New answers tagged

5

No - the maximum is 2 spells per round Normally, you have one action and one bonus action. Action surge gives you an additional action. Quickened spell reduces an action to a bonus action, but you still only get one bonus action per round. Additionally, Player's Handbook p.202, "Bonus Action", says: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. ...


9

No Quicken states: When you Cast a Spell that has a Casting Time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the Casting Time to 1 Bonus Action for this casting. The Fighter only has one Bonus Action to use, even after Action Surging, which gets used up with the first Quicken. So the maximum number of spells is 2, keeping to the restrictions ...


21

Yes, but why? A weapon in 5e is defined in the basic rules under the monsters section as A manufactured item or a natural weapon such as a claw or tail spike used to make attacks. The Weapon Bond ritual has the following requirements: Requires 1 hour Target must be a weapon A weapon that is a part of your body is still a weapon The weapon must be ...


1

No, but for different reasons than stated in other answers. I agree with Marq's answer, but there's another angle that he's missing, and that's bonding with part of an object. Natural weapons are part of a larger whole. If you were to break off a horn or claw and bond with that, then yes, I don't see why that wouldn't work. (If you break it off your own ...


13

Not the way you're thinking. If you're a minotaur, you don't need to bond with your horns. They're already permanently bound to you. You can't be disarmed of them except by major trauma, which would render them useless as weapons anyway (what are you going to do, glue them back on?). If you're using Alter Self or something to grow temporary natural claws, ...


20

No. First, as with everything, pushing the limits of wording or definitions in the rules to gain some kind of advantage is subject to the approval of your DM. It's a fundamental part of D&D as a game that the rules are incomplete and in some places ambiguous or unspecified, and the DM's job includes navigating those ambiguities when they arise in order ...


8

Yes, but no A natural weapon is a weapon. So in theory anything that "targets" a weapon can target a natural weapon unless it says otherwise. The problem is that Alter Self only lasts for 1 hour. And the bonding ritual requires an hour. Even if you had a way to extend the duration of Alter Self or the DM allowed the ritual to complete a split second ...


18

(Xanathar's Guide to Everything, page 28) Under Arcane shot, when first describing the feature it says: Once per turn when you fire an arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve ...


12

It works And that's really all the game cares about. How you wish the fluff it is up to you and your DM, but as far as the game is concerned, you use a maneuver, it causes the enemy to go flying back 15 feet if they fail a strength saving throw, and that's that. You could fluff it by aiming higher than the center of gravity or something, or perhaps it's a "...


11

I would say that if interpreting the banishing arrow as a means of movement between the planes (in this case both forward and back), the Dimensional Shackles would prevent the secondary trip back to the plane of origin. In addition to serving as mundane manacles, the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional ...


7

The creature remains in the Feywild According to Dimensional Shackles: the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional Movement The only "return clause" in Banishing Arrow says At the end of its next turn, the target reappears in the space it vacated If its turn passes and its unable to fulfill Banishing ...


Top 50 recent answers are included