Skip to main content
8 votes
Accepted

Is it possible to cast a bonus action spell and then use the Ready action to activate a magic item and cast another spell off-turn with your reaction?

Yes, in most cases You have an action and a bonus action on each of your turns. You can use the bonus action to cast a spell. That normally means you cannot cast another full spell that turn, only ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Can a creature with Mimicry activate command word magic items?

Intent matters here . . . in other words, it's really a question of how the DM (and the players) want to roll with it. After all, we don't really know exactly how magic item command words work. First ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 34.9k
5 votes

Can a creature with Mimicry activate command word magic items?

Probably yes, but check with your DM It depends on if you consider mimicry "speaking", because the rule for command words says: A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible