18 votes
Accepted

Since the Refocus activity requires spending a Focus Point before I Refocus again, can I only fully replenish my focus pool by resting?

By default, yes, you can only recover 1 focus point after every use no matter how many you spent. However, you can take class feats that increase this amount. All classes with focus spells have access ...
John Montgomery's user avatar
15 votes

Does the order in which you take Focus Spells change the size of your focus pool?

You have two Focus Points either way This is addressed pretty explicitly in the rules on Focus Points, except with the example of a Cleric with the Champion archetype: For instance, if you were a ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
13 votes
Accepted

How can Psychics regain 2 Focus Points?

There is none, because you have that ability from the start. In the section about psi cantrips and amps, in the part about the refocus activity, it says: If you've spent Focus Points only to amp psi ...
MACN's user avatar
  • 6,428
11 votes
Accepted

What abilities allow for focus points to be regenerated in combat?

In-combat Focus Point Regeneration Techniques (please add more as you come across them!) Classes Champion - Desperate Prayer Cleric - Surging Focus Wizard - Linked Focus Ancestries Gnome - ...
9 votes

What's the earliest a champion can have a focus pool of 3?

As a champion, you can get a focus pool of 3 at level 6 by taking multiclass archetype feats. One possible path: Level 1: Devotion Spells champion class feature, getting one focus point. Level 2: ...
Acacia's user avatar
  • 2,826
8 votes
Accepted

Can a Magus use Expansive Spellstrike with a Conflux spell, and if so what exactly happens?

You cannot use Spellstrike with 1st level Conflux spells Spells that "target a creature or that has an area of a burst, cone, or line" have either a Targets entry or an Area entry. The 1st ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
8 votes
Accepted

What's the earliest a champion can have a focus pool of 3?

This is now possible at Level 4 The Advanced Player's Guide made this possible at level 4 through several methods - the Blessed One path works best for champions with the Tenets of Evil (to avoid ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
7 votes
Accepted

Lingering Composition: Does a Performance critical failure cost the Focus point?

The focus point is not expended. Per the rules on skill descriptions: Most skills include entries for success and failure, as well as descriptions of what occurs on a critical success or a ...
cpcodes's user avatar
  • 4,719
6 votes
Accepted

How can I increase the size of a Focus Pool with a non-class feat?

Natural Ambition If you're looking for a true focus pool increase, Natural Ambition is available starting at level 1 for Humans. It's easily obtainable by level 5 for non-Humans via Adopted Ancestry (...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
6 votes

Lingering Composition: Does a Performance critical failure cost the Focus point?

The player is using the Cast a Spell activity. The rules of the specific spell state that as a part of that activity, they must make a Performance check. The Cast a Spell activity is used to cast ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
5 votes
Accepted

Can Fuse Stance be applied to Wild Winds Stance and e.g. Gorilla Stance?

You can fuse those two, but... Importantly, Fuse Stance specifies that you "can't fuse stances with fundamentally incompatible requirements or restrictions (such as Mountain Stance and Crane ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
5 votes
Accepted

Do Natural Ambition and the two Ki Feats increase your Focus Pool total?

Yes. The text of both of the feats is clear about giving you a focus pool with 1 point in it. However, the call-out box on page 302 of the core rules ("Focus Points From Multiple Sources") ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
3 votes

How can I increase the size of a Focus Pool with a non-class feat?

It takes 2 rare ancestry feats If you have access to and take Fey Influence on level 5 and Glamour on 13, you get 1 Focus Point. Both are rather weak, Multitalented + Psychic Dedication is much more ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
1 vote

Does the order in which you take Focus Spells change the size of your focus pool?

There are circumstances where order matters The example in the OP is the same either way, but the order in which you take the Deity's Domain feat does matter, because it does not explicitly give you a ...
Strill's user avatar
  • 10.6k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible