100

Can Imps talk? Yes. Yes they can. It's not really very complicated; it says so right there in the rulebooks. They also say how short and long rests work, and even have some recommendations for adventure pacing that could give a DM an idea as to how much/little time pressure is 'normal'. What to do when your DM hates Warlocks, you unknowingly made a ...


54

As far as actions in combat are concerned, the quote you've included pretty much sums it up. A familiar can take any action that it is capable of other than the Attack action. This includes the Cast A Spell action, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Ready, Search, and Use an Object. Since familiars are monsters, they can also take any non-Attack action ...


53

The find familiar spell allows you to summon a spirit that takes the form of an animal from a list, as a pact of the chain warlock you are allowed to choose the imp form. An important sentence in the spell is the following: the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast. Part ...


47

Not exactly. The rules on Working Together in order to give advantage are as follows: A character can only provide help if the task is one that he or she could attempt alone. For example, trying to open a lock requires proficiency with thieves’ tools, so a character who lacks that proficiency can’t help another character in that task. Moreover, a ...


43

The spell effect would be unchanged. In DnD 5e spells only do what they say that they do or to put it another way - 'there are no secret rules'. Any spell can be cast using a higher level spell slot than necessary - so you could cast Find Familiar using a ninth level slot. But the Find Familiar spell doesn't tell you that there would be any additional ...


41

So, to your first question: The pocket dimension will be unique to your familiar. While it's difficult to prove this, a dimension that potentially contains the familiars of every spellcaster with the Find Familiar spell in the entire universe at the same time really doesn't sound like a "pocket" dimension. Also, what would happen if a Wizard sent his ...


36

Find Familiar As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you. This is not casting the spell and so any restriction on Components you can currently use is not relevant. All this says is that causing your familiar to reappear take your action for the turn in which you do it. As ...


35

Yes Yes, a familiar can carry loads if it can properly grip or support them, including a willing creature if they fall within this weight limit. However, a hawk can only carry 37.5 pounds, as it is a Tiny creature, and thus its carry capacity is halved (PHB 176 'Size and Strength').


35

Alert is always active and infallible. Familiars are not. Surprise is not always about hiding. The party can surprise a foe or be surprised by an encounter without the enemies being hidden. E.g. a ball or gala where some of the guests are disguised assassins. They're not hiding. They're disguised. When their coordinated attack is launched, the ...


32

Specific Overrides General This is a basic "specific overrides general" situation. The Ring of Spell Storing has specific rules that override the general cases for Find Familiar. When the wizard loads the ring, the specific case of "Casting Find Familiar into a Ring of Spell Storing" overrides the general case of "Casting Find Familiar". The clause... ...


32

There is no mechanic to "cast a spell on someone else's behalf". As the spellcaster, "you gain the service of a familiar", not someone else. However, if your Bard can get their hands on a Ring of Spell Storing, you'd be able to help them out. While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the ...


32

It is not you can aid a friendly creature [ in attacking a creature ] within 5 feet of you but you can aid a friendly creature in attacking [ a creature within 5 feet of you ] You must be within 5' of the target of the attack you are helping with.


31

Nothing. There is no current rule that spell effects end when a caster is unconscious or dies unless they are specifically concentration spells. Thus, since Find Familiar is not a concentration spell, it's perfectly reasonable to assume that the familiar stays and is unaffected by the fact that his wizard is unconscious (or dead). And in fact, the ...


31

Yes, familiar can be used for gaining advantage for allies. From Find Familiar spell description (PHB, p240), emphasis mine: Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal. Help is listed as ...


31

A familiar from Find Familiar can't be awakened. The awaken spell needs to target a beast or plant: you touch a Huge or smaller beast or plant However, the familiar from find familiar is not considered a beast: the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast. Therefore you ...


30

No, a Warlock with the Pact of the Chain feature does not receive Magic Resistance if they choose a Quasit, Imp, or Pseudodragon. In the first place, a variant rule is only in play if the DM chooses. However, even if the DM decides that pseudodragon familiars (for example) are a thing, it still doesn't benefit the Warlock. Some pseudodragons are willing ...


30

This does not work. The spell Find Steed allows you to cast a spell and have it also affect your steed. While mounted on your steed, you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed. In the targets section of the PHB, it states: A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point ...


29

You Can Only Do What The Spell States However, this does indeed mean you can use it deliver spells with the range of touch, telepathically communicate within 100ft, send it to a pocket dimension, etc, as they are all specified in the spell itself! You Can Cast Find Familiar With the Ritual Caster Feat The spell has the ritual tag, so therefore it can be ...


28

Yes, it would be a noticable nerf. Mechanically, having a familiar capable of flight - such as an owl - can indeed be rather useful, especially for scouting purposes - which is one of the main benefits of a familiar, barring RP purposes (RAW, familiars should be unable to carry anything noteworthy, so that won't be an issue). Hence, disallowing flight for ...


27

Not sharing a language doesn't mean you can't communicate. Familiars are smart (6 intelligence at level 1, and rising fast) and have empathic links to their associated spellcasters. Which is to say, you can demonstrate concepts to your familiar by example, even if you can't do it through speech; And you can readily communicate an emotion associated with each ...


27

No. Consider that: Verbal (V) ...the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. If you can argue that this is ALL that is needed to cast a purely verbal spell, then anyone or anything with a mouth can cast it. Let's get more basic: suppose you don't have spell slots left to cast ...


26

Yes, you can teleport to somewhere your familiar sees provided that you are currently seeing through it's eyes. From the Find Familiar spell: ...as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes... (PHB 240) If you've taken the action to see through your familiar's eyes, and then cast Misty Step, then yes, you can teleport to somewhere your ...


26

The Metamagic Option, Distant Spell, if used, changes the range of the spell from touch to 30 ft (PHB 102). Conversely, Find Familiar (PHB 240) gives you the option when you cast a spell with the range of touch to cast it through the familiar, using its reaction to cast the spell. The two effects are mutually exclusive. If you spend the sorcery point, it ...


26

It's almost correct, but not quite. There are two separate, unrelated ways to get a familiar in D&D 5e, and you're trying to combine them. The first method is by use of the Find Familiar spell, which allows you to summon a celestial, fey, or fiendish spirit that takes the form of any of a list of creatures. This list is expanded by the warlock pact of ...


26

The 'Additionally' part of the next sentence seems to imply that they are bound to the same rules From the SRD, here is the text of the spell: While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next ...


26

The Find Familiar spell (PHB p240): Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal. It states that a familiar can't attack — not that it can't attack on its action, but that it can't attack ...


26

Yes it can The Find Familiar description says the familiar "can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal". "Attack" means you're making an attack roll. You don't need to attack in order to use the Dragon Breath effect, because there is no attack roll involved, but a saving throw instead: You touch one willing creature and imbue it with the power....


26

You could not cast continual flame on your familiar Continual flame states (PHB, p. 227, bold added): A flame, equivalent in brightness to a torch, springs forth from an object that you touch. The effect looks like a regular flame, but it creates no heat and doesn’t use oxygen. A continual flame can be covered or hidden but not smothered or quenched. ...


25

I don't see why this wouldn't work, as nothing prevents you from taking a reaction on your turn. Thus the action sequence of: Wizard uses action to Ready Shocking Grasp for familiar to cast Familiar moves part of it's movement Familiar uses reaction to cast Shocking Grasp (Wizard also uses reaction to use readied action) Familiar uses action to do ...


25

Yes, advantage applies Why? The you in the unseen attackers sections is referring to whatever creature is invisible / can't be seen. In this case it is your familiar, and it would have advantage even though it uses your attack modifier.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible