Imagine you have a friend who roleplays in Second Life. There are all kinds of emoting macros there to supplement the textual channel they use to weave their stories.
Now put that person on the stage. "This has so few options, I can't do anything except stand here and talk!"
That would be obviously ridiculous, right?
The situation is the same in D&...
3 attacks on your turn (if you don't use Action Surge).
(It could go up to five with Action Surge, though.)
The Two-Weapon Fighting rule states (PHB, page 195):
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon
that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack
with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in ...
Breadth of Option
Unexpected monster rears out of the darkness, clearly well beyond the battered party's ability to handle?
Wizard teleports home. Fighter manages to kill the thing half to death before he gets eaten.
Ambuscade! The earl's men have the party cornered, and demand they surrender - only execution awaits if they do.
Wizard casts ...
Protection does not grant additional opportunity attacks
The Protection is one of the options for a Fighter's fighting style. It allows, exactly as you quoted, to use one's reaction to impose disadvantage on enemy attack rolls under certain conditions. It doesn't say anything about giving additional ways to make an opportunity attack, and hence it doesn't ...
Yes, a fighter gets their extra attack when using action surge
Action surge gives you an extra action on your turn:
On your turn, you can take one additional action on top of your regular action and a possible bonus action.
There is no restriction on what this action can be used for. Using it to take the Attack action would indeed then trigger Extra Attack ...
Yes...sort of. More at L1 than at other levels though.
For a brief look at this, let's look at the 4 basic L1 characters and see what their defined combat options are.
Wizard: 3 L1 spells/day (they get the extra from an afternoon nap). 3-4 cantrips. Generally the wizard has the most combat options. They have more daily spells than the cleric and they have ...
Yes, it would be unbalanced. Dex, Con, and Wis are the major saving throw types, of which each class has one. Str, Int, and Cha are minor saving throws, which don't come up as often.
Str saving throws are needed for only 21 of the spells in 5e, mainly to avoid forced movement, falling prone or being restrained. Spells that force such saves include Dust Devil,...
You only have one reaction per round
The bottom line here is that a PC only has one reaction, as kviiri's answer also states. From the rules of Reactions:
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
Strictly speaking, it’s not actually true
The terms “linear” and “quadratic” come from mathematics.
Linear growth is one in which the rate of change is constant. Notably, this means that no one level can be particularly special, each level would involve the same bonuses as the one before it, and growth only happens because of the accumulation.
Okay, so, let's start from your wrong premises
Max Damage does not matter - average does
And you are using the wrong weapon for GWF based on that - Greatsword is better than Greataxe. Greatsword is already superior to Greataxe, but it becomes even better with GWF, when the probability of rolling 1s and 2s is higher.
For reference, the average damage from 2d6 ...
Extra Attack, player's basic rules, page 25:
Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
Note that it specifically says 'whenever you take the Attack action'. Not whenever you attack.
From Two-Weapon Fighting, page 74:
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...
Yes, an unarmed strike is a melee weapon attack. From the official Sage Advice Compendium on page 10, under What does “melee weapon attack” mean: a melee attack with a weapon or an attack with a melee weapon?:
For example, an unarmed strike counts as a
melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t
considered a weapon.
As another answer ...
No it doesn't give you another bonus action. The optional part is that if you haven't used your bonus action that turn you can still use it after the Action Surge (AS).
So it could be:
Action → Bonus Action → AS Action
Action → AS Action → Bonus Action
To quote the rules:
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which ...
When another's attack would do more damage/be more impactful than yours.
Not going to lie: I don't feel like going through your party and doing the math, but suffice it to say that there are times--even when playing a Great Weapon Master--that someone else's attack is expected to do more damage. Like when you can direct your Sharpshooting ranger to take a ...
According to Jeremy Crawford, yes
Per a tweet from Jeremy Crawford, lead designer of the game, the answer is yes.
The benefit of the Survivor feature happens at the start of each of your turns, whether those turns are inside or outside combat. #DnD - @JeremyECrawford
However, whereas historically his tweets were considered to be official rulings according ...
Yes, but you can only act on one of them
Action Surge allows you to:
take one additional action on top of your regular action
There are no restrictions on what you can do with this action, so taking the Ready action qualifies.
Taking the Ready action spends one action but there is nothing preventing the use of a second action to take another one on the ...
The fighter can reroll (at most) once.
The Great Weapon Fighting style says the following (emphasis added by me):
When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must have the two-handed ...
You quoted the relevant text. Extra attack specifically only triggers when the Attack action is taken, not on any attack. By contrast, the Multiattack racial feature is an action that allows you to take three attacks.
Thus, because the Multiattack action is not equivalent to the Attack action, Extra Attack does not trigger. Additionally, you do not get ...
An Erinyes is a monster, not a race
This means two things: one is that you're not actually supposed to be playing as one, and the other is that if you REALLY want to be playing as one, you shouldn't use its stats as-is on top of your existing class features.
The distinction between monsters and PC races is not arbitrary. Mechanically, monsters are designed ...
Reading the rules as written for both, Elven Accuracy does not apply.
Elven Accuracy states "Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll", not "Whenever circumstances would grant you advantage".
If you choose to forgo advantage, you no longer have advantage on the attack roll. So Elven Accuracy does not apply.
Consider this; If I would have advantage on ...
Lots of things going against you...why not Monk?
As a Battlemaster Fighter, you will find lots of hurdles to get past. Its not just having few weapon options, few maneuvers to choose from, or severe lack of armor choices; there is literally nothing that having Wisdom for a Battlemaster will benefit (beyond skills)
However, as a Monk, your AC is increased, ...
Three reasons, in order of increasing importance: flexibility, narrative agency, and expectations.
Flexibility: A well-built fighter can compete with a wizard in pretty much any combat-specific area. Wizards can be very good at grappling, so can fighters. Wizards can deal very large amounts of damage, so can fighters. Wizards can be good at ranged attacks, ...
The rule for Two Weapon Fighting is as follows:
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light
melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can
use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee
weapon that you’re holding in the other hand.
The errata for the PHB states that unarmed strikes are not weapons, so you can't use ...
Don't be a Wizard. Be a Divine Soul Sorcerer.
If you're explicitly not going for any of the utility spells, then you correctly see that there aren't that many good offensive or defensive spells that don't require you to have a good casting stat. My suggestion would be that, rather than going Wizard, you go Sorcerer, with the Divine Soul sorcerous origin (...
No, War Magic doesn't allow multiple bonus-action attacks.
War Magic gives you one weapon attack as a bonus action.
Extra Attack can be used when you use the Attack action.
The two are completely and deliberately different; "an attack" is not the same as "the Attack action".
The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature description says (EGtW, p. 183):
Your echo has AC 14 + your proficiency bonus, 1 hit point, and immunity to all conditions.
And strangely, "invisible" is a condition.
This suggests to me that your echo is immune to being invisible.
Your DM might be willing to fix this with a house rule, but at that ...
No, unarmed strikes aren't considered weapons. An official erratum has stated that
Weapons (p. 149). Unarmed strike doesn’t belong on the Weapons table.
But Jeremy Crawford has clarified via Twitter that
...[The melee attack errata] lets melee weapon attacks use unarmed strikes, despite those strikes not being weapons.
So when using a Melee Weapon ...
It's fine unless you're level 18
To see how Purple Dragon Knight (PDK) stacks up let's compare it to a fighter archetype from the PHB. Since we're worried about PDK being underpowered we only need to find one already accepted archtype that it is comparable to. We're going to use Champion because it is broadly similar and it's abilities make an for easy ...
No; you choose one of the two dice to reroll
From "Advantage and Disadvantage" (PHB, p. 173):
When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you reroll or replace the d20, you can reroll or replace only one of the dice. You choose which one.
If you have advantage on the saving throw, ...
It would appear that Crawford's weighs in on the cantrip rule is only with relation to spells that are cast with the bonus action, this also made it into the Sage Advice Compendium.
Crawford confirms here.
Question: Can I misty step (bonus), fire bolt (action) and fireball (surge) on
same turn? Or need action surge also be a cantrip?
Crawford: In ...