49

The fifth level evocation Immolation from the Elemental Evil Player's Companion wreathes a creature in flames. These magical flames can’t be extinguished through nonmagical means. Since water is non-magical, an Immolated target should burn quite nicely underwater. (For up to 1 minute, if you concentrate, and they fail their save.)


41

The common magic item, candle of the deep (XGE 136), may be what you are looking for. The flame of this candle is not extinguished when immersed in water. It gives off light and heat like a regular candle. Although this is just a candle, it gives an indication for how powerful WotC think an item with similar properties may be; namely, not at all (...


35

Single-use scrolls were a feature of some of Fritz Leiber's Fafhrd and Grey Mouser stories (published from the 1940s into the 1980s). I don't have my books where I can reach them, so don't have publication dates for all of the stories, but one of them, "The Lords of Quarmall" (originally published in 1964, now found in the collection Swords Against Death), ...


33

Level 33 should be a good enough level. Seriously though, you're talking about a weapon that weighs 325 pounds. That's heavier than Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson would be if he were wearing full plate armor. Unfortunately, this is a super cool weapon that was never meant for a PC to have. One way you can tell that this axe isn't meant for PCs to have is that ...


31

As per this SF&F SE question, an earlier example might be The King of Elfland's Daughter (1924), by Lord Dunsany. Moreover, over the course of the novel, the King of Elfland uses all three master-runes to effect magical changes that encompass both Elfland and Erl. And once each rune is used, it is gone, not to be used again. After initially holding ...


30

The second level cleric, wizard, and artificer spell continual flame produces a flame which can be covered or hidden but not smothered or quenched. Since water puts out fire by quenching it, a continual flame can burn underwater.


28

DM's Discretion The number of people who think about semantically separating "button press" from "button release" is actually pretty small in absolute numbers... It's just that we're disproportionately represented here because user interfaces are important to heavy internet users, and because programmers in general are likely to have gotten caught by that ...


28

Yes, but there are only a few cards where the benefits could be transferred The benefits that could be transferred are limited to material goods, and effects that the simulacrum could be directed to use on the caster's behalf. Additionally, there are a some detrimental effects that may carry over to the caster. Material goods cards gem: 50k gold key: ...


26

No There are examples of magic items that do grant as swimming speed, and they state so explicitly. The Cloak of the Manta Ray (DMG pg. 159), for example, states that "you have a swimming speed of 60 feet." Since the Gloves do not do so, they do not grant a swimming speed. They do exactly what they say they do: remove the speed penalty from being ...


25

Your plan should work The pertinent part of the immovable rod's description is: You can use an action to press the button. ... Until you or another creature uses an action to push the button again, the rod doesn't move. The verbs used to describe what you must do to the button are 'press' and 'push'. These verbs encapsulate the pressing down of the ...


24

The following items from the DMG are included and useful: Dwarven Thrower Holy Avengers Instruments of the Bards Moonblades, but only if you are neutral good Prayer Beads Robe of the Archmagi (but only if its alignment matches) (15+Dex AC and bonuses against spells) Rod of Resurrection 11 different kinds of staves Tome of the Stilled Tongue (bonus action ...


23

The Ring of Winter, a powerful legendary artifact from Tomb of Annihilation, can permanently freeze areas (12 x 120 foot areas per day) Since you mentioned "magic item effect", there's the Ring of Winter, a powerful legendary artifact from Tomb of Annihilation, which has the following in its stat block: That feature seems to be what you're after, but if ...


21

Yes, you can cast spells into it Either you or someone you know or can hire who has spellcasting can put spells into the ring (DMG, 192): Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast.


21

Anyone can attune to the Gauntlets of Ogre Power You can read up on attunement in the freely available basic rules. Here are a few of the most relevant excerpts: Some magic items require a creature to form a bond with them before their magical properties can be used. This bond is called attunement[...] Without becoming attuned to an item that ...


20

The staff is underpowered and won't likely be used The staff is a suboptimal damage dealing trade-off compared to cantrips Yes, you'll get an extra 1 damage by using this over produce flame at early levels, but once you hit level 5, you'll get more consistent damage from that cantrip at the same action cost. So for levels 3-4, you may eek out an extra ...


15

Yes, it can use the wand The creature animated by tiny servant is a creature and the spell places no restrictions on what kind of actions it can take, or be commanded to take. As a bonus action, you can mentally command the creature if it is within 120 feet of you. [...] You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its ...


15

There are several magic items that let the user cast detect magic. There are several such magic items; unfortunately, as far as I know, none of them are explicitly available in CoS. The items are: Wand of Magic Detection (Uncommon, 3 charges, one cast per charge, recharges 1d3 charges at dawn) Rod of Alertness (Very Rare, No restriction) Staff of the Magi ...


14

If the weapon or shield influenced casting, it would say so which allows me to use my weapon or shield as a spellcasting focus But the feat doesn't do that. A cleric or paladin may use their shield as a holy symbol, but that's a class specific feature. A spell casting focus is a separate thing, unless a weapon's description or another feature makes a ...


13

OK, you gave them something pretty powerful and now regret - been there. Options to stop them using include: Let them use it It only has 7 charges and is then destroyed so throw some evil creatures at them, presumably powerful ones, so they are tempted to use the charges. Throwing a large group of lesser evil enemies at them might make them opt to use it ...


11

I would say that if interpreting the banishing arrow as a means of movement between the planes (in this case both forward and back), the Dimensional Shackles would prevent the secondary trip back to the plane of origin. In addition to serving as mundane manacles, the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional ...


11

First off, that isn't what the rules say. The rod can hold up to 8,000 pounds of weight. More weight causes the rod to deactivate and fall. A creature can use an action to make a DC 30 Strength check, moving the fixed rod up to 10 feet on a success. It says 'weight', not 'force'. You can make some physics argument about how those are two ways to ...


10

Yes... ...IF you're asking if there's a RAW way for someone to survive inside a Bag of Holding for longer than 10 minutes. If you're asking if it's possible to make a livable environment inside the Bag, then the answer is 'Not by RAW'. While there is no RAW 'Create Air' spell, there is a Necklace of Adaptation. Its description says While wearing this ...


10

The best I can come up* with is control weather, but it's temporary * regarding spells; see my other answer regarding magic items... This is an 8th level spell that lasts for 8 hours, and allows you to control the weather within a 5 mile radius of your position, so long as you can see the sky for that duration (else the spell ends early). From the PHB (p. ...


10

Mirage Arcane is an option. Although Mirage Arcane produces an illusion of the desired, frozen terrain, the illusion: includes audible, visual, tactile, and olfactory elements Tactile elements would include the cold of the ice, frigid winds, etc, and even creatures that can see through the illusion would still feel those elements. Although the duration ...


9

Yes, they can draw. But only the simulacrum draw and use the cards. Whomever interacts with the deck is going to gain the results of drawing the cards. They can't "pass the card" to you once it's known. Any effects affecting only the card-drawer will go to them, and any other effects that may involve characters around them will still happen. This is for a ...


8

You’ll have to ask your GM. I’m not aware of anything in the rules that says anything one way or the other here. The lack of anything saying you can might indicate that you cannot, however. The wording for everything about modifying existing magic items all focuses on additions and improvements, not downgrades or side-grades. Consider, too, that the way you ...


8

There are more Piwafwi to be found in this adventure: However, having DMed this I don't remember the Piwafwi of Fire Resistance ever making an appearance.


7

Shape Water from Xanathar's Guide to Everything lets you freeze 2 small areas for 1 hour, 5x5x5 feet each. It's a cantrip. (XGE p.164) Depending on the size you want, you can have a bunch of elves who took the cantrip racial ability, or first level wizards fill a space. As a Canadian, I assume you are building a hockey rink?


7

The creature remains in the Feywild According to Dimensional Shackles: the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional Movement The only "return clause" in Banishing Arrow says At the end of its next turn, the target reappears in the space it vacated If its turn passes and its unable to fulfill Banishing ...


7

You can try, and perhaps succeed (easier with two PCs) You have the set up for a great idea for dispatching a human sized foe. Or maybe, you want to give them a vacation on the astral plane and they aren't very keen on the idea. Artificer of level 7 can have more than two infused items, and bag of holding is makeable at level 2. You have two bags of ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible