (p. 79): Alchemical Crafting. You can use this tool proficiency to create alchemical items. A character can spend money to collect raw materials, which weigh 1 pound for every 50 gp spent. ...


10

Normal familiars can't Throwing or splashing a vial of acid (same goes for alchemist's fire and holy water) requires you to make a "ranged attack against a creature or object". A familiar from the find familiar normally can't do this, because "A familiar can't attack". ...but Pact of the Chain warlocks' familiars can If you are a warlock ...


15

Only if you have a feature that permits the familiar to make an attack. The description of a vial of acid says: As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an ...


3

Operatives and Envoys are skill monkey classes, so they are expected to skilled pretty well in all sorts of things. That being said, one jack of all trades might not be sufficient for a successful party. Having a single awesome stealth operative isn't much use if a hulking Vesk in heavy armor is making a ruckus and trying to sneak at the same time. Maybe ...


8

I have received the following e-mail info from Modiphius: Good afternoon, One of our writers has responded regarding your Super Mutant query: "Super-mutants can only wear Raider armour, which represents the improvised armour that super mutants typically wear" Kind regards and happy new year, Chris Dann Customer Service Representative Modiphius ...


2

Yes, they share some properties of mundane manacles, namely, they can be used to bind a creature's limbs. But no, just because they serve as mundane manacles, doesn't mean they share all the properties of mundane manacles. In particular, DMG 141 says: Most magic items are objects of extraordinary artisanship. Thanks to a combination of careful crafting and ...


2

We made a house rule. As discussed in the question and several answers, multiple sources of invisibility, such as the invisbility and greater invisibility spells, as well as the cloak, ring, and potion of invisibility, all say that whatever you're wearing or carrying is also invisible, but then other methods of invisibility, such as the dust of disappearance,...


5

By a strict reading of the rules and the common understanding that spells only do what they say, I would say that effects that are worded like the Monk's Empty Body feature would indeed imply that wearing or carrying items does make the invisible condition pointless in hiding. As you rightfully pointed out, the Monk's feature doesn't specify worn/carried ...


5

Based on how the condition of invisibility is defined, anything you are wearing or carrying at casting would need to also be invisible There is an Invisible condition defined by the following: An invisible creature is impossible to see without the aid of magic or a Special sense. For the Purpose of Hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. The creature’...


12

If a class feature requires you to get naked for it to be effective, you’ve probably misapplied it. The monk’s 18th level feature Empty Body says: Beginning at 18th level, you can use your action to spend 4 ki points to become invisible for 1 minute. During that time, you also have resistance to all damage but force damage. You’re right, it doesn’t mention ...


Top 50 recent answers are included