Skip to main content
36 votes
Accepted

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Yes There is no reason you can't resurrect the party member without its spirit. You can cause its spirit to rise from its corpse as a specter, the statistics for which are in the Monster Manual. ...
David Coffron's user avatar
34 votes
Accepted

Do Hexblade warlocks choose their spells from the Hexblade spell list or the warlock spell list?

So first things first - All warlocks can choose the spells they learn from the warlock spell list regardless of their subclass or patron. The Hexblade's Expanded Spell List feature says: The ...
Karan Shishoo's user avatar
29 votes
Accepted

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

Yes. If you can summon it as your pact of the blade weapon, it counts. Emmet Byrne @Emmetation Hello @JeremyECrawford! Does this line from the Hexblade mean that if you have Pact of the Blade ...
Luke's user avatar
  • 5,992
28 votes
Accepted

Does a Hexblade warlock get Hex Warrior's Cha bonus with a versatile weapon without Pact of the Blade?

Yes, the effect still applies Using a weapon with two hands does not automatically give a weapon the "two-handed" property which is a specific property of certain weapons (SRD p.65): Two-­Handed: ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.4k
24 votes

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Yes, if spirit = soul Let's look at what this specter is: Starting at 6th level, you can curse the soul of a person you slay, temporarily binding it to your service. When you slay a humanoid, ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
24 votes
Accepted

Do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature and the warlock's Pact of the Blade feature refer to 2 different weapons, or the same weapon?

Yes, they can be two separate weapons Based on your question, I'm assuming you are pulling your Hexblade class out of Unearthed Arcana, instead of Xanathar's Guide. XGTE adds this clarification: If ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k
24 votes

Do Hexblade warlocks with Pact of the Blade ignore the limits on the type of weapons summoned?

No, but there are ways to get a longbow Hexblade warlocks do not get to simply ignore this rule, as nothing in their description says they can. However, the Eldritch Invocation Improved Pact Weapon ...
Smart_TJ's user avatar
  • 6,502
22 votes

What ability score does a Hexblade's Pact Weapon use for attack and damage when wielded by another character?

You're right: only the Hexblade can benefit from their own Hex Warrior feature It's simply stated in the text you quoted - when you attack with the affected weapon, you can use your charisma bonus. ...
Carcer's user avatar
  • 66.1k
22 votes

Does a warlock have to use Hex Warrior every day?

Hex Warrior on a normal weapon Yes, the player must use this ability after every long rest if you want to keep using the benefits. As a DM, you can allow the player to just do it every day without ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
18 votes

Can a Hexblade warlock use their Accursed Specter feature as a pseudo-Speak with Dead spell?

Per rules as written, the specter knows nothing of their previous life. The relevant part of the description of the Accursed Specter feature tells us that: When you slay a humanoid, you can cause its ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 29.9k
17 votes

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

Yes And the meaning of type has no bearing on the answer The rules state that: ...this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type. (Emphasis mine)...
Lovell's user avatar
  • 5,627
15 votes
Accepted

Is the Warlock's Hexblade Curse unaffected by an Antimagic Field?

Hexblade's Curse is not magical so it works in an Antimagic Field From the Sage Advice Compendium we can see when a feature is considered magical (p. 17-18, "Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?"...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.4k
15 votes

Do the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature and the warlock's Pact of the Blade feature refer to 2 different weapons, or the same weapon?

They can be two different weapons. Hex Warrior (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p.55) If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
15 votes
Accepted

How does a Warlock with Pact of the Blade visually appear to fight?

Pact of the Blade does not use Charisma Pact of the Blade says: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

Relentless hex and invisible target

You must be able to see the cursed target. From Xanathar's Guide to Everthing p.57: Relentless Hex Prerequisite: 7th level, hex spell or a warlock feature that curses Your curse creates a temporary ...
StarHawk's user avatar
  • 1,741
12 votes
Accepted

Does the Hex Warrior feature allow a Hexblade warlock to create a ranged pact weapon?

Hex Warrior does not change the types of weapons you can conjure with The Pact of the Blade feature. Nothing in Hex Warrior indicates that it changes what weapons are available for Pact of the Blade. ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
10 votes

Can a Hexblade kill a party member, raise their spectre, use it for under 1 minute and then have the cleric revivify?

Your party member can be revived The spell can't return an undead creature to life. This is not a line of text from the Revivify spell. This is the only resurrection spell I'm aware of that does ...
Axoren's user avatar
  • 11.5k
10 votes
Accepted

Is a Hexblade Warlock's weapon their arcane focus by default?

A Hex Weapon isn't an arcane focus automatically The Hex Warrior class feature (XGtE, p. 55) says: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
10 votes

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

Yes, you can use two handed pact weapon with CHA modifier "Type" refers to a single entry in the Weapons table such as Sickle or Maul. Interestingly enough, the Player's Handbook never ...
SilentAxe's user avatar
  • 1,471
10 votes

As a Hexblade warlock, does a Finesse weapon use CHA as a damage modifier?

Yes, Hex Warrior can use the warlock's Charisma modifier for both attack and damage rolls. The Hex Warrior feature states the following: When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.6k
10 votes

Can your Hexblade patron be your pact weapon even though it's sentient?

The Hexblade is the warlock, not the weapon Let's start by reading the Hexblade description carefully. From Xanathar's Guide to Everything, page 55: You have made your pact with a mysterious entity ...
sptrashcan's user avatar
  • 4,425
10 votes
Accepted

How to dual wield as a hexblade warlock

You need Pact of the Blade. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon […]. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
9 votes

As a Hexblade Pact of the Blade warlock, if I use my pact weapon bow as an improvised melee weapon, which benefits carry over?

When you make a melee attack with your pact bow, it counts as an Improvised Weapon that you are proficient with, uses Str or Cha (your choice) as the modifier, and all the pact features still apply, ...
Apocalisp's user avatar
  • 5,552
9 votes

Does a Hexblade Warlock's Hex Warrior feature allow them to use Thirsting Blade on a non-pact weapon?

Thirsting blade says that you can attack twice with your pact weapon. Even if a weapon acts similarly to a pact weapon, if it is not a pact weapon, then it is not a pact weapon, so you can't use ...
Smart_TJ's user avatar
  • 6,502
9 votes
Accepted

Should Vow of Enmity or Hexblade's Curse be deployed first?

Vow of Enmity at low levels, eventually shifting to Hexblade's Curse at the highest levels Firstly, a few observations about how these two abilities compare to each other in various circumstances. ...
Carcer's user avatar
  • 66.1k
8 votes

How powerful would a pair of pact weapons be?

There is some precedent for this (Includes some information from Austin's answer) There are two main considerations that involve your pact weapon. Thirsting Blade Prerequisite: 5th level, Pact of ...
David Coffron's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Does a spell attack trigger extra damage from Hexblade's Curse?

Yes, it does. You gain a bonus to damage rolls against the cursed target. The bonus equals your proficiency bonus. So long as you roll for damage you get the bonus. The bonus applies to each ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 212k
8 votes

Can I use Hex (Spell) and Hexblade's Curse in 1 round

Generally, no You only get one bonus action per turn and you cannot use your action to do something that takes a bonus action. There are no spells, feats, or class features that can bypass this ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.7k
8 votes

If I cast the Friends cantrip on an enemy, can I Hex/Hexblade's Curse them without provoking combat?

First of all, you cannot cast friends on a creature that is hostile to you. For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.7k
8 votes

Relentless hex and invisible target

You must be able to see the target The text of the Relentless Hex ability actually has as the last line: To teleport in this way, you must be able to see the cursed target. This is consistent on D&...
Carcer's user avatar
  • 66.1k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible