Skip to main content
64 votes

Can the Protection fighting style be used in this way?

Protection does not grant additional opportunity attacks The Protection is one of the options for a Fighter's fighting style. It allows, exactly as you quoted, to use one's reaction to impose ...
kviiri's user avatar
  • 54.1k
63 votes
Accepted

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Everywhere that you can get a Fighting Style includes this important sentence: You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again. So it doesn't ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 145k
52 votes
Accepted

Which damage dice exactly does the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style allow you to reroll?

From Sage Advice — Rules Answers: April 2016: If you use Great Weapon Fighting with a feature like Divine Smite or a spell like hex, do you get to reroll any 1 or 2 you roll for the extra damage? ...
Grakhosh's user avatar
  • 707
52 votes

Can the Protection fighting style be used in this way?

You only have one reaction per round The bottom line here is that a PC only has one reaction, as kviiri's answer also states. From the rules of Reactions: When you take a reaction, you can't take ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
48 votes
Accepted

What are the advantages to fighting with a 1-handed weapon and a free hand?

A Free Hand. In order to Grapple a target, you need a free hand. In order to cast a spell with Somatic and/or Material components, you need a free hand. (Note: War Caster alleviates the Somatic limit.)...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.8k
41 votes
Accepted

Can a fighter with the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style reroll his damage many times?

The fighter can reroll (at most) once. The Great Weapon Fighting style says the following (emphasis added by me): When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.6k
36 votes

Is D&D Beyond correct in showing my ranger's attack bonus being higher than his Dex mod + bonus from Archery Fighting Style?

Proficiency bonus. As a ranger you have proficiency with your bow, so your +2 proficiency bonus is added to your bonus to hit. The rule for “Modifiers to the Roll” in the Attack Rolls section of the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
32 votes

Does the Dueling Fighting Style prevent using a shield?

Jeremy Crawford (D&D designer at Wizards of the Coast) tweeted that dueling works with a shield: "does the duelling [sic] fighting style work with sword and shield?" It sure does! ...
Tim Grant's user avatar
  • 26k
32 votes

Is an equipped shield considered "wearing armor" for gaining benefit from the Defence fighting style?

No, wearing a shield does not count as Armor Shields are in the Equipment section (Chapter 5) of the PHB, but are not classified under the Armor section when determining Light, Medium, or Heavy Armor. ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
32 votes
Accepted

Does the Dueling fighting style add 2 to every damage die you roll?

Only once per attack (that hits) The Dueling Fighting Style says: When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon. Damage ...
HellSaint's user avatar
  • 37.1k
28 votes
Accepted

Can you benefit from the Defense fighting style while not using armor AC calculation?

Yes you could The defense fighting style, as you mentioned, states While you are wearing armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC The condition of wearing armor is satisfied, as you are indeed wearing ...
Louis's user avatar
  • 1,057
27 votes
Accepted

Does two-weapon fighting give any penalties to the offhand attack?

No, there is no concept of offhand attack (or related penalties) in 5e Here are the general rules for two-weapon fighting: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
27 votes
Accepted

Does the Weapon Master feat grant you a fighting style?

Your PHB is correct: Weapon Master does not grant you a fighting style The Weapon Master feat (PHB, p. 170) grants you: +1 to your Strength or Dex, to a max of 20. proficiency with four simple or ...
Tiggerous's user avatar
  • 25.1k
25 votes
Accepted

Is an equipped shield considered "wearing armor" for gaining benefit from the Defence fighting style?

No In the Monk Unarmored Defense section it is specified that Beginning at 1st level, while you are wearing no armor and not wielding a shield... and in the Barbarian Unarmored Defense While you ...
Sir Cinnamon's user avatar
  • 6,524
25 votes

Does the Dueling fighting style work with versatile weapons while wielding them with two hands?

When you are wielding a versatile weapon with two hands, you are not wielding it with one hand. The text of Dueling states that it applies when you are wielding a melee weapon with one hand. ...
Louis Wasserman's user avatar
24 votes
Accepted

Can the Polearm Master 1d4 bonus attack be used with Great Weapon Fighter/Master?

This looks like it would work, RAW The Polearm Master feat (PHB, pg. 168) states: When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, or quarterstaff, you can use a bonus action ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
24 votes
Accepted

How many attacks exactly do I get if I combine the Dual Wielder feat with the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style?

You can take the Attack action once and make another attack as a bonus action. (Note the uppercase-A vs. lowercase-a attacks, there.) You can take the Attack action, as one does. Per "Two-Weapon ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
23 votes

Does Dueling Fighting Style apply to thrown weapons?

You "wield" the weapon when you attack or throw with it, not simply when it's in your hand. It may no longer be in your hand but the attack and damage rolls signify the attempt and everything to do ...
Lewis's user avatar
  • 251
23 votes

Does a lance qualify for the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style when wielded unmounted?

The Great Weapon Fighting fighting style states that: The weapon must have the two-handed or versatile property for you to gain this benefit. A lance has the Reach and Special properties (as per ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
23 votes
Accepted

Does Paladin Fighting Style: Defense count as a separately named feature from Fighter: Fighting Style Defense for stacking?

Both features have the same name, and do not stack. The combining game effects section in chapter 8 of the Dungeon Master's Guide states: ...when two or more game features have the same name, only ...
GcL's user avatar
  • 34.4k
22 votes
Accepted

Why is the Dueling fighting style adding such a big bonus to this damage roll on D&D Beyond?

It is a bug Well, it is clear that it is a bug. Your calculation is right: it should be +6 damage. You can ask about bugs on D&D Beyond here. Similar Issue In the first page, there is a similar ...
HellSaint's user avatar
  • 37.1k
22 votes
Accepted

Does the Fog Cloud spell work in conjunction with the Blind Fighting fighting style the way I think it does?

That is the basic premise You missed the definition of heavily obscured: A heavily obscured area--such as darkness, opaque fog, or dense foliage--blocks vision entirely. A creature effectively ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.9k
21 votes
Accepted

Can you benefit from the Dueling fighting style for one weapon, then draw a second weapon as part of Extra Attack to qualify for Two-Weapon Fighting?

No, you can't combine them in this way. The key point is in the description of the Two-Weapon Fighting rule (PHB, p. 195): When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that ...
Paul Hutton's user avatar
  • 2,202
21 votes

What are the benefits of using a lance in 5e?

Let's start with the stats for the weapon: Lance Melee Weapon (Martial) Category: Items Damage: 1d12 Damage Type: Piercing Item Rarity: Standard Properties: Reach Weight: 6 Special: You have ...
Isaac Reefman's user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

How do natural weapons interact with the Dueling fighting style?

The Dueling fighting style doesn't benefit natural weapons The description of the Dueling fighting style says: When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50k
20 votes

How do I model the fighter's Great Weapon Fighting fighting style in Anydice?

It's a common mistake with anydice to look for a procedural solution- anydice models dice. Therefore cast your problem as "What does the dice look like that gives the answer?" Think about how Great ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
19 votes
Accepted

Is the Tunnel Fighter stance once per enemy, or how often does it trigger?

Unlimited Opportunity Attacks, but only one Reaction for the 5' movement. Tunnel Fighter states (emphasis mine): As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
19 votes
Accepted

Can a paladin use the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style?

No, Paladins cannot get the Two-Weapon-Fighting Fighting Style. The list in their class description is exhaustive. This is apparent from the feature's description (emphasis mine): At 2nd level, ...
PixelMaster's user avatar
  • 26.2k
18 votes
Accepted

Can a Barbarian use Defense Fighting Style while raging?

Yes, in light or medium armor Rage only requires that the barbarian not be wearing heavy armor. It only precludes concentrating on a spell. So there's nothing in Rage to prevent applicability of the ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible