Hot answers tagged

27

You can not Help your Bigby's Hand: it is an object, not a creature. The description of the spell says (emphasisi mine): [...] The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn't fill its space. while the ...


26

You are trying to kill a fly with a cannon. This answer established that when 3 people make a group check, you need two successes to call it a successful group check. We don't need a deep statistical analysis or AnyDice programs here. A simple heuristic proof sketch should be sufficient to establish that for \$k\$ odd, \$k+1\$ has a higher probability of ...


20

Use Cutting Words Beside the matter of the Hand being an object, not a creature, per Eddymage's excellent answer, Cutting Words as an option is a similar but different way to peel this onion. This complement to the Hand's shove costs a resource, unlike Help, and does not involve rolling two dice and choosing the better result. Cutting Words When a creature ...


17

Use group checks when an individual failure would mean the group fails. First, the rules for group checks: When a number of individuals are trying to accomplish something as a group, the DM might ask for a group ability check. In such a situation, the characters who are skilled at a particular task help cover those who aren't. To make a group ability check, ...


12

Yes you're right but I'll try to explain why The TLDR is that with an even number and its next odd number you have the same number of failures accepted. Party of 4 can have at most 2 failures but so can a party of 5. This doesn't outpace the increase in options you get with more party members. There are two different parts of a binomial distrubution at play ...


11

This is correct The cause of this oddity is the rounding. Specifically here we are rounding up the number of successes necessary. So, let's look at it from number of attempts to get enough successes and starting from say 5. We then need 3 successes with 5 attempts. But since this is already rounded up, getting a 6th participant gets us an additional attempt, ...


5

Help! Find familiar states: A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal. One such action is the Help action: Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make your ally's attack more effective. If your ally attacks the ...


3

Now, 2 people are always going to be better than one because the rolling mechanism is identical to advantage (i.e. identical to one helping the other). But for 4 to be worse than 1; the target has to be at least 17. Is this analysis correct? Yes. As other answers have noted, adding an extra member to an odd-sized group can never reduce the group's chance of ...


3

When you help allies with attack - you don't target allies. You target creature to distract - which is obvious from the answer to first question you've linked. So, Geralt can't target allies to help them with attacks, he targets Tiamat and distracts her, giving his allies advantage on their attacks. Normally, rules for using 'help' say that first attack of ...


3

This would be a house rule, not something supported by existing lore/rules In L5R spells are specific rituals that operate in a specific way. This is why the assisted casting is written into Bonds of Ningen-do instead of having its own section. This isn't to say that variant spells couldn't exist (or be created by the players) that would allow ritual casting,...


2

You and the familiar don't need to be consecutive in the initiative order or operating on the exact same initiative to get advantage from the Help action. The last section on the Help action says: Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make ...


2

No, this does not work Precise Strike says: Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat are flanking the same the creature, you deal an additional 1d6 points of precision damage with each successful melee attack [...] There is no argument about whether or not you count as your own ally, but you don't count as two people. As you can see, the Precise ...


1

Strictly according to RAW, any given spell is cast by one shugenja. It is that shugenja's prayer to the elemental Kami and whether or not that prayer is answered. Some ways to amp a spell include Take "Center" stance for a round before casting School abilities (i.e. Dragon or Phoenix Bushi) that can lower casting TNs School abilities that grant ...


1

They don't work together. The FAQ for counting as your own ally says: Ally: Do you count as your own ally? You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible. Thus, "your allies" almost always means the same as "you and your allies." Given that Wild Flanking says: When you are ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible