84

They get lungs full of dust The dust does what it says: if “you use an action to throw the dust into the air, you and each creature and object within 10 feet of you become Invisible for 2d4 minutes.” If you don’t do that, you just have a pile of dust.


65

That would be very powerful. Let's compare the effect with the other things Wish can do: You grant up to ten creatures you can see immunity to a single spell or other magical effect for 8 hours You undo a single recent event by forcing a reroll of any roll made within the last round You grant up to ten creatures that you can see resistance to a damage type ...


56

This is a behavior I myself have, and it often boils down to not wanting to use consumable items until my class features -- daily, short rest, or whatever -- have been burned. I hate to use something non-recoverable before something that is recoverable, and even then I feel like it's a waste of the item if the battle ends right after I use it and it didn't ...


50

Per RAW the DM decides about wishes. You did the right thing. The PHB treatment of wish is pretty clear about - beyond the duplication of other spells - wish being finally adjudicated by the DM. The DMG does not counter that with any further guidance on the results of wishes. This makes it simplest to treat any wish as an iteration of the wish spell. ...


49

A skeleton cannot attune to the circlet The circlet's description says: This circlet is an uncommon magic item called a circlet of human perfection. Only humanoids can attune to it. The circlet transforms its attuned wearer into an attractive human of average height Only humanoids can attune to it, but a skeleton creature type is Undead, not Humanoid. ...


47

By discussing it with their players "Hey guys, I messed up. I gave you all weapons that are more suited for level 15+ characters, and as a result, you're oneshotting every level appropriate encounter I can throw at you. If we want to keep playing the game as it's intended to, I'm going to have to remove the overpowered weapons I gave you when I didn't ...


45

You have to be poisoned to take the damage (he is correct) The description of the Potion of Poison says: If you drink it, you take 3d6 poison damage, and you must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned. At the start of each of your turns while you are poisoned in this way, you take 3d6 poison damage. [...] If you don't fail the ...


44

In part it depends on the magic items. Did you give them magic items that were useful in combat? Like, have they mostly got +3 plate armor or have they mostly got sovereign glue? Broadly, the answer to your question is yes: it's probably appropriate to give them more difficult encounters because they have nice stuff. But, especially at higher levels, the ...


43

Multiclass Barbarian Any character who is not proficient in medium armor (and has 13 Strength or more) can multiclass (if using that optional rule) into Barbarian to gain proficiency in martial weapons without gaining proficiency in any new armors. Multiclassing Proficiencies \begin{array}{|l|lr|} \hline \text{Class} & \text{Proficiencies Gained}...


41

Artifacts are Magical Items; but only a tiny few of Magical Items are Artifacts There's a few places in the rules where Artifacts are called out as being materially different than any other Magical Item, but nowhere as substantially as in the section in Chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master's Guide labelled "Artifacts": An artifact is a unique magic item of ...


41

The armor itself has resistance to damage, it does not confer this to the wearer As you've quoted, the magic item itself has resistance to damage, but there is nothing that states it gives whomever wears it resistance. Because it doesn't give that property, that property is not provided. It'll just be harder to damage the armor if you track that sort of ...


40

This seems to work Casting a spell from an item still counts as casting a spell. See this answer for a good explanation. The simple summary is that most items contain the text: ... you can use an action to ... cast one of the following spells ... You are casting the spell. Or in this case the other holder of the staff is casting the spell. Enlarge/...


39

Not in Adventurer's League. This is from the Tomb of Annihilation Primer, found here. This document is a guide put out by Wizards of the Coast for players and DM intending to take part in Tomb of Annihilation, and lays down the rules of play for this adventure. Do note that this quote is from the DM-only section of that document. Proceed with caution if you'...


39

No, metamagic only takes effect when you cast the spell All the sorcerer's metamagic abilities have wording like: When you cast a spell that... If you failed to cast the spell, you don't get to invoke the metamagic ability in the first place, so spending sorcery points is contingent on successfully casting the spell in the first place. Scrolls ...


39

It's not clear that the ring would even activate The operative part of the Ring of Mind Shielding's description is: If you die while wearing the ring, your soul enters it, unless it already houses a soul. However, the language used to describe the lich's abililty to reconstitute itself from its phylactery seems to carefully avoid the words "die" or "...


38

The Gauntlets aren't armor Every magic item has a category they belong to: Each magic item belongs to a category: armor, potions, rings, rods, scrolls, staffs, wands, weapons, or wondrous items. Armor Unless an armor’s description says otherwise, armor must be worn for its magic to function. [...] Wondrous Items Wondrous items ...


38

Yes, Bags of Holding create extradimensional space From the description of Portable Hole: [snip]...Placing a portable hole inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, Heward's handy haversack, or similar item ...[snip] (similar wording exists for the Bag of Holding and Heward's Handy Haversack, as well)


38

Damage Bounds On page 249 of the DMG, we have a section on Improvising Damage. On the chart are a few interesting things we can use to determine a damage amount. For a lower bound we can use "stumbling into a fire pit" at 2d10. While yes, the creature didn't fall into the lava pool and only their feet are potentially directly exposed, lava is really hot (...


37

A lich is exceptionally intelligent and careful, so this is likely to be a challenge. There are two main approaches: Use divination magic Use the unique properties of the phylactery to rule out which items cannot be the phylactery Divinations Commune (5th level) allows you to ask three yes or no questions. The optimal way to use this is what is known as a ...


37

Up to you Quoting from the rules of the Wish spell: You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance, the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong. However, "casting all my ...


36

There are four types of d20 rolls in 5e: Ability Checks, Saving Throws, Attack Rolls, Miscellaneous (everything else). The Stone of Good Luck gives its bonus to the first two - this includes death save throws because they are saving throws and Initiative because it is a dexterity ability check. It also gives its bonus to passive ability checks like passive ...


36

You cannot activate magic items with Fast Hands The section on activating magic items specifically calls out this case: If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Item action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item. (DMG 141)


36

The attunement ends This can be found in the DMG section for magic items. In the attunement section (DMG p. 138): A creature’s attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the prerequisites for attunement So if you no longer meet the prerequisites the attunement simply ends


35

You cast one instance of a spell at a time from a wand. From the rules for wands: Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the ...


35

Talk to your DM There are no specific rules about armor types being converted from one to another and whether or not this is possible. The Equipment lists seem to indicate that each one is it's own thing and thus suggests that they aren't additive or reductive in any RAW way. Whether or not a DM will allow conversions like this, or how they'll make it ...


35

Rules-as-Written, the Jug can sustain up to 5 players The Player's Handbook has explicit rules about food/water consumption you'll want to reference. Food A character needs one pound of food per day and can make food last longer by subsisting on half rations. Eating half a pound of food in a day counts as half a day without food. A character ...


35

No Interesting choice of multiclass, but the answer is still no. Raging barbarians are subject to the following requirement as you know: If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging. Note that it does not make exception for how you are able to cast a spell. Off the cuff spellcasting ability could stem from ...


34

Meeting either criteria is enough to overcome the immunity The werewolf's damage immunity applies to "Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks that aren't Silvered". Let's assume to begin with that the damage we're considering is bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage, since the werewolf isn't immune to other damage types. Is the ...


33

No, it can't be kept. During Season 7, the penalty was pretty harsh (permanently and irrevocably retired, as guildbounty's answer indicates). However: Consult the D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack for updates. When Season 8 released, they changed the guidance to be more general and less strict. You can remove it from the character and resume ...


32

Yes, that's how it works. Note that this ability is balanced around being a monster feature, not a player feature. It's meant to be an interesting feature to deal with on the opposition and isn't meant to be used all the time by your own party. Also note that if you picked the "Knight" card from the Deck of Many Things, what you get is not a Knight NPC, but ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible