Given how dangerous a young dragon's breath attack can be to low level players, I think you should let them do it.
If anything having a couple of cannon fodder NPCs can help liven up the experience should they get blown away.
Make sure they require a considerable sum of money to be hired for such a dangerous task. If they survive, then they might covet ...
This is how skills are supposed to work!
If you are in a situation where there is only one person doing something, and they are rolling a single skill check, then yes, this is how it's supposed to work. Giving help is a natural thing and should be used in situations like this. There is no reason to prevent it unless the task is clearly something that's not ...
Not exactly. The rules on Working Together in order to give advantage are as follows:
A character can only provide help if the task is one that
he or she could attempt alone. For example, trying to
open a lock requires proficiency with thieves’ tools, so a
character who lacks that proficiency can’t help another character in that task. Moreover, a ...
No, it's not a loophole. On their turn, PCs either Attack or Help
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one
action. (Basic Rules, p. 72)
Actions in Combat
Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Ready,
Search, Use an Object (Basic Rules, p. 74 & 75)
Pick one, unless a game ...
No and yes.
The short story is that you can't act out of turn unless you have a specific feature or rule that allows you to do so. You do have a few options for what you want to do, however:
The Protection Fighting style (available to a few classes, namely Fighters and Paladins at level 2) allows you, if holding a shield, to use your reaction to give ...
It is not
you can aid a friendly creature [ in attacking a creature ] within 5 feet of you
you can aid a friendly creature in attacking [ a creature within 5 feet of you ]
You must be within 5' of the target of the attack you are helping with.
Yes, familiar can be used for gaining advantage for allies.
From Find Familiar spell description (PHB, p240), emphasis mine:
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always
obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own
initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't
attack, but it can take other actions as normal.
Help is listed as ...
Per the SRD,
Adventurers can pay nonplayer characters to assist them or act on their behalf in a variety of circumstances. Most such hirelings have fairly ordinary skills, while others are masters of a craft or art, and a few are experts with specialized adventuring skills.
So there is nothing stopping PCs from hiring NPCs to help with the battle. Just ...
What you are asking for is to be able to perform an action before combat begins. That's effectively granting a free, or even a surprise, round to that creature.
Whether you are using an Action to Help, to cast a spell, or anything else is still effectively granting a free action when no other creature gets one.
This is really the ...
One option is to use the Limited Wish to cast Reincarnate, which creates a new body. Granted, you might be getting back a Paladin that looks different from the original, but at least he'll be back alive.
The Working Together rule suggests that the human won't be much help
A character can only provide help if the task is one that he or she
could attempt alone. (PHB p. 175)
... if the perception check relies purely on sight. For that case, it's difficult to argue that the human can be of help to the elf. Granted, the human could try alone at ...
You must be within 5ft of the Enemy
As it states:
You feint, distract the target...
The action of helping is performed by affecting the enemy and not the ally. It could be ruled that either would work but the RAW state you should be within 5ft of the enemy.
It's much easier to distract the enemy you are near than you grab your ally's sword and swing it ...
Let me introduce you to a hireling by the name of bromwyn*.
The adventures decided to hire some help to hunt down the fierce dragon, but none of the mercenaries wanted to. They feared that they would be used as dragon bait -- all save bromwyn, a kid from the slums of Metrocity* who had left the big city to escape prejudice and make a new life for herself. ...
You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet. - PHB p190
Movement can be spread out over the length of your turn as you wish. You can even move, take an action, move some more, take a bonus action, ...
Yes - it only matters where the enemy is at the moment you take the Help action
As already clarified in your linked tweet, it doesn't matter if you move away from a target after distracting it - your allies still get advantage on the first attack against the creature - so it's obviously not the case that you need to remain standing next to the target for an ...
Try basing the advantage described for assistance on what the character does without allowing the generic of "I assist" to work.
Overall, yes, people can assist with many things. I would say some things do need a modicum of training, and that should be based on personal experience.
If something is completely based on perception, then assistance ...
You seem to be misunderstanding the meaning of attempt
To attempt something does not means you have to be able to succeed. A character with a Strength of 2 can attempt to kick down a door with a strength DC of 25. They will fail but they can still attempt it. Nothing makes the act of trying impossible, nor is it so absurd that a roll is pointless once other ...
Sneak Attack says:
Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll.
The Help action says:
If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack
roll is made with advantage.
Sneak Attack can be used if the attack roll is made with advantage (or an enemy ...
The Player's Handbook says on page 192, under "Actions in Combat" (emphasis mine):
You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the ...
By RAW, you're right
You've cited the relevant rule already. If a character doesn't have the Strength to lift/drag the boulder (see Lifting and Carrying, PHB p.176), there's no way they're going to get it moving, and that falls into the 'debatable' category of being able to attempt the action, at best.
But clearly that makes no sense
Lifting or pushing a ...
For ability checks, target ally. In combat, distract enemy instead of targeting ally.
According to the 5e Dungeon Master's Screen Reincarnated, it's both.
You help one creature with a task, giving that creature advantage on the next ability check it makes for that task. Or you distract one creature within 5 feet of you, and the next attack roll that an ...
A creature can't Help a turret
The Help action states it is used to aid creatures (emphasis mine):
Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you.
And the artificer turret is not considered a creature, but an object:
The turret is a magical object that occupies its space and that has crablike legs.
Helping is straightforward in most circumstances, but it can get complicated
There are two primary ways that you can assist someone in D&D 5e:
Helping them and thereby giving them advantage on the roll (which is the equivalent of a +5 modifier on the roll in general)
Participating instead in a group check (for two participants this equates to "each of ...
The Help action clearly states
You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task.
Even if you read it separated from the second paragraph
Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you.
Here, Crawford clearly states that "friendly creature" referes to someone else, not yourself, and ...
This is a "My Guy Syndrome" question. Our page for My Guy Syndrome is pretty good and is worth reading.
Briefly: roleplaying is a tool for having fun, and if your roleplaying is causing you to not have fun, you shouldn't do it (or should do it differently).
Also: you're using phrases like "my character wants X" but remember that you are deciding what your ...
A creature can't Help if it couldn't do it alone
The rules on giving assistance (and thus advantage) to skill checks are found on page 175 of the Player's Handbook, under the heading "Working Together" (bold added):
Sometimes two or more characters team up to attempt a task. The
character who’s leading the effort—or the one with the highest ability
The Help action used in combat only says the creature must be within 5'. This applies at the time you take your action.
The link you provided confirms that it doesn't matter if you move away afterwards, so by extension it doesn't matter if the creature moves away either. (It's all relative, as Einstein would surely agree!)
The Help action also says:
At the time of this answer, the Raven Queen patron is an Unearthed Arcana option and so it is subject to change if and when it is ever released in an official addition.
Given this preface, yes, you can use the raven as you describe. However, the raven has its own initiative which means the advantage granted by its Help action could be used up by ...
Strictly speaking, no, it is not mechanically correct. Hitting the roll +bond to Aid or Interfere only gives someone +1 to a roll they are shortly going to make, not a roll they've made already. The usage of "take +1" is even more immediate than "take +1 forward", and it's clearer in Apocalypse World where the help or interfere move adds the rider "with a ...