Skip to main content
20 votes
Accepted

Can Specters move into the ground to avoid Opportunity Attacks?

No, they still provoke an opportunity attack. You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. You cannot reach into the ground, and the Specter ...
Jon Aristotle's user avatar
17 votes

Can a monk push a banshee?

Yes, you can push the banshee There are no general rules for incorporeal creatures that make them entirely immune to physical interactions, the banshee for example only has resistance to physical ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

Can a monster with Incorporeal Movement end its movement inside of another creature or object?

Yes for Objects, No for Creatures Note that the Specter's Incorporeal Movement feature does not specify that they take damage if they end their turn inside a creature, only an object. As for dealing ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.7k
15 votes
Accepted

Does a specter's Incorporeal Movement ability provoke opportunity attacks?

It behaves like any other creature would. The PB states that any creature that moves out of your reach provokes an opportunity attack (195): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.7k
13 votes
Accepted

Can a ghost or other incorporeal creature be polymorphed?

Yes. That is my understanding. Creature Types That is supported in the DMG and it list creature types it opens with A monster's type speaks to its fundamental nature. Certain spells, magic items,...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
12 votes

Does moving behind full cover count as "leaving the opponent's reach" for purposes of opportunity attacks?

Yes, he gets an Opportunity Attack This applies to corporeal, incorporeal, burrowing, etc. Jeremy Crawford has confirmed this with a pair of tweets: Tweet 1: Q: Does an earth elemental trigger an OA ...
PurpleVermont's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Does Ghost Touch work on every damage type of the weapon?

Yes A resistance also might have an exception. For example, resistance 10 to physical damage (except silver) would reduce any physical damage by 10 unless that damage was dealt by a silver weapon. ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.9k
10 votes

Does a specter's Incorporeal Movement ability provoke opportunity attacks?

No Opportunity Attacks can only be taken when the target leaves your reach, it hasn't left your reach (you can, presumably, reach yourself) so it doesn't provoke an OA by just moving through you. ...
daze413's user avatar
  • 28.7k
10 votes
Accepted

Does the Arcane Strike feat allow you to hit incorporeal creatures?

Yes. Per an FAQ from Halloween 2014, effects which make a weapon count as magical for DR allow it to hit incorporeal creatures.
pi4t's user avatar
  • 531
9 votes

How can you force an incorporeal creature out of a solid surface?

A magic weapon that possesses both the brilliant energy and ghost touch magic weapon special abilities ignores nonliving matter yet affects incorporeal creatures normally. Further, according to this ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
9 votes

Can a Ghost use feats that have a strength score as a prerequisite?

Yes, a ghost can take these feats, assuming its Strength is high enough, because a ghost has a Strength score. Abilities Same as the base creature, except that the ghost has no Constitution score, ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
9 votes
Accepted

Does touch attack ignore any armor bonuses?

No. That text means that touch attacks ignore all bonuses to Armor Class with type “armor”. But that explanation is misleadingly incomplete. You might have noticed that nearly all bonuses in 3.5 are ...
fectin's user avatar
  • 13.8k
9 votes

How can I effectively deal with an incorporeal enemy as an alchemist? Are alchemist's bombs considered magical?

Bombs are not magical, but you do not really need that If you do not have a Ghost Charge or other special bomb, the incorporeal creature indeed has double resistance. If you play the Wraith apocalypse ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
9 votes

Shadow's incorporeal touch attack vs DR5/bludgeoning

The Shadow's damage is unaffected. The Shadow's incorporeal touch attack has specific rules. Strength Damage (Su) The touch of a shadow deals 1d6 points of Strength damage to a living foe. A creature ...
ValhallaGH's user avatar
  • 12.3k
8 votes

Is "relinquishing" an object different than throwing it?

If you are using Realms Help as your source of rules, then it says the following: Any equipment worn or carried by an incorporeal creature is also incorporeal as long as it remains in the creature'...
Adeptus's user avatar
  • 28.6k
8 votes
Accepted

Can an incorporeal creature turn any object incorporeal with the Ghostly Grasp feat?

It's a mess. By RAW, Ghostly Grasp is completely nonfunctional most of the time. It works for ghosts and other incorporeal edge cases with a Strength score, though, and for them, it doesn't turn ...
Forrestfire's user avatar
  • 9,449
8 votes

Can you knock a Banshee unconscious?

MM p.23 says this about Banshees and conditions (spoiler-ified because your character might not have any way of knowing these things): That list doesn't contain unconscious so they are subject to ...
mu is too short's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Does Ghostly Grasp work on all objects?

Signs point strongly to "yes" Fundamentally, this question is "are doors, wagons, cargo, ropes, stairs, walls, etc. 'items'?". If they are, then opening a door would be using it, ...
minnmass's user avatar
  • 18.8k
8 votes
Accepted

Corporeal attacks againt the incorporeal

By the Rules A corporeal creature can't attempt any Strength-based check against an incorporeal creature, and a Strike attack roll is a check. So not only does a Strength-based attack not affect a ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.9k
7 votes
Accepted

Would the Icy Prison spell work differently against incorporeal foes?

RAW, there is no reason Incorporeals are affected differently. This means that: They get their normal 50% chance to ignore the spell's effects, as per the rules for incorporeals. Then they get their ...
Gloweye's user avatar
  • 2,692
7 votes

Is there a feat to allow a weapon to hit an incorporeal creature?

The feat that does what you want is called spectral strike. Unfortunately, it requires a Wisdom of 19, the ability to turn or rebuke undead, and you need to be at least level 21. You won't be able to ...
Prevarications's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

What if the rules for corporeal creatures and incorporeal were symmetrical?

So the “challenge” of incorporeal foes is you might not have known you were going to be fighting them, and thus may be unprepared to do so. A wise spellcaster includes at least a few spells that are ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
7 votes
Accepted

Which manual to follow when the same subtype has different rules in three different manuals? The case of perfect wight becoming incorporeal

All D&D 3.5 sources agree that incorporeal creatures can only enter a solid object shallowly. The question of which sourcebooks take precedence is very noodly and technical, and rarely entertained ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
7 votes

Bracers of armor Vs incorporeal touch attack

Bracers of Armor work against Incorporeal attacks An incorporeal creature’s attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 212k
7 votes

Shadow's incorporeal touch attack vs DR5/bludgeoning

Damage Reduction A creature with this special quality ignores damage from most weapons and natural attacks. Wounds heal immediately, or the weapon bounces off harmlessly (in either case, the opponent ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
6 votes

Can a monster with Incorporeal Movement end its movement inside of another creature or object?

Yes, the creature can willingly end its turn inside an object. Neither the general rules on movement (PHB 191), nor its statbox say anything against that. However: Whether a creature is a friend or ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
6 votes
Accepted

Can an incorporeal character with Ghost Step Tattoo still hit enemies?

If it affected your ability to hit enemies it would say so. Ghost Step Tattoo states: For the duration, you gain the following benefits The item description tells us only what benefits we gain, so ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

How can a permanently remove the incorporeal subtype from my character?

A custom ritual based on the Ritual of Transfiguration Savage Species has the Ritual of Transfiguration on page 149 as a way of adding incorporeality to a character. It adds the incorporeal subtype ...
Prevarications's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

A question about disembodied monsters and blinding spells on them

Incorporeal creatures can sense adjacent foes, but have no special ability to see them. The incorporeal subtype provides creatures with the ability to sense foes in adjacent spaces (h/t Peregrin Took):...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.6k
6 votes

Is an incorporeal creature wearing bracers of armor able to pass through walls?

To quote Chemus' answer to your other question: [The] Monster Manual III (214-5), Libris Mortis (140-3), the Rules Compendium (64-5), and the (now archived) glossary all have updated rules regarding ...
From's user avatar
  • 8,041

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible