Hot answers tagged

67

DC equal to your Intelligence score + your proficiency bonus This uses your intelligence score, not your intelligence modifier. Therefore the DC is 25 (20 Int + 5 Proficiency modifier).


57

No For this to work it requires: You to hit with the opportunity attack every time, The opponent to have no reach or ranged options available, The opponent to be an idiot. No 1. is not going to happen, even if you have a massive bonus to hit you will eventually roll a 1. No 2. is unlikely; most enemies have some way of doing damage at range. No 3. ...


53

You don't get a second hit Undead Fortitude says (emphasis mine): On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point instead. This indicates that Undead Fortitude interrupts damage. Similar to damage reduction, Undead Fortitude activates after the hit but before damage is taken. Thus, the undead never reaches 0 HP if it passes the Constitution Save, and the ...


52

You are correct. Tunnel Fighter lets you make opportunity attacks for free, and Polearm Master lets you do so at a distance. An intelligent or reasonably aware force would have a good chance to figure this out after you skewer the first few. As for "too good," it's powerful but not unrealistic. Choke points are good strategy in the real world, too; see ...


50

Excellent combo. You quoted all the relevant rules. To read lips, you need to see a creature's mouth while it is speaking a language you understand And with the Eagle totem at 6th level, you get to clearly see creatures and fine details (like moving lips) within 1 mile. It is legal and a great idea. Regarding realism, as pointed out in the comments, it'...


49

There is nothing in Alert that prevents you from being pickpocketed. Surprised is a very specific state which refers to the beginning of a combat. Surprise is a state where a creature is unaware of another creature when combat begins, in this case the surprised creature a) cannot take an action on its first turn and b) cannot take reactions until after its ...


45

No, the shove cannot be taken before the attack. The first bullet of the Shield Master feat is: • If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield. Jeremy Crawford has changed the rules on this recently. In early 2015 he posted on Twitter with the following. As ...


45

Straight from the DMG Errata: Attunement (p. 136) The first paragraph ends with a new sentence: “If the prerequisite is to be a spellcaster, a creature qualifies if it can cast at least one spell using its traits or features, not using a magic item or the like.” emphasis added Therefore, for the purpose of attunement: If a creature is able to ...


44

You end up at the same HP no matter when you take Tough. (Twice your level + 2/level thereafter) works out to the same number no matter the level when you take it. Consider: if you take Tough at 1st level you immediately bump your HP max by 2, then another 2 at 2nd, another 2 at 3rd, another 2 at 4th for a total HP max bump from Tough of 8HP. Alternately:...


44

Ability Score Improvements are almost always better for DPR Calculation On 4th level you could raise your attack stat from 16 to 18, or take Dual Wielder. I will assume you have the Two-Weapon Fighting style, while fighting against AC 10, 14 and 18. Criticals are also included in the final DPR. Base DPR: Damage 2 x (1d6+3) = 13 AC10: Hit chance 80%, 10.75 ...


43

Things you can do, by the book: Everything you listed except scribe a new spell. Source: PHB pg. 114 That actually requires you to write down the spell, and has a material cost associated with it that is usually associated with special inks and gems. Yes, you can recall it from memory and write it into your book, upon which you would have it memorized for ...


43

No, you can't take the -5/+10 while throwing a dagger. Thrown: If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. Throwing a dagger is a ranged weapon attack, so the first two benefits of the Sharpshooter feat will apply. However, the third benefit doesn't require a ranged weapon attack: Before you make an attack ...


43

2. The Alert feat negates surprise Because the Alert feat (PHB, p. 165) states: You can't be surprised while you are conscious A character with the Alert feat cannot be surprised while they are conscious. "Surprised" has a clear mechanical meaning. If a character is surprised, they cannot act on their first turn of combat, and after their first turn, ...


42

No, it's fine. I used this house rule in all my 5e campaigns since the D&D Next playtest in 2013 and we never ran into any problems. Yes, the players are slightly more powerful, but I only run hard or deadly combat encounters anyway, so it works out fine. The players really enjoy the added customization. However, I usually don't hand out the feat ...


41

The DMG contains a section "Other Rewards" (starting at page 227) which includes amongst other options: Blessings of the Gods, which usually mimic the properties of a Wondrous Item Charms, which usually grant spell-like abilities or potion effects Special training, which grants a character a new feat or skill. So what you're asking for seems to be a ...


40

The general rule is that you can only take each feat once From page 165 of the Player's Handbook (under "Feats"), or here in the basic rules: You can take each feat only once, unless the feat's description says otherwise. The Magic Initiate feat does not list an exception to that rule which means you can only take it once. Except that the Magic ...


40

Yes, if you roll a natural 20, it will be a critical hit despite your -5 penalty. If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. This is called a critical hit, which is explained later in this chapter.


40

Far, far too powerful. Normally, the way to do this is to take a level in the other class, with all the trade-offs involved and only getting the low-level spells until more levels are taken. This proposed feat would be better than multiclassing in every way: no dipping drawbacks for ASIs and capstones, instead getting a whole level of your main class and ...


39

Your first ambiguity isn't really ambiguous at all. The distinction between an Attack action and an attack is pretty clear. Heck, both of the quotes in your question make that distinction. For reference, the Attack action is defined as: The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow ...


39

No. You are not a Cleric so you can't use a spell slot to cast the 1st level spell learnt from the Magic Initiate (Cleric) feat (or whatever class you picked for the feat). From the Sage Advice Compendium: Magic Initiate If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. ...


38

Reading the rules as written for both, Elven Accuracy does not apply. Elven Accuracy states "Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll", not "Whenever circumstances would grant you advantage". If you choose to forgo advantage, you no longer have advantage on the attack roll. So Elven Accuracy does not apply. Consider this; If I would have advantage on ...


38

This has risky interactions with certain class features. The second benefit, tie-breaking in contests where a stalemate is possible, isn't especially problematic. It effectively acts like a +1 bonus to ability checks that only activates a fraction of the time. I don't think there's too much to say about that benefit other than that it is highly situational. ...


38

As of the 2018 Errata, the Athlete feat has been changed Athlete (p. 165). The third benefit should instead say climbing doesn't cost you extra movement. —Errata: Player's Handbook, 2018 Because of this change, the Athlete feat would allow a Centaur to ignore all extra costs associated with climbing. The technicality of ignoring "halved" movement ...


36

No, for at least two reasons. Crossbow Expert (PHB, p. 165) is very specific about when you can make an attack with your hand crossbow: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are holding. You are using a reaction to make a single attack; you are not taking the ...


35

Here's what you're trading for the alertness feat if you don't take the abil score upgrade and instead take the feat: +1 to damage +1 to hit +1 to AC +1 to Dex saves +1 to Dex checks +1 to init The question then, ultimately, becomes, is +5 init (net +4), no surprise and no advantage on attacks against from hidden opponents worth it. The latter two ...


35

The paladin should only get 3 attacks for 2 reasons. The first is that, yes, you are limited to one bonus action per turn. The second is that Polearm Master states: When you take the Attack action [...] you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack... And the Extra Attack class feature states: Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...


35

From the section on opportunity attacks: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack interrupts the provoking creature’s movement, occurring right before the creature ...


35

No. The relevant rule in the armor section states: You can benefit from only one shield at a time. This means that only one shield serves to give you any benefit (including the ones from the Shield Master feat). This is further backed up from this Sage Advice page from the lead designer, Jeremy Crawford (thanks @V2Blast in the comments) No matter ...


35

I don't believe allowing this would even be a house rule, the rules support it as-is. The action enabled by the Healer feat is just a new use for an object and, therefore, is still technically the Use an Object action to execute, and would be usable with a bonus action by someone with Fast Hands as a result. See also the description of the Use an Object ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible