New answers tagged

1

You can appear as a full Dragon, or another creature that is the Dragon type (including Wyvaran) as long as you conform to the other restrictions of disguise self. The spell is in no way restricted to Humanoid (except that Humanoids remain Humanoid, and other Types remain their same Type). You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller, thin, fat, or in between. [....


0

The only things that target spell effects directly can target the mirror images. E.g. dispel magic targets spell effects Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range


0

Be careful of the answers that imply Dispel Magic does anything other than end a spells duration. I think that is important to notice that Dispel Magic is a non-line-of-sight targeted spell. Mirror Image creates duplicates for 1 minute, that last the duration or till they take damage. Your target is the Mirror Image spell, not one of the duplicates. Dispel ...


10

I think you're being confused by the difference between the images being destroyed, and the spell ending. Dispel Magic doesn't destroy the images, it ends the spell/effect. Similarly, Mirror Image has a duration of 1 Minute. After this one minute, the spell ends, and the images wink out of existence, regardless of whether or not they were attacked. On ...


0

Dispel Magic can either target "one creature, object, or magical effect." If Dispel Magic targets the creature on which Mirror Image was cast, it doesn't destroy the duplicate, it ends the spell maintaining the duplicate (causing the duplicate to end). The clause in Mirror Image can't apply unless Dispel Magic specifically targets the duplicate. As the ...


6

Dispel Magic ends Mirror Image by targeting the creature Dispel Magic is a spell that can be used targeting a creature, requiring no attack roll: Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. Mirror Image does not stop spells that directly target a creature with no attack roll (see this ...


22

Yes Dispel Magic works by targeting: Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. You can target the effect, mirror image, or you can target the creature that has it. The specific rules around dispel magic allow for targeting of a spell effect when normally you don't (such as the ...


11

The duplicates aren't creatures Per the mirror image spell description: Three illusory duplicates of yourself appear in your space. Until the spell ends, the duplicates move with you and mimic your actions, shifting position so it's impossible to track which image is real. Nothing in the spell description says the duplicates are creatures - they're just ...


3

Depends on the effect, but probably no Both Goblin Boss and Tipsy Sway requires a creature: the goblin chooses another goblin hit one creature of your choice Illusory duplicates from the Mirror Image are not creatures, so, by the rules as written, you can't target them. Illusions are magic effects, not creatures neither objects, so they can't be ...


7

When not using vision to target the recipient of mirror image, the effects of the spell do not apply. tl;dr Either attack at disadvantage not using sight or have blindsight Creatures with blindsight are unaffected by mirror image Creatures with blindsight also come with the condition immunity to being blinded. This tells us that they do not depend on ...


7

Keen Smell and Hearing Keen only gives advantage on perception checks with those senses, so as written it isn't enough. If a wolf closed its eyes, it'd be attacking at disadvantage; thus we know it relies on its sight. That said, I am personally tempted to rule that with perception check vs the spell the DC if it came up at my table. Keen Hearing and ...


2

The Darkness spell gives enemies disadvantage when attacking me Yes, however, unless you can see in the dark (e.g. Warlock's Devil's Sight Invocation) then you are Blinded which gives enemies advantage to hitting you, cancelling out the disadvantage. I can’t be targeted directly with a save spell. Only if the particular spell requires a target "that you ...


11

Darkness The rule on Unseen Attackers and Targets reads: When you attack a target that you can't see, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. So this part of Darkness works as you believe. Note, without the Devil's Sight it would be an even roll because they would have advantage attacking a blinded creature. However, the rule on spell targeting reads:...


0

1. What does "becoming aware that the target is disguised" entail? Becoming aware that the target disguised is just that. Illusions always fall into the nebulous realm of table to table decisions. At my table, touching someone with Seeming and having an unanticipated interaction (i.e. your hand passes through an illusory hat) serves as a reason to attempt ...


3

Ben’s answer is quite good, and the bottom line, that slashing damage isn’t going to work on brown puddings, is spot-on. He is also completely correct about mindlessness not being a defense here. Mindlessness only protects against spells that try to get into your head (with the mind-affecting tag). Most illusions don’t; most illusions actually produce a ...


1

Having looked up that spell it's pretty vague and I can completely see why it might be brought up, but I'd rule that it does. Nothing about the spell is mind-affecting or has any sort of saving throw or spell resistance, so we can ignore Mindless. Since the spell has the shadow tag, the damage it causes is 'real' in that it can affect physical objects (...


Top 50 recent answers are included