The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Hot answers tagged

35

No, it's not a loophole. On their turn, PCs either Attack or Help Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. (Basic Rules, p. 72) Actions in Combat Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Ready, Search, Use an Object (Basic Rules, p. 74 & 75) Pick one, unless a game ...


34

No and yes. The short story is that you can't act out of turn unless you have a specific feature or rule that allows you to do so. You do have a few options for what you want to do, however: The Protection Fighting style (available to a few classes, namely Fighters and Paladins at level 2) allows you, if holding a shield, to use your reaction to give ...


32

It is not you can aid a friendly creature [ in attacking a creature ] within 5 feet of you but you can aid a friendly creature in attacking [ a creature within 5 feet of you ] You must be within 5' of the target of the attack you are helping with.


24

One option is to use the Limited Wish to cast Reincarnate, which creates a new body. Granted, you might be getting back a Paladin that looks different from the original, but at least he'll be back alive.


20

Yes - it only matters where the enemy is at the moment you take the Help action As already clarified in your linked tweet, it doesn't matter if you move away from a target after distracting it - your allies still get advantage on the first attack against the creature - so it's obviously not the case that you need to remain standing next to the target for an ...


18

You seem to be misunderstanding the meaning of attempt To attempt something does not means you have to be able to succeed. A character with a Strength of 2 can attempt to kick down a door with a strength DC of 25. They will fail but they can still attempt it. Nothing makes the act of trying impossible, nor is it so absurd that a roll is pointless once other ...


17

The Player's Handbook says on page 192, under "Actions in Combat" (emphasis mine): Help You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the ...


17

Sneak Attack says: Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The Help action says: If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage. Sneak Attack can be used if the attack roll is made with advantage (or an enemy ...


15

If a corpse is considered an item by your DM (I've seen it go either way) you might be permitted to use Mending on the corpse with the collected Head Bits prior to a Raise Dead.


15

By RAW, you're right You've cited the relevant rule already. If a character doesn't have the Strength to lift/drag the boulder (see Lifting and Carrying, PHB p.176), there's no way they're going to get it moving, and that falls into the 'debatable' category of being able to attempt the action, at best. But clearly that makes no sense Lifting or pushing a ...


14

A creature can't Help a turret The Help action states it is used to aid creatures (emphasis mine): Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. And the artificer turret is not considered a creature, but an object: The turret is a magical object that occupies its space and that has crablike legs. Being ...


14

Helping is straightforward in most circumstances, but it can get complicated There are two primary ways that you can assist someone in D&D 5e: Helping them and thereby giving them advantage on the roll (which is the equivalent of a +5 modifier on the roll in general) Participating instead in a group check (for two participants this equates to "each of ...


13

A creature can't Help if it couldn't do it alone The rules on giving assistance (and thus advantage) to skill checks are found on page 175 of the Player's Handbook, under the heading "Working Together" (bold added): Sometimes two or more characters team up to attempt a task. The character who’s leading the effort—or the one with the highest ability ...


13

The Help action used in combat only says the creature must be within 5'. This applies at the time you take your action. The link you provided confirms that it doesn't matter if you move away afterwards, so by extension it doesn't matter if the creature moves away either. (It's all relative, as Einstein would surely agree!) The Help action also says: ...


13

This is a "My Guy Syndrome" question. Our page for My Guy Syndrome is pretty good and is worth reading. Briefly: roleplaying is a tool for having fun, and if your roleplaying is causing you to not have fun, you shouldn't do it (or should do it differently). Also: you're using phrases like "my character wants X" but remember that you are deciding what your ...


13

Yes... At the time of this answer, the Raven Queen patron is an Unearthed Arcana option and so it is subject to change if and when it is ever released in an official addition. Given this preface, yes, you can use the raven as you describe. However, the raven has its own initiative which means the advantage granted by its Help action could be used up by ...


11

Nothing prevents one from holding a readied action to assist a certain character on that characters turn.


10

RAW, I believe that the Unseen Servant cannot take Actions, but can drop plates. This spell creates an invisible, mindless, shapeless, Medium force that performs simple tasks at your command until the spell ends. The spell does not say that it's a creature, or other being capable of taking actions. Things do what they say they do; note that the Find ...


10

My Solution My own solution is to add a caveat to the the help action: If the creature with the highest ability modifier can not complete the task alone, then the help action becomes a "group effort", becoming a group check without advantage. How? Each participating character performs a Help action, but at the end of the round a group check is ...


8

Yes, absolutely. Narratively, the Help action can be explained in a large number of different ways, but mechanically, it is simple. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the start of your next turn. ...


7

I couldn't find a yo!-gimme-a-hand-with-this mechanic in Macho Women with Guns, 2nd Edition or in the indices of GURPS, 3rd Edition or 4th Edition. (However, given the volume of material available for these latter games, I imagine such a mechanic exists in a cleverly-named a sidebar.) The Hero System—another 3d6-roll-under system best known as the engine ...


6

No From the rules on crafting an item (XGtE, p. 128): A character needs to be proficient with the tools needed to craft an item and have access to the appropriate equipment. Everyone who collaborates needs to have the appropriate tool proficiency. An unseen servant isn't listed as having any skill proficiencies. At best, you could argue that it might ...


6

Yes, if... If you build your character around protecting your teammates. Paladin Oath Of The Crown (Sword Coast Adventurers Guide, p. 132-133) Divine Allegiance Starting at 7th level, when a creature within 5ft of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to magically substitute your own health for that of the target creature, causing that ...


6

If you didn't plan ahead, then no, you usually can't. There are abilities that allow you to protect others. Defensive spells that can be cast on an ally (I completely swung a recent combat with a simple +1 to AC from a Warding Bond spell), actions you can take to give a foe Disadvantage on their attacks, etc. If you didn't do any of that, though, there ...


5

As described in @Szega's answer (emphasis mine): you can aid a friendly creature in attacking [ a creature within 5 feet of you ] To help in attacking (doing a feint), you have to be within 5 feet of the enemy, not 5 feet of your ally. Timing-wise, the familiar goes into range of 5 ft to the target, uses the Help action to distract, and then moves out ...


4

The mechanic for this in GURPS 4e is the "Complementary Skill roll." This is sadly not in the Basic Set, but is in several supplements, including Action 2: Exploits and Social Engineering. The basic skill you're using is the master skill, and a different skill that can help is the complementary skill. You roll the complementary skill first. Success on that ...


4

In general Working Together Sometimes two or more characters team up to attempt a task. The character who's leading the effort--or the one with the highest ability modifier--can make an ability check with advantage, reflecting the help provided by the other characters. In combat, this requires the Help action. A character can only provide help ...


3

I would not allow this ... but you aren't wrong to have done so. My reasoning is that bonus actions are very tightly restricted compared to actions. Off the top of my head I know of no bonus action that allows another person to get advantage on an attack roll. Help is specifically an action - that is if you choose to give one ally one attack with ...


2

An owl can grant Advantage / Help during a flyby in combat The idea of using the owl has to do with feints / distraction to grant advantage on one attack. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make your ally’s attack more effective. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with ...


2

Most of the other answers approach this in terms of how to use Reactions to get what you want, but it may be better to try to make sure that it will be your turn first so that you can take actions before your opponent. For example having the alert feat would prevent you from being surprised, and high initiative could let you act before the enemy archer. On ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible