44 votes
Accepted

What magic items would a commoner need to go head to head with a party of 4 (Lvl 15) adventurers?

Toe-to-Toe I think the easiest way to evaluate whether a character can go Toe-to-toe with a party is to evaluate what their CR would be, and then compare it to what difficulty an encounter with them ...
David Coffron's user avatar
29 votes

Enlarge + Enlarge = Huge? (two different sources)

There are two possibilities The bodice allows the wearer to cast Enlarge Unfortunately, you cannot combine the effects. The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.3k
27 votes

Does a Wand of Secrets still point to a revealed secret or sprung trap?

Perspective is the key issue here There is no in-game term that specifically defines what is a "secret", and for simplicity's sake I'll assume here that "trap" refers to a hidden ...
Matthieu's user avatar
  • 9,323
27 votes
Accepted

What rarity is appropriate for a homebrew item that lets a Wizard delay declaring a single spell preparation?

This would work best as a Rare item, but test This is an item that would not be unbalanced in tier one. It naturally scales its power down because early on, the selection the wizard has access to is ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
27 votes

What magic items would a commoner need to go head to head with a party of 4 (Lvl 15) adventurers?

Frame challenge. You've got a millionaire BBEG, and you want to make him able to take on powerful foes. Your plan for this is to balance his stats so that he can become essentially a fake leveled ...
Dewi Morgan's user avatar
  • 2,718
24 votes

Are items within a bag of holding that is itself within a chest of preserving kept from rotting?

No, they are not kept from rotting The items in the bag of holding are not inside the bag. They are in an extradimensional space -- that is, in another dimension. The bag of holding itself does not ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
23 votes
Accepted

If a character naturally lost an eye and a hand, would he be able to attune to Vecna's appendages?

Don't let the rules get in the way of the fun. Especially if you are the DM / campaign creator. D&D was never meant to be a strict game where the rules are king. Leave that for competitive ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar
23 votes

What magic items would a commoner need to go head to head with a party of 4 (Lvl 15) adventurers?

This concept does not fit well to the way D&D 5e mechanics work There are no published magic items that will allow a commoner with the commoner stat block to fight a party of level 15 characters ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Can a level 1 character start with a magic item?

Nothing in the rules prevents it, but they suggest to give none The DMG does not contain any explicit rule or indication preventing this possibility. Indeed, the Magic Item section of the DMG, page ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 28.8k
20 votes
Accepted

Double Rings of Amity

They both receive the benefit of a goodberry or potion of healing once. the bonded creature also receives the benefits of the spell or effect. It doesn't say that the ring produce the healing effect,...
Negdo's user avatar
  • 1,645
20 votes

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

You aren’t missing anything here. As written, it just doesn’t work. And before anyone suggests “specific beats general” makes it work since it says “you can use a bonus action”, that would mean that ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
20 votes
Accepted

Does Sphere of Annihilation pass through a wall?

Yes Unless the wall is an artifact, this clause governs: The sphere obliterates all matter it passes through and all matter that passes through it. Artifacts are the exception. The bolded emphasis ...
Novak's user avatar
  • 43.3k
19 votes

How can I remove smoke from a bag of holding?

No, smoke isn't an item Bag of Holding says: Retrieving an item from the bag requires an action. Smoke is not an "item" in any sense of the term, as it cannot be bought, sold, grasped, etc....
order's user avatar
  • 3,923
19 votes
Accepted

Is the magic item Daern's Instant Fortress reusable?

Yes What does dismiss mean? From the spell find familiar, we know that 'dismiss' by itself does not indicate whether the action is permanent: As an action, you can temporarily dismiss the familiar to ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.5k
19 votes
Accepted

Can the Avatar of Death be circumvented if the player dies without his intervention?

Rules As Written this seems correct The rule is: A creature slain by an avatar of death can't be restored to life. so killing the PC oneself would solve the problem. The DM would have to rule about ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.7k
18 votes
Accepted

How balanced is this Emblem of the Everlasting Plague cursed item?

The item you've homebrewed looks reasonable, as long as the group is starting around level five. If they're level one, then having the ability to cast conjure animals is way too good. You should ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.7k
18 votes
Accepted

Is My Interpretation Valid for Heward's Handy Spice Pouch?

No, the interpretation is not valid. You get normal pinches and can't produce unlimited wealth from a common item The pouch says (emphasis added): This belt pouch appears empty and has 10 charges. ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
18 votes
Accepted

Can a tiny mimic turn into a magic sword?

By the rules, a mimic wouldn't make a good sword. The relevant abilities of a mimic are the following: Shapechanger. The mimic can use its action to polymorph into an object or back into its true, ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.2k
18 votes

Can a spell cast using the Cartomancer feat's Hidden Ace feature be Counterspelled?

It can be counterspelled. The relevant part of the Cartomancer feat's description states (The Book of Many Things, p. 49): [...] While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
18 votes
Accepted

Bag of Devouring Rules (Strength over Athletics)

There are no Athletics checks, only Ability checks. But sometimes you can add your proficiency bonus to your Ability check. Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill — ...
Tollef's user avatar
  • 591
17 votes

If a character naturally lost an eye and a hand, would he be able to attune to Vecna's appendages?

As pointed out in other answers, RAW states that the self-mutilation is an important part of the attunement process, so the RAW answer would be "no". Of course as GM you can always just ...
biziclop's user avatar
  • 2,210
17 votes

Will paralyzing a grappler break the grapple?

“The condition ends if the grappler is incapacitated” The grappled condition states: The condition ends if the grappler is incapacitated So yes, paralyzing the grappler ends the grapple since ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
17 votes

Bag of Holding Bomb but with mayonnaise?

Up to the DM Bag of holding says: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
17 votes
Accepted

Is this Legendary longsword "Sealed Power/Seven Wishes" too broken?

If another player can summon a CR24 creature to do their bidding, balance probably isn’t really something your table is interested in. The sword you describe has no meaningful comparison to any ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

Would a magic charm that has to be refueled by nonmagical weather energy be able to be recharged via a spell that changes the weather?

That works (and it doesn't specify non-magical). The altar recharges when the lightning rod on the roof (see area T8) is struck by three bolts of lightning from a storm and channels that energy down ...
Shivers's user avatar
  • 5,346
16 votes
Accepted

Magic items/spells to talk to and/or disguise my displacer beast kitten

Magic Items There are two magic items you will need to facilitate communication and disguise for your displacer beast. The helm of comprehend languages says: While wearing this helm, you can use an ...
David Coffron's user avatar
16 votes

Player charmed by Orb of Dragonkind: what can be done?

Just take the orb away The rules for attunement (p. 138, PHB) say: A creature's attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the prerequisites for attunement, if the item has been ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

Does a Sphere of Annihilation immediately make a hole in a normal wall, or does it need to damage it first?

There's no contradiction. The rules say the Sphere moves right through the wall, destroying what it touches. That makes a hole. The rules also say that since the Sphere didn't completely envelope the ...
Owen Reynolds's user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

For the Demon Armor magic item, does someone have to cast the Remove Curse spell every time for you to be able to doff it again?

Remove Curse is needed every time It's right there in the text. "Once you don this armor, you can't doff it until targeted by the remove curse spell or similar magic." Each time you don it, ...
ShadowRanger's user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

What can a non-wizard do with a spellbook?

Selling it A blank spellbook is worth 50 gp and a spellbook with 6 spells is worth much more. For such an item, you have several option for deciding a suitable price. You may use as starting point the ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 28.8k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible