Hot answers tagged

34

This is unnecessary I've played at a table where several PCs (across different campaigns and DMs) have had the Lucky feat and I've never experience an imbalance issue or a feeling that it's overpowered. Already limited The feat is already limited in that it can only be used 3 times/long rest. That's a pretty big limitation when the volume of rolls across ...


24

The Change Shape feature does not work in this way The Couatl's Change Shape feature states: The couatl magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating equal to or less than its own, or back into its true form [...] The Couatl thus cannot turn into a variant human because that is a Player Character race option, and thus does ...


18

This doesn't work The attack action is only able to perform the grapple: ...you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them. The pin ability granted by the Grappler feat is a different action altogether: You can use your action to ...


13

No: the maximum range is reduced. The benefit is that the attack is not at disadvantage; you get that benefit from using a crossbow underwater. This is one of those cases where the rules and verisimilitude tend to match up. The sharpshooter feat can't remove disadvantage if the attack automatically misses. There isn't even an attack roll to make if ...


12

You can only use Bountiful Luck once before the start of your next turn. As you yourself have quoted (emphasis mine): When an ally you can see within 30 feet of you rolls a 1 on the d20 for an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to let the ally reroll the die. And, as the Basic Rules of the game describe: When ...


11

Assuming there is no other effect in play... Yes, you can use a reach weapon for this attack. You may dash, move (at least) 10 feet, and then use Charger's bonus action attack while using a reach weapon and gain the +5 bonus damage. Charger doesn't say "make an attack against an opponent within 5 feet of you" or something similar; as long as you meet the ...


10

No, the range of the spells stays the same The description of the War Caster feat (PHB, 170) says: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, instead of making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of only 1 action and must target only that ...


9

Specific Rules Apply - RAW By Rules as Written, a mount is a mount. A mount follows the rules for mounts in the Player Handbook/Basic Rules/SRD. Infernal Machines are from Descent and don't use mount rules, even if the rules are similar, they are different things. Mounted Combatant Feat - Houserule While this, RAW, doesn't apply to infernal machines, as ...


9

You're chasing the wrong problem. This is about the social contract not the feat. Player notes Players are human, they forget things and there is also an issue with conservation of detail. Often far more times passes outside of game than in game. It is not unreasonable for player to occasionally need their memory jogged or need an intelligence check to ...


8

Damage sources are what they are Mechanically the elemental damage you roll from using Absorb Elements remains derived from it, thus originating from a spell. Assume you are an Elemental Adept aligned to acid. You get hit by an acid-type attack. You cast Absorb Elements to charge your next melee with 1d6 Acid. Elemental Adept states: [...] For a spell ...


8

No War Caster only allows you to use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature that provoked an opportunity attack. Twinned Spell allows you to cast the spell at a second target. You could twin the spell, but War Caster does not allow you to cast the spell at any other target than the creature that provoked the opportunity attack. You argue that ...


7

Player Characters do not have Challenge Rating As Medix2 mentions in his answer, the Couatl's Change Shape feature is concerned with CR. Player Characters, like those that involve the Variant Human traits, do not have CR, as can be inferred by the description of CR in the Introduction of the Monster Manual (emphasis mine): A monster’s challenge rating ...


6

Elemental adept reads: In addition, when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type [acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder], you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2. It doesn't state at the time of cast or have any temporal constraints. It simply states that to gain the effect you meet two conditions: A spell has been cast ...


6

Once per round. Activating the Roll With It feat requires the creature's immediate action, in response to being hit by a melee weapon. The Acrobatics check is part of this immediate action. If you are struck by a melee weapon you can try to convert some or all of that damage into movement that sends you off in an uncontrolled bouncing roll. To do so, you ...


6

No. You only have one bonus action per round, and both Two-Weapon Fighting and Crossbow Expert use your bonus action. The Two-Weapon Fighting rule states: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding ...


5

Probably not You select the Twinned Spell target at the same time you select your primary target for the spell from War Caster. It says "When" you cast the spell. In other words, there are not two rounds of target selection, only one. You can cast a spell that does not require an attack roll, but I think looking at the rules for making an attack helps ...


5

The benefit of the feat Improvisation says, in part, "You gain a +2 bonus on all skill checks for skills you have no ranks in." The description of the extraordinary ability master armorer, an advanced armor training ability, says, in part, "The fighter substitutes his total base attack bonus… for his ranks in [the Craft (armor)] skill…." This reader ...


4

Only one action (an Ally's) can benefit from your Bountiful Luck per Round ... you can use your reaction to let the ally reroll the die. When you use this ability, you can't use your Lucky racial trait before the end of your next turn. Your Ally re-rolling their dice is you using your Lucky racial trait. Once you have used your Bountiful Luck in a ...


4

You need a free hand to load a hand crossbow, but you can attack with any one-handed weapon to trigger You are correct in that you need a free hand to reload your hand crossbow, which makes this part of crossbow master the easiest if you use a hand crossbow and nothing else, because triggering it with a hand crossbow means you can reload and fire again with ...


4

The word effect is used a lot in D&D 3.5e, but is rarely ever defined—and when it is, it is defined in a particular narrow scope that clearly does not encompass its entire meaning. For example, the rules explaining how spell descriptions work discuss the “Effect” entry in some spells, but simulataneously use the word “effect” for various other aspects of ...


4

You cannot use the Twinned Spell Metamagic on a spell cast using the War Caster feat The War Caster feat states: [...] The spell must have a casting time of only 1 action and must target only that creature. This phrase has no time restriction, the entirety of that spell must target only that one creature. It does not say that the spell must only target ...


3

Sharpshooter doesn't counter underwater combat rules. As you said, Sharpshooter remove the disadvantage if you attack within your weapon's long range. However, the underwater combat rules state that : A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon's normal range. It's not a disadvantage, the attack just miss. Sharpshooter doesn't ...


3

This is a little too powerful when combined with per-hit riders, and the fighting style is weird in that it only adds anything when your ability modifier is odd. Let's assess mathematically: Level 1 OTWF - 2d6+6 (13) / 15 with feat NTWF - 2d4+4 (9) / 11 with feat Level 5 OTWF - 3d6+12 (22.5) / 25.5 with feat NTWF - 4d4+8 (18) / 22 with feat Level 11 OTWF ...


3

No, “extra damage” is part of the same “damage roll” that Warrior Born gives a bonus to, not a separate “damage roll” that would get a separate copy of Warrior Born’s bonus. You only get the +1 once. But the situation is more complicated than that because you have misunderstood how the spiker race works. The spikers from Planar Handbook do not get “1d8 ...


3

Anything with the evil subtype will count as evil for “effects” regardless of their actual alignment. Unfortunately, the word “effects” is not defined for D&D 3.5e—so we don’t know exactly what it means. Does it include requirements? Unknown, but it might. I have certainly never had a problem allowing it to do so. Anyway, assuming that this works, ...


3

The Lucky feat is a daily ability, so how powerful it is depends on how many encounters your group does per day. If you're letting your group do just one encounter per day and rest (the famous "five minute adventuring day"), then all your characters with daily powers will be stronger -- wizards, clerics, and anyone with the Lucky feat, too. If your group ...


2

It's Unearthed Arcana content, but the Artificer Battle Smith allows for +Intelligence to weapon attacks and damage which is a perfect fit for both GWF and Elven Accuracy. https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/UA-Artificer2-2019.pdf Battle Smith is proficient with martial weapons and medium armor, which is a good start, but things just get better ...


1

According to this answer, a spell is considered a Class Spell if it's listed in the class' spell list. So given that the Celestial patron adds it to the Warlock Spell List I would say that it does count as a warlock spell and can be cast as such. Worth noting though is that after testing this with the DDB Character Sheet it doesn't seem to be treated as ...


1

I see three courses of action, the first of which addresses the core issue that caused your question, the second and third directly answer your question. 1. Educate the DM. The easiest way to fix the issue, and my preferred way, is to have your DM properly use passive perception. If your DM learns how passive perception works, you no longer have to modify ...


1

I suspect the feats being suggested are Stalwart and Improved Stalwart. Stalwart has a reasonably high investment to gain (two pre-requisite feats, one of which does very little, and the other only kicking in when you would fall unconscious), and only give about the same benefit as the Stoneskin spell. A Belt of Stoneskin would provide comparable benefits ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible