Hot answers tagged

82 votes

Why can a Gnome grapple a Goliath?

D&D is a terrible reality simulator. The problem that you're having here is that, in real life, most people who are 7 feet tall are going to be faster, stronger, and all-around more physically ...
DuckTapeAl's user avatar
  • 48.6k
69 votes

Why can a Gnome grapple a Goliath?

"Grappling" is just a word. What matters is the effect. Sure, it's clearly impossible for a little gnome to grapple a goliath in the conventional sense of the word. But in DnD, "grappled" is simply ...
pokep's user avatar
  • 6,922
60 votes
Accepted

Can a monk, falling with an enemy they have grappled, use their slow fall ability to reduce their falling damage and not that of the enemy?

Yes, because Slow Fall is just a figurative name As clarified in the Sage Advice Compendium, in response to a question about mage armor: Some spells and class features have figurative, not literal, ...
Ruse's user avatar
  • 18.1k
55 votes
Accepted

How can I adjudicate a character attempting a "shield crush" attack to pin a creature?

Prone was an excellent choice You said that the cleric wanted "to stop [the ghoul from] hitting people and make it easier to hit." The prone condition has the following two applicable ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
43 votes

Does this lake event in the "Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden" adventure allow a grapple as an opportunity attack?

These rules are for that encounter, not general. This is a great example of specific over general! The rules around that encounter for knuckleheads are specific and only relevant for that activity. ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
42 votes
Accepted

Why can a Gnome grapple a Goliath?

I'd like to take a different approach to answering this question: Numbers! Both races have the same limits on their strength, and athletics, but it's hard to imagine why. Presumably, this is to ...
Joel Harmon's user avatar
40 votes

Can I drag a grappled creature and release it after moving half of my speed, then move the remainder of my speed?

You can't move, since you have zero movement left You can release the target at any time, effectively changing your speed: you can release the target whenever you like (no action required) You will ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 67.2k
39 votes
Accepted

Can a character with Extra Attack replace multiple attacks with Grapple special attacks, as part of the same Attack action?

The quoted section refers to the fact that one grapple attempt uses up only one attack and not a whole Attack Action. Thus multiple attempts to grapple can be made in a turn if you have Extra Attacks....
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.5k
39 votes
Accepted

Who wins a Grapple contest if the checks tie?

Tie results in status quo See contest rules in Player's Handbook, page 174: If the contest results in a tie, the situation remains the same as it was before the contest. Thus, one contestant ...
kviiri's user avatar
  • 54k
35 votes
Accepted

Do you need a free hand to Shove?

No, you do not need a free hand to shove Your own research into the description of the special Shove attack indicates that it does not require a free hand, while other special attack actions do ...
Upper_Case's user avatar
  • 21.7k
33 votes
Accepted

Does carrying/dragging a willing/unconscious creature cause half movement as per the grapple rules?

This is a slightly foggy area...but thankfully, Jeremy Crawford (official voice of rules for WotC) has weighed in on this in several (indirect) ways... Q: what are the rules for creatures carrying ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.5k
32 votes
Accepted

Does attempting to escape a grapple cost an action, or just a single attack within the Attack action?

A grappled creature can use its action to escape. It says an action, so it requires an action. If it could be done as one of several attacks, it would say so, just like it says for making a grapple. ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
31 votes
Accepted

Can you grapple a swarm?

No. But you've read the stat blocks correctly. The Monster Manual errata provide that "every swarm is immune to being grappled" as a condition immunity.
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 101k
30 votes
Accepted

How can a character escape after being engulfed by a shambling mound?

Every version of DnD sacrifices simulation for simplicity. Escaping a Grapple usually lookes like this (Monster Manual 11): A creature grappled by the monster can use its action to try to escape. ...
András's user avatar
  • 63.6k
30 votes
Accepted

Can Bigby's Hand move creatures that are Grappled into the air?

Yes, Bigby's hand can move in any direction even while grappling Jeremy Crawford has clarified: Q: is Bigby's Hand actually flying e.g. is it's movement speed = flying speed? The spell doesn't seem ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.2k
30 votes
Accepted

Is grabbing an opponent's arms to prevent casting within the "scope" 5e's combat?

It's not in the rules, but DMs have the latitude to allow it. As you point out, I couldn't find anywhere in the rules to support an action like that. However, the system allows for DMs to make ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.5k
30 votes

How do I grapple/drag an unconscious ally? Does he make a contested check against mine?

There is no need for a contest. Grappling is a contest (PHB p. 195): Battle often involves pitting your prowess against that of your foe. Such a challenge is represented by a contest. This section ...
Bloodcinder's user avatar
  • 30.1k
29 votes
Accepted

Can a prone grappler both stand and move the same turn?

There are two different things happening here: your movement speed being halved, and spending half your movement speed. These work differently, and the order matters. The end result is that the ...
SevenSidedDie's user avatar
29 votes
Accepted

Does grappling count as a hit?

No, a successful grapple attempt does not count as a hit. Although a grapple attempt is called a "special melee attack," it uses a contested ability check (a contest) instead of an attack ...
Bloodcinder's user avatar
  • 30.1k
29 votes
Accepted

Can Mirror Image still work on someone already grappling the caster?

To quote a section of Mirror Image: A creature is unaffected by this spell if ... it relies on senses other than sight In your situation the "grapple" to me (if done prior to the casting of Mirror ...
Sh4d0wsPlyr's user avatar
  • 6,935
29 votes

Does advantage on Strength checks grant advantage on grappling?

Advantage on Strength checks gives advantage on grapples The rule for grappling says: ...you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll: a Strength (Athletics) ...
Deltatheduck's user avatar
  • 2,110
28 votes
Accepted

Why does nobody understand the grapple rules?

Almost-certainly not a comprehensive list, but some issues that come to mind for me immediately: They are rarely used. Grappling is a fairly ineffective tactic, requiring specialized feats and at ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 349k
27 votes

Does a Grapple or Shove count as a "melee attack" for the third benefit of the Mobile feat?

Yes, grapples and shoves count as melee attacks for the Mobile feat, according to RAW The third benefit of the Mobile feat says (PHB, p. 168; emphasis mine): When you make a melee attack against a ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.2k
27 votes

If you have the Extra Attack feature, can you attack once, then ready your second attack as a grapple/shove?

This does not work In order to ready an action, you have to use your entire Action to take the special "Ready Action" option. But in order to make your first attack, you must have already used to ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 80.7k
27 votes
Accepted

Can you really not move between grapples/shoves?

You gain the ability to split your move before you decide to grapple/shove The sections on grappling and shoving both include the sentence: If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
26 votes
Accepted

Is It Possible To Lift A Grappled Opponent Multiple Times On The Same Turn?

No, it's not. When lifting the other character you are either taking an action, or you interacting with an object -- depending on your DM's rulings. If the DM rules that the pile driver is an attack (...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
26 votes

Can you shove your way out of a grapple?

Yes, you can generally shove your way out of a grapple If a grappler can't reach their target, the grapple ends. If you shove someone 5' away, they won't be able to reach you anymore and the grapple ...
Kyle W's user avatar
  • 3,729
26 votes
Accepted

Can a Grappled Monk viably use Open Hand Technique to end the grapple?

You can do it! The Grappled condition does not prevent you from attacking, it only restricts your speed, and can be broken by pushing someone away (third point): Grappled A grappled creature’s speed ...
firion's user avatar
  • 8,600
26 votes

What balance problems arise by allowing grappling as an option for an Opportunity Attack?

This steps on the toes of the Sentinel Feat The problem with allowing a grapple as an Opportunity Attack is that it allows a character to completely prevent movement away. The Opportunity Attack as it ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible