19

It depends on DM discretion There is a section in the DMG on Wearing and Wielding Items (page 140) which states that items must we worn in the intended fashion and that: In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. However, this doesn't necessarily extend to foot-intended boots fitting onto hooves. ...


20

Half of a suit of full plate is not a suit of half plate Full plate armour is the type of armour that stands around in haunted houses - head to toe interlocking and interconnected plates of steel all over the body. The classic chivalric knight. Half plate is armour predominately for the torso and head and is made that way from the ground up. You don’t get ...


16

You use the spellcasting ability of the original spellcaster You have quoted the relevant rules text from the Ring of Spell Storing (emphasis mine): [...] While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated ...


15

You can reroll the fire damage Following the same logic as the question you linked you would be able to reroll the damage. The distinction is if the weapon is dealing additional damage or if you are adding damage to an attack. My reading of the the Helm of Brilliance is that it turns the weapon into a blazing weapon. Thereby it is the weapon that deals ...


14

Invisibility is only broken when casting a spell or making an attack Invisibility (PHB, p. 254) reads: The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell It is specific about what events cause it to end. Since the wand of pyrotechnics is not casting a spell nor is it making an attack (no attack roll) it does not break invisibility. This is true ...


14

There is or isn't a "general rule" that ability scores are capped at 20. Suppose there is... In that case the beans, like potions/belts of Giant Strength, are the specific item and do what they say. And by comparison with Ioun Stones, we know that if the designers had wanted the bean to respect the cap, they knew how to write it that way. Your [stat] ...


12

It's going to be up to the DM, but there isn't a specific rule requiring removal of gauntlets or belts. Neither the gauntlets nor the belt count as 'armor' in terms of donning/doffing or even limiting attunement by class or race. Because of that, there is no written rule about whether a character must take them off to do anything. It is entirely up to the ...


12

It probably can't? (But this whole scenario is wildly unlikely anyway, so it doesn't really matter) Characters normally can't have an ability score above 20... The general rules for ability score maximums are set forth in the "Ability Scores and Modifiers" section of chapter 7 of the PHB and basic rules (emphasis mine): A score of 10 or 11 is the normal ...


10

Yes, depending on how the spell targets creatures Rubiksmoose gave an excellent break down of what an attack is here, but what's relevant to this question can be found on p.193-194, PHB: Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure If there’s ever ...


10

No, because you still cast a spell from the item Per the description of the sending stones: Sending stones come in pairs, with each smooth stone carved to match the other so the pairing is easily recognized. While you touch one stone, you can use an action to cast the sending spell from it. [...] And the description for Wild Shape states: "You can’t ...


9

The spice pouch requires an action, so it doesn't work with Fast Hands The description of Heward's handy spice pouch says: While holding the pouch, you can use an action to expend 1 of its charges, speak the name of any nonmagical food seasoning [...] — Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 137 That action is a special action option given by the ...


9

Unfortunately there's no official rule that says you can do this. In a home game, it would be fine. You'd talk to your DM and explain that you can't wear this armor as a barbarian, but that you'd like to just wear some of it and count is as half plate. Most reasonable DMs would issue a house rule saying you could wear some of the armor, just as you're ...


8

It seems a bit underpowered for a Rare, Attuned item. I will simplify it a bit, because while the effect differs in some levels, for the most part it boils down to the Martial Arts die being one step higher and the Unarmored Movement being an extra 5 feet. Damage: Stepping up the die (d4->d6, d6->d8, etc.) confers an average damage increase of 1. So for ...


8

A DM or adventure writer could make such an item D&D 5e doen't give general rules for magic item creation, iteration, crafting, or improvement. (The given crafting rules still rely heavily on DM fiat/opt-in). Magic items are primarily an adventure reward (their rules found under Treasure in the DMG). But there's nothing stopping a DM or adventure ...


8

Iron Flask doesn't mention the Charmed condition Creatures immune to charmed are still susceptible to the Iron Flask, since it doesn't interact with that condition at all.


7

Yeah, it would Mage Armor works as long as you don't wear armor. It doesn't block shields. Staff of Defense just gives a flat +1 on top of anything. You'd end up with AC 19. Keep in mind you need to be proficient with Shields though. That's not usually cheap for spellcasters. (Especially the kind that rely on Mage Armor). And if you're not proficient, ...


8

Magic Initiate doesn’t give you the ability to use the second ability of the Rod The rod is somewhat poorly worded, but this much at least is pretty clear: Magic Initiate does not give you spell slots, nor does it give you the ability to cast spells using spell slots. What it does is giving you a spell you know and cast once per day, nothing about spell ...


5

The rules say: A positive modifier is a bonus, and a negative modifier is a penalty. so the longsword's -2 penalty is not an enhancement bonus and cannot be reversed by the spell you describe. Note also that the longsword's -2 penalty is not described as an "enhancement" penalty, so even if it were a bonus it would not be an enhancement bonus. If you ...


5

No Spells only do what they say they do. Wild Shape for example, says that you can only transform into a creature you have seen before. Staff of Flowers has no such wording. But what I want to know is does the staff require me to know a flower, or just know of a flower? You have to choose the flower, so you should at least know of it. Specifically I want ...


4

We can't tell you what sort of rulings your DM should issue. This is especially complicated because the two crystals you cite seem to have very different costs: the greater truedeath crystal costs 10000gp (5000gp more than the lesser truedeath crystal), but the greater demolition crystal costs 6000gp (3000gp more than the lesser demolition crystal), even ...


4

The 2nd-level Sor/Wiz spell cloud of knives [conj] (Player's Handbook II 107) mentions nothing in its description about the caster being able to suppress its effect voluntarily. It even lacks a bracketed D after its duration, so it isn't dismissible. Thus ending the spell early—even if the spell's generated by a magic item—typically requires dispelling the ...


5

You create slots AS you cast a spell. The wording on the item is a bit confusing, but the following line makes it clear that the spell slots are not created to be used later: You use the stored levels in place of your slots, but otherwise cast the spell as normal. The expression "in place of" is relevant here. Since replacing the spell slots or ...


3

In the absence of specific rules, always defer to the more general rule. The general rule in this case is from the "Beyond 1st Level" section of PHB/basic rules chapter 1, which says (emphasis mine): When your character gains a level, his or her class often grants additional features, as detailed in the class description. Some of these features allow you ...


3

You can only escape if the Dark Powers choose to let you go. It has happened mostly to good characters that have fulfilled a specific purpose for the Dark Powers. But is very, very, very rare and their is not way to make it happen. If your character leaving would emotionally torture a dark lord, that would up the odds. Fall in love with one of the Dark ...


2

No, the spelltheif always casts the spell as the original caster would have cast it—there’s no provision for the spellthief to do anything at all to modify the spell. That said, the original caster could have used a metamagic rod themselves to do this—so it seems reasonable to allow the spellthief to do so. After all, the spellthief is a seriously weak ...


2

Odo's answer is fairly straightforward and accurate (+1), but I feel that it is worth noting that invisibility is a concentration spell. Taking an action that injures you, such as drinking an unidentified potion that was a damaging poison, would cause a concentration check. Taking an action that causes you to become incapacitated, such as if the poison ...


2

You may want to take a look at the UA cantrip Mind Sliver (from Unearthed Arcana: Psionic Options Revisited). The spell description says (emphasis mine): You drive a disorienting spike of psychic energy into the mind of one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. Unless the saving throw is successful, the ...


2

The net result is -1. In the full description of the Stone of Ill Luck it says "it confers [the stone of good luck]'s property while on your person", so we know that it does confer the bonus of +1. This is a real bonus. The item goes on to say "the DM secretly applies this penalty, assuming you are adding the item's bonus." This means that the DM will take ...


2

Consecrate is a 2nd-level spell and disintegrate is a 6th-level spell, which is totally bonkers as far as I can tell. Undead tend to be the more common threat in most campaigns, making the truedeath crystal more valuable, not less. Of course, their costs reflect that, with truedeath being substantially more expensive (at the lesser and greater tiers), but it’...


2

I think your interpretation is correct so no Magic item savant: ...You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items. Use magic device: ...You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items. Given that they are worded so similarly with the key difference being "attuning to or ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible