We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
49

When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing. The object remains real for 1 minute...The object can't deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone. From the definition ...


46

Eldritch Sight (PHB 110) allows you cast detect magic without expending a spell slot An illusion is magic, so they will detect its presence automatically within 30', and will also be able to use an action to see the aura around the specific source and determine the school of magic, per the Detect Magic spell. Note, the illusion itself won't show an aura,...


40

No, but it can provide obscurement. Cover requires a solid object. Examples from the definition: Walls, trees, creatures, and other obstacles can provide cover during combat, making a target more difficult to harm. The game mechanic that represents the sight-blocking effect of something like an illusion is obscurement. A heavily obscured area--such ...


40

The Thaumaturgy cantrip allows you to alter the appearance of your eyes, though not your entire face. One of the effects of Thaumaturgy is to alter the appearance of your eyes for 1 minute. You can dismiss the effect with an action if 1 minute is too long for you. If that's enough, it could work. Thaumaturgy is not a Warlock cantrip, but you can gain ...


38

From your question I get that player in question used Illusory Reality to make illusionary tarrasque real. However it is impossible by RAW: When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. [...] The object can't deal damage or otherwise ...


37

It is not possible with minor illusion, as with that You create a sound or an image of an object (PHB 260) and neither vacuum, nor air is usually considered an object. (There are discussions about this, looking them up is left to the reader.) Nor could you use mirage arcane, as that explicitly states, that The spell doesn't disguise, conceal, or add ...


35

RAW this should be fine Given that, as you say, the illusion of armour, then the armour being made real, do not 'harm' the enemy, then there's no reason why this would contradict the emboldened part of your quote: "The object can't deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone". The fact that the enemy wizard is now unable to cast spells is simply a side ...


33

There are several methods for defeating illusions such as Disguise Self. Outside of the two methods listed in the spell (succeeding an Investigation check and physical interaction), any creature with access to Truesight automatically detects illusions as false. The True Seeing spell gives you that ability. True Seeing: This spell gives the willing ...


31

It won't work, because the character believes it's already real The text of the spell states, (emphasis added) While a target is affected by the spell, the target treats the phantasm as if it were real. The target rationalizes any illogical outcomes from interacting with the phantasm. This means that the illusionist believes that the illusion that he/...


31

Fog Isn't An Object As has been stated elsewhere, gasses and liquids are not considered objects. So fog would not be a valid image created by Minor Illusion. There could be some edge cases where physical inspection might not reveal an illusion (for example, an illusion of a brick in a wall painted green, cast a nanometer in front of a real brick in a wall ...


31

Your specific descriptions of the Wizard's use of Illusory Reality is not supported by RAW By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that ...


29

To quote a section of Mirror Image: A creature is unaffected by this spell if ... it relies on senses other than sight In your situation the "grapple" to me (if done prior to the casting of Mirror Image) would not affect the grappler (since he can rely on touch instead of sight).


29

No Consider this text from the Major Image spell: Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC. If a creature discerns the ...


28

Officially, it's entirely up to the DM. The rule only says that it cannot harm anyone. It doesn't specify how to rule it, and there are no general rules covering this case. In cases where there is no rule in D&D 5th edition, or the rule is ambiguous, the DM adjudicates it. If you're the DM, it's entirely up to you how this works. The only thing it can'...


25

Definitely not. Merely knowing that someone is an illusionist does not reveal their illusions. Players and NPCs might become suspicious and doubtful if they discover that an illusionist is around, and they might check everything more carefully, but they don't automatically know what's an illusion and what's not. Each illusion spell contains specific ...


23

No, it can't heal the target. The damage dealt by a phantasmal force illusion is psychic; the target only perceives that it is a type appropriate to the illusion. The target's mind is what's harmed. Therefore, a creature's skin won't be cut just because it believes hard enough. Conversely, there's also no mechanism by which a creature could mentally heal ...


23

There is actually a single (5th-level) spell that does this - Seeming. It changes the appearances of as many creatures as you can pack into a 30ft radius around you. There are some limitations on the extent of the disguise, but as long as all the NPCs in question are humanoids of some variety, making them look like goblins shouldn't be a problem. The ...


23

Do I have to tell them it's illusion magic? Yes. Your warlock has cast detect magic, so they can see auras--when they use their action to do so!--and learn schools.1 Anything less would be like telling your Sharpshooter that they can't ignore half-cover because you designed an encounter with lots of cover in mind, and you don't want them "ruining" it. In ...


23

Magic Mouth should trigger, but not Alarm As always: many things are ultimately up to the DM, but the term "visual or audible conditions" in Magic Mouth implies only a visual/audible 'sensor'. Illusions should be able to fool visual/audible sensors, while a silent/invisible aberration should not trigger the Magic Mouth (by RAW it did not meet the visual/...


22

Real fog still interacts visibly with things passing through it If you pass your hand through a real cloud of fog, the fog will visibly flow around your hand, and the air current produced by your hand will cause the fog to swirl around after your hand passes through it. An inanimate illusory cloud of fog will not exhibit any of these effects, revealing it ...


22

Nothing happens to the image. The grapple attempt just fails. The pertinent mirror image rules: A duplicate's AC equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier. If an attack hits a duplicate, the duplicate is destroyed. A duplicate can be destroyed only by an attack that hits it. It ignores all other damage and effects. The spell ends when all three ...


22

Yes Dispel Magic works by targeting: Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. You can target the effect, mirror image, or you can target the creature that has it. The specific rules around dispel magic allow for targeting of a spell effect when normally you don't (such as the ...


21

By strict RAW, you can sense the presence of illusions of all kinds, but you can't actually see exactly where they are, or that they are illusions rather than just some kind of magic in your vicinity. From the description of Detect Magic: For the duration, you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. Simple enough; if there's magic, you can ...


21

Yes Disclaimer: All instances of real/reality used in this answer are with respect to the target thinking they're being affected. Phantasmal Force does not have the capability of actually creating something tangible, only to appear to be tangible to the afflicted target. I've emphasized the important bit in the spell. While a target is affected by the ...


21

Depends on the situation. There are two things to consider. The target rationalizes any illogical outcomes from interacting with the phantasm. For example. a target attempting to walk across a phantasmal bridge that spans a chasm falls once it steps onto the bridge. and The target can use its action to examine the phantasm with an Intelligence (...


21

You make the noodle real. The axe is still there and the weilder can still feel its weight and shape and can still swing the axe and hurt you. All that has changed at this point is that the axe blow is accompanied by a wet slap from a noodle that, although is uncomfortable, not damage dealing. The key words in Illusory Reality: When you cast an illusion ...


21

One character can't have more than one casting of minor illusion active at a time. From the description of the minor illusion spell: You create a sound or an image of an object within range that lasts for the duration. The illusion also ends if you dismiss it as an action or cast this spell again. Let's say that a character casts minor illusion once (...


20

Yes, because physics. The simple fact that you can see an illusion means it reflects light, whether it is the illusion of a mirror or not [edit: see below]. Note that this does not violate the rule that “The image can't create sound, light, smell or any other sensory effect.” The image is not emitting light, it is reflecting it. An illusion of a mirror ...


20

I think that your best bet is actually described in the spell description: The changes wrought by this spell fail to hold up to physical inspection. For example, if you use this spell to add a hat to your outfit, objects pass through the hat, and anyone who touches it would feel nothing or would feel your head and hair. If you use this spell to ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible