Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.
46

Yes, but only if the ability forces the enemy to move out of reach using their movement, action, or reaction The rules state that only when the enemy uses their movement, action, or reaction to move out of your reach will they provoke an Opportunity Attack from you. From the PHB: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when ...


40

Easy bit first ... Forbiddance. The vampire can't enter a residence without an invitation from one of the occupants. The vampire can't - other people or circumstances can force a vampire inside. This is allowed because it is not the vampire that is doing it. Further, once in, there is no obligation on the vampire to leave but if it does it cannot ...


37

Yes. The rules do not indicate that the thorn whip spell uses a grapple (which the weird would be immune to). The water weird has no immunity to the effect of thorn whip. Very clever use of a spell to defeat a creature.


33

There are two ways to interpret this feature. As a psychological obstacle. The vampire is incapable of making the decision to walk through the door unless invited. Forcing the vampire against their will would not affect this. However, being forced to act against their nature might cause the vampire some distress, maybe even a strong urge to leave because ...


32

No, you can't provoke opportunity attacks this way. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 74: You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or ...


32

You can't move, since you have zero movement left You can release the target at any time, effectively changing your speed: you can release the target whenever you like (no action required) You will get your normal speed, but you won't get your movement back. In 5e "speed" is not equal "movement". For example, if your walking speed is 30ft, you can move ...


30

No. From page 74 of the Basic Rules (also PHB p.195, or this SRD site): Opportunity Attacks [...] You can avoid provoking an opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t ...


29

It's out of place in 4e, but 5e is a different game and it's not out of place in any way. You're not missing a rule, just importing expectations into the game that aren't part of it. To avoid being pushed off cliffs or onto spikes in 5e, you do what people do: stay far away from cliff edges, pits full of impaling spikes, and other lethal hazards. ...


23

Bets ends her turn in Anne's space The first step of the solution is straightforward out of the PHB, on page 191: Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space. From earlier on that page, it's worth noting that Anne's space was difficult terrain for Bets, but that doesn't really matter now that she's stuck. ...


22

No. From the compendium: Forced Movement Movement that a creature is compelled to do, specifically a pull, a push, or a slide. A creature can be moved in other ways, such as through teleportation, but only pulls, pushes, and slides are technically forced movement.


22

Dissonant Whispers kind of does this already Having recently played a bard in an extended campaign, I got a lot of mileage out of Dissonant Whispers, which uniquely forces movement that provokes opportunity attacks: On a failed save, it takes 3d6 psychic damage and must immediately use its reaction, if available, to move as far as its speed allows away ...


21

Yes, you can generally shove your way out of a grapple If a grappler can't reach their target, the grapple ends. If you shove someone 5' away, they won't be able to reach you anymore and the grapple will end. However, if their reach is larger than 5' they may be able to maintain the grapple on you (e.g. larger creatures). I'm not aware of any rules RAW ...


21

PCs have no reason to move during combat unless you give them one In my game experiences, I have seen very little movement by creatures during combat that wasn't forced upon them. There really isn't any incentive to change position (mostly because moving away/out of reach generates Opportunity Attacks.) What you need to consider are environmental or other ...


21

Bets and Anne are in the same space. PHB 191 states, (emphasis added) Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space. However, Bets did not willingly end her move--she was forced to by the opportunity attack. Since the rule forbidding overlapping spaces only refers to willing movement, it's valid for Bets to ...


21

No, they can not enter. The text for Forbiddance plainly states The vampire can't enter a residence without an invitation from one of the occupants. It doesn't use won't, it uses can't. As in is not able to pass through the threshold. Someone can try and force them through, but they simply can't cross. Your table may wish to allow an entry like this, ...


21

No, pushing distance does not interact with difficult terrain at all Difficult terrain states: Every foot of movement in difficult terrain costs 1 extra foot. However, pushing does not involve the spending of movement. The Open Hand technique says: If it fails [a strength saving throw], you can push it up to 15 feet away from you. The pushed ...


21

Yes, they can be moved The effects you describe do not force the creature to move on its own, but impose an outside force and push it (pulling would work similarly to pushing). These are two separate kinds of "forced movement", the former usually involving mind control or fear effects and the latter involving physical forces, whether summoned, evoked or ...


20

Nothing special happens by RAW There are no official rules describing being on or off a map in 4E. Squares, and what might be in them, are defined as game elements, but maps are not. Technically, DMs that allow movement off map that looks like it should work (e.g. continuing along a forest path) are playing by RAW. If you can move to a location, and it ...


20

A creature pushing themselves goes nowhere. Firstly, to move past concerns about whether this situation can happen: a monster can usually hit itself with its own attacks, by MM1 or 3 rules. They're inside their own range, and their powers usually target "one creature", which includes themselves. Let's assume a creature has successfully targeted itself with ...


20

The spell does what it says it does, and the condition (Grappled) does what it says it does. Victor is flung 10'. The spell moves Victor 10'. Clear enough. Unless something would stop that movement. The condition doesn't cause Victor to be immobile, it reduces his speed to 0'. He's not nailed to the floor or encased in carbonite, it's just hard for him to ...


19

Spells do what they say. The spell doesn't say they take damage if they cannot move 10 feet so they don't. This is in line with falling damage as no damage is taken for falls less than 10 feet. Now, if you use such a spell to push them off a cliff ...


19

As written, this doesn't trigger opportunity attacks. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. Since the spell doesn't use the target's movement, action or reaction, it won't provoke opportunity ...


18

Yes, Bigby's hand can move in any direction even while grappling Jeremy Crawford has clarified: Q: is Bigby's Hand actually flying e.g. is it's movement speed = flying speed? The spell doesn't seem to describe it as neither "walking" nor "flying" A: Bigby's hand doesn't have a speed. As the spellcaster, you can magically move the hand in any ...


18

Yes, you can shove an ally Shoving The rules for shoving say Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature ... The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. (PHB, p. 195) There is nothing here to suggest that the target must explicitly be an enemy. Your ally is a creature, so ...


17

RAW, spells do only what they say. Per Jeremy Crawford: A spell's text details the spell's effects—the only thing the spell does. Any additional effects are up to the DM. Twitter Since this comes from Jeremy Crawford, it counts as an official ruling. You can also find more quotes and discussion about this concept at this question. Spider Climb does ...


17

You don't have to push The wording on Repelling Blast is (emphasis mine): When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. --- Player's Handbook, p. 111 The can here functions as an optional, meaning you are free not to do it. If that word had been omitted you would have no ...


16

The is no general rule (that I can find) regarding involuntary movement. However, Jeremy Crawford - one of the lead designers for 5e and official go-to-guy for rules clarification - has said: When a spell's description uses "enter" in relation to an AoE, the entering has to be voluntary only if the text says so.


16

The rules on Grappled condition seem to answer the first part of your question : Grappled [...] The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell. (Player's Handbook, p. 290) So that's what happens to the ...


16

Even with Combat Reflexes, a given event provokes at most one attack of opportunity from each character That is, if someone takes an attack of opportunity for someone moving in their threatened area, they don’t get to make any more attacks of opportunity for moving around in the threatened area even if the target continues moving. See the rules for attacks ...


15

No, there's no strength limit to forced movement. Pull 2 means pull 2, regardless of the size or weight of the target. This means your players could also use that forced movement on a gargantuan dragon - it's up to you to work out how that works, and really, if they're up against a gargantuan dragon, they need all the help they can get. A lot of sources of ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible