New answers tagged

0

Dimension Door would allow exit from the Mental Prison without harm. Mental Prison states [...] the target takes 5d10 psychic damage, and you make the area immediately around the target's space appear dangerous to it in some way. You might cause the target to perceive itself as being surrounded by fire, floating razors, or hideous maws filled with ...


-2

There are a couple of things that describe the victim of a Mental Prison. Restraint and vision limitations Whatever form the illusion takes, the target can’t see or hear anything beyond it and is restrained for the spell’s duration. Restraint is not an issue for 5th edition's version of Dimension Door as the spell is verbal only. So unlike spells with ...


4

What it means to "be moved" is not defined in the rules so it falls to the Standard English meaning; for me, teleporting would count as "being moved" by the spell and so will not bypass mental prison's damage Note that "to move" is a rules-defined term meaning "to expend movement" 2, 3 but using this to equate "to be moved" with "to be forced to expend ...


0

No You can use silent image to make someone unable to see you and most other things. That does not give them the blinded condition, but it will replicate many of that condition's effects. For example, if you use silent image to make an illusory wall and you stand behind that wall you will have advantage on your attacks against a target who cannot see you ...


1

Problem number 1: physical interaction reveals the illusion Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion I see a group of enemies, and I cast Silent Image to create a 15 x 15 rock in the space(s) that they are occupying. If you wrap the illusory rock around someone that way, they are in contact with it. Even minor movement puts ...


3

Yes you can If you create the illusion of something that has an inside, like a chest, a small cottage or a coach and leave an opening in it then the illusion will show that inside. However, you can only create “an object” so your hollow object is the only one the spell can create - no gold in the chest, no table in the cottage and no cushions in the coach.


2

I think this started with a neat concept. There are many uses, in and out of combat, for making a large amount of creatures suddenly suspicious of a creature or object. The first issue comes with using a passive DC as a part of the spell. It’s sure a unique effect, but definitely needs to be better worded. A DM wouldn’t even “Make” such a check, since if ...


3

Overpowered. Casting this at level 8 means everyone, forever has to spend at least 2 actions in order to target you successfully (or know you are a valid target at least). Given that certain illusions, such as that of the trickery domain cleric, can actually cast spells nothing you do is going to give the game away. Also pointless. There is no ability ...


3

It is balanced, but seems costly Level As it is, the spell is really close to being a combination of invisibility and major image. We already have a spell like that, mislead, that is also 5th level. There might be debate about the compared utility of mislead and virtual illusion, but overall the level is adequate. The upcasting effect is also not unusual. ...


16

Limitations of Illusory Reality Illusory Reality states: By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your ...


1

Even if this interpretation of Illusory Reality worked (RAW), potential answers to the question are resistance to the effect and a tactical response to the effect. Up front, this is a questionable use of Illusory Reality. It's not obviously permitted from the feature's description as written, and interpreting it in a way that allows these uses starts ...


30

Your specific descriptions of the Wizard's use of Illusory Reality is not supported by RAW By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that ...


49

When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing. The object remains real for 1 minute...The object can't deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone. From the definition ...


Top 50 recent answers are included