Hot answers tagged

53

You don't get a second hit Undead Fortitude says (emphasis mine): On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point instead. This indicates that Undead Fortitude interrupts damage. Similar to damage reduction, Undead Fortitude activates after the hit but before damage is taken. Thus, the undead never reaches 0 HP if it passes the Constitution Save, and the ...


50

Excellent combo. You quoted all the relevant rules. To read lips, you need to see a creature's mouth while it is speaking a language you understand And with the Eagle totem at 6th level, you get to clearly see creatures and fine details (like moving lips) within 1 mile. It is legal and a great idea. Regarding realism, as pointed out in the comments, it'...


43

2. The Alert feat negates surprise Because the Alert feat (PHB, p. 165) states: You can't be surprised while you are conscious A character with the Alert feat cannot be surprised while they are conscious. "Surprised" has a clear mechanical meaning. If a character is surprised, they cannot act on their first turn of combat, and after their first turn, ...


38

This has risky interactions with certain class features. The second benefit, tie-breaking in contests where a stalemate is possible, isn't especially problematic. It effectively acts like a +1 bonus to ability checks that only activates a fraction of the time. I don't think there's too much to say about that benefit other than that it is highly situational. ...


38

As of the 2018 Errata, the Athlete feat has been changed Athlete (p. 165). The third benefit should instead say climbing doesn't cost you extra movement. —Errata: Player's Handbook, 2018 Because of this change, the Athlete feat would allow a Centaur to ignore all extra costs associated with climbing. The technicality of ignoring "halved" movement ...


36

No, for at least two reasons. Crossbow Expert (PHB, p. 165) is very specific about when you can make an attack with your hand crossbow: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are holding. You are using a reaction to make a single attack; you are not taking the ...


35

Alert is always active and infallible. Familiars are not. Surprise is not always about hiding. The party can surprise a foe or be surprised by an encounter without the enemies being hidden. E.g. a ball or gala where some of the guests are disguised assassins. They're not hiding. They're disguised. When their coordinated attack is launched, the ...


35

One is an official published version and the other a rough draft Unearthed Arcana is WotC's way of playtesting material before potential publishing. You can use it, but it is always considered to be in "rough draft" form until it is published. Sometimes UA material never makes it out of UA playtesting, but when it does, it is often changed to a lesser or ...


34

This is unnecessary I've played at a table where several PCs (across different campaigns and DMs) have had the Lucky feat and I've never experience an imbalance issue or a feeling that it's overpowered. Already limited The feat is already limited in that it can only be used 3 times/long rest. That's a pretty big limitation when the volume of rolls across ...


30

The hostile creature’s movement doesn't provoke an opportunity attack from you, so your War Caster feat isn't triggered. The War Caster feat (PHB 170) says: When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must ...


29

No, Resilient grants proficiency in Saving Throws only The PHB (pp 168) says the Resilient feat gives you (my emphasis): ...proficiency in saving throws using the chosen ability. Skills and ability checks are separate mechanics that require proficiency of their own from a source (background, race, class etc.) Related Skills could be improved, but you'...


28

No, it's not an opportunity attack The relevant phrasing in the Sentinel feat (PHB, p. 169-170) is: When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature's speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn. So the prerequisite for this feature is that you must hit a creature with an opportunity attack. The relevant phrasing in the War Caster feat (...


28

Yes, you can reroll a 1 (or a 20) Rolling a 1 or a 20 on an attack roll technically means the result is going to miss or hit. However, that does not necessarily mean the outcome is decided. There are abilities out there (like Lucky itself!) that can modify rolls and so there are even rare cases where your 1 or 20 might get modified after the roll but before ...


28

No, War Caster doesn't let you do this Unfortunately, the benefit that War Caster offers is specifically that: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only ...


27

A spell's verbal, somatic, and material components are necessary but not sufficient The rules have this to say on spell components (emphasis added): A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't ...


27

You need to be holding both weapons when you Attack in order to use Two-Weapon Fighting - and attacking with a greatsword requires both hands. You have the Dual Wielder feat, so it doesn't matter that neither weapon is light. So far so good, however: The Two-Weapon Fighting rules state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...


26

No, they don't. From the Monk's Martial Arts feature: You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. From the Tavern Brawler feat (PHB, p. 170): Your unarmed strike uses a d4 for damage. Both abilities replace the unarmed strike damage die; they don't add to it. So if you have both abilities, you would still ...


26

Hit 'em baby, one more time. The most important bit of Undead Fortitude is: If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points There is clearly a gate where the Zombie is at 0HP. At that point, they can make their save and possibly continue with 1 HP, but they have cleared the 0HP gate to initiate the GWM bonus action melee attack. The zombie may finally end ...


26

Your PHB is correct: Weapon Master does not grant you a fighting style The Weapon Master feat (PHB, p. 170) grants you: +1 to your Strength or Dex, to a max of 20. proficiency with four simple or martial weapons of your choice. There's no mention of acquiring a fighting style. Modifying the feat to include one would be introducing homebrew to your game. ...


25

No, it would not The Weapon's damage dice is different from the total damage dice. Savage Attacker works with allowing reroll on the weapon's damage dice. Sneak attack and it's associated dice are a different mechanic and represent extra damage on top of the Weapon dice: it is not part of the weapon dice. This makes sense from a rules perspective, but ...


25

Yes Well, technically you don't get poisoned (which is a condition), but you take poison damage. You could argue that it doesn't make sense because the armor "absorbed the hit", but that is not what Heavy Armor Master implies. Not getting hit is already determined by your armor class, the fact that the attack hit but the damage was then lowered a bit means ...


25

No, probably not unbalanced The rule on Improvised Weapons states in part: Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus. ...


24

What races can this apply to? As a variant of a racial feat, looking at which races satisfy the prerequisites is important. Part of the reason Squat Nimbleness need not consider the balance as heavily in providing an additional 5 feet of movement is that the races it applies to have a base movement speed of 25 feet. Here are the races which (can) have ...


24

More than likely, this is balanced Your features almost directly mirror the features of the Dragon Hide feat. The same ability increase except offering Wisdom instead of Charisma AC of 13 + Constitution modifier rather than Dexterity modifier 1d4 + Strength bludgeoning damage rather than slashing damage on unarmed strikes As such, the feature is almost ...


24

Flame Blade cannot be used with Booming Blade Although diegetically the Flame Blade spell gives you a flaming weapon, you cannot use it for ordinary weapon attacks like what Booming Blade requires. The Flame Blade spell only gives you the ability to make Melee Spell Attacks with your action, dealing the amount of damage specified by the spell. You evoke ...


24

As long as you meet the prerequisite, pick any class These are separate things. As you note, the requirement is just "Intelligence or Wisdom 13 or higher". This means you need either "Intelligence 13 or higher" or "Wisdom 13 or higher". If you have an Intelligence of 1 but 13 Wisdom you still qualify for the feat. Once you qualify for the feat, the choice ...


24

They do not stack because the damage roll of Flames of Phlegethos is separate from any spell's damage roll The first bullet of Flames of Phlegethos states: When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice and use the new roll. And thus it can only apply to damage rolls of spells you cast. The other ...


24

The Change Shape feature does not work in this way The Couatl's Change Shape feature states: The couatl magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating equal to or less than its own, or back into its true form [...] The Couatl thus cannot turn into a variant human because that is a Player Character race option, and thus does ...


23

No This is an instance of specific beats general. The feat grants you immunity to granting advantage when you can't see the target; it doesn't have any additional criteria for that. For the purposes of abstracting the matter, consider that Perception isn't just a measure of visually seeing something. It also includes hearing someone moving or using other ...


23

As an edge case, the RAW technically allows this You can use the poison in this vial to coat one slashing or piercing weapon or up to three pieces of Ammunition. [...] A creature hit by the Poisoned weapon or Ammunition must make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or take 1d4 poison damage. The problem here is that this is an edge case. Normally, a ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible