New answers tagged

17

They recharge at the DM's chosen point which happens every 24 hours From the sidebar on page 144 of Xanathar's Guide to Everything: RECHARGING WITHOUT A DAWN Some magic items can be used a limited number of times but are recharged by the arrival of dawn. What if you're on a plane of existence that lacks anything resembling dawn? The DM should ...


3

Sending Stones recharge each dawn and they can hold exactly one charge. They recharge each dawn, which is the mechanical condition that resets the stone. A dawn always creates one recharge, and there can't be stored more than one charge. So it really depends on how many dawns happen. If one Sending Stone is in a plane that experience dawn every 5 minutes, ...


0

They should recharge at whichever dawn comes ~24 hours or more after the last time the stones recharged. There are actually two answers to this, though obviously I prefer the above. One answer is by rules as written (RAW), and the other is by rules as intended (RAI): RAW: They will recharge when either stone experiences dawn. The exact time that dawn ...


1

Generally speaking, activating any weapon Special Ability is a Standard Action. Nothing in the class feature indicates that the Special Ability is activated, so RAW you must then spend Standard Action(s) to activate each Special Ability such as Flaming as per Command Activation. Every game I've ever played homerules that Paladin Sacred Weapon and similar ...


5

Rare is appropriate Being basically a sentient item does not seem to add any detrimental effects (other than annoying the user which does not influence the game mechanic), so we'll ignore it for the analysis of the power of the item. This leaves us with the following properties: Cast Comprehend Languages (1st level spell) at will (not really, but this ...


1

The Herbalism kit is a viable alternative To me a thick mixture that smells faintly of aloe sounds like an herbal ointment (Aloe sap is maple-syrup thick to start with and would make a great base for a lot of ointments once some herbs are added and it's reduced a little more), suggesting Herbalism kit as the Artisan's tool and Medicine skill proficiency is ...


4

Your friend is correct. If you drink this potion, you need to make a successful save or become poisoned. You take 3d6 damage either way. If you succeed at that first save that is all the damage you take as you do not become poisoned. If you fail the first save things are much more dire. While you are poisoned you take #d6 damage at the start of your turn (...


5

He is correct. "If you drink it, you take 3d6 poison damage, and you must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned." The first save is to see if you become poisoned. If you make this Save, you are not poisoned, and take no further damage. If you fail, you must then make a Save each round to see if you can overcome the poison. A ...


44

You have to be poisoned to take the damage (he is correct) The description of the Potion of Poison says: If you drink it, you take 3d6 poison damage, and you must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned. At the start of each of your turns while you are poisoned in this way, you take 3d6 poison damage. [...] If you don't fail the ...


7

Passing the initial save means you only take the first 3d6 poison damage (your friend is correct) Note the description of Potion of Poison states (emphasis mine): If you drink it, you take 3d6 poison damage, and you must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned. At the start of each of your turns while you are poisoned in this way, you ...


9

The Pole of Angling can be activated or deactivated freely (no action required) The rules for a magic item requiring a command word do not imply that any action is required by default: A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an item to work. A magic item that requires a command word can't be activated in an area where sound is ...


4

No action required; frequency to be decided by DM Items that require an action state that they require it. This does not say that it does, so it doesn't. However, you may not have that pole ready and in hand, and doing so would still require your object interaction as part of your action/movement. But feel free to "bee" as much as you like - or as much ...


0

Regardless of how it's ruled, you could only get a magical bonus from one or the other, not both. If the gauntlets are considered a weapon, then the amulet won't apply to attacks made with them. If the fists are the weapon, then enchanting the gauntlets won't apply to unarmed attacks.


0

RAW yes, but balance depends on the player playing the Monk. As mentioned by @mxyzplk, there exist two camps when it comes to the monk, and both are right to some extent that I will NOT get into in this answer. Monk is weak. Monk is strong. If your player is of the first camp and still wants to play a monk, this probably isn't the world's worst buff to ...


2

Only if you're carrying it at the time. You don't have to hold the deck in order to draw from it. You can have it sitting on a table or something. The more interesting question is whether or not the Talons card itself is destroyed if you are not carrying the whole deck. I think that one's unclear enough for DM adjudication, though bias is to "no". The ...


16

Technically, you can draw the entire deck if you like. Others have handled the deep-math version of this answer, and I salute them, but if all you want to do is get as many cards to trigger as possible, the actual upper limit is much simpler Declare that you intend to draw the entire deck. Wait 1 hour. Every card in the deck leaps out and takes effect ...


18

7.166 for a 22-card deck, 12.5 for a 13-card deck Xirema has it basically right, albeit approximately. But we can do this without code and get a precise answer. Take a 20-card deck. Odds of drawing a terminal card are 3/20, so expected number of draws are 20/3, which is 6.66... Now take a 21-card deck. We have a 4 in 21 chance of pulling either the self-...


10

For a 22 Card Deck, the average draw is approximately 7.161 cards Knowing that the Fools and Jester Cards will remove themselves from the deck if drawn, we therefore know that the odds of drawing one of the "stopper" cards (Talons, Donjon, or The Void) is 3/22, 3/21, or 3/20, depending on whether those two cards have been drawn yet. So on the first draw, ...


7

Spell Scrolls probably don't require any Components As of the 2018 DMG Errata, the rules have gotten a bit hazier because of the particular wording of Spell Scrolls. The wording now reads as such: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is ...


5

Conjure Elemental might work. Given a 10-foot bonfire as raw material, it is able to summon a CR5 Fire Elemental for an hour, during which time it might be able to heat the air in your hot air balloon. Additionally, the Eberron campaign setting uses bound elementals as the sources of motive power for their airships, so this sort of thing has precedent in ...


2

Possibly the magic item Candle of the deep, a "common" magic item from Xanathar's Guide. This says it "gives off light and heat like a normal candle" — and it is unclear if it is consumed like a normal candle. Given that its major property (it burns underwater) is pretty boring in a world with the Light cantrip and the Continual Flame spell (the result of ...


4

Normally, yes, because they have to unroll the scroll. To cast a spell from a scroll, you must read it. A scroll is usually stored rolled up to protect it from damage, so you would first need to unroll it (after taking it out of the scroll case if it's in one). Normally this would require using your hand, though there are alternatives, such as having ...


11

Yes. You need to hold the scroll on your turn, and have it in your hand by the time you wish to read it. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell's normal Casting Time. This is required, because object interactions (like getting the scroll from somewhere) happen on your turn, and you need access to the scroll to read it, by the ...


2

Short answer: yes. The description for a Spell Scroll includes the following line: If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Note that it specifically mentions material components but does not mention verbal or somatic components. The entry on somatic components ...


36

There are four types of d20 rolls in 5e: Ability Checks, Saving Throws, Attack Rolls, Miscellaneous (everything else). The Stone of Good Luck gives its bonus to the first two - this includes death save throws because they are saving throws and Initiative because it is a dexterity ability check. It also gives its bonus to passive ability checks like passive ...


14

No. It does not include attack rolls, which are done with a d20. Attack rolls are distinct from ability checks and saving throws; they are their own type of roll, even though they include a modifier associated with an ability. It does give its bonus to death saves, however, which are saving throws even though they are not associated with an ability.


8

Create Bonfire might work Create Bonfire creates a self-sustaining magic fire that lasts for 1 minute. However, as it is a cantrip, you can repeatedly re-cast it to keep the fire going longer. It can deal fire damage and ignite flammable materials in its area, so it definitely produces heat. However, it continues to burn even if no flammable materials are ...


3

There are three cleric spells that might work: Augury (2nd level) Divination (4th level) Commune (5th level) All three are rituals, so you don't even have to burn a spell slot.


13

There is no practical limit The first line of the description of the deck specifies: Usually found in a box or pouch, this deck contains a number of cards made of ivory or vellum. Most (75 percent) of these decks have only thirteen cards, but the rest have twenty-two. [...] If you fail to draw the chosen number, the remaining number of cards ...


5

Theoretically, there is no upper limit at all because all but two of the cards reappear in the deck: Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence. Unless the card is the Fool or the Jester, the card reappears in the deck, making it possible to draw the same card twice. So, although exceedingly unlikely someone could draw an infinite amount of cards (...


9

There is no written limit to the number of cards that can be drawn, so yes, you should be able to declare however many cards you like. Yet the results are likely to be disastrous. There is a relevant twitter exchange from 2017 where Christopher Perkins responds lightly to an inquiry by an interested twitter user, G. Collet: ‑ is it possible to fan the ...


7

Yes, Heart of the Storm works with wands In addition, whenever you start casting a spell of 1st level or higher that deals lightning or thunder damage, stormy magic erupts from you. All the feature requires is that you start casting a spell that meets the requirements. And using a wand is still casting a spell, just with the aid of an item. ...


-1

I say it reaches your target as well but it is a miss and remains in the air until gravity takes hold dropping it up to 120 feet away or on the ground if blocked/wall/etc... By 'reach' I would have to rule distance. ie: target is 20' away, you throw said weapon and say word, it travels 20' before turning back and starts to act as a normal weapon in flight. ...


17

A 6th-level Illusion Wizard with Illusory Script, Detect Thoughts, and Forgery Kit proficiency Illusion Wizards get access to the following feature at 6th level: Malleable Illusions. Starting at 6th level, when you cast an illusion spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can use your action to change the nature of that illusion (using the ...


16

Blank Paper and suggestion Ultimately, the Doctor is simply convincing someone that the paper says something that makes sense to the viewer. This can be done with the spell suggestion: You suggest a course of activity (limited to a sentence or two) and magically influence a creature you can see within range that can hear and understand you. Creatures ...


9

Only 2 magic items specifically grant immunity to the charmed condition According to this D&D Beyond search, only 2 magic items specify that they grant immunity to the charmed condition: Greater Silver Sword (legendary) Staff of the Forgotten One (artifact) Being a legendary item and an artifact neither of them is usually easily accessible, ...


16

Amulet doesn't interact with comprehend languages The spell comprehend languages utilizes a target of self that allows you to: ...understand the literal meaning of any spoken language that you hear. You are the target of the spell and you are able to understand the languages being spoken around you. The amulet is specific in that: You can't be ...


8

Comprehend Languages has a range of self so you're not targeting the person wearing the amulet in your example, you're targeting yourself. Since you're not targeting the wearer of the amulet nor are you using a scrying sensor (you're using your own senses here) you would be able to understand them yes.


2

In reality, the necklace of fireballs simply isn’t that good Sure, it’s easier to use than a scroll or wand of fireball—though that tends not to matter very much to an adventuring party, since much of the party is going to be able to use wands, either as a result of their own spellcasting or because the UMD check is pretty easy to hit. Having low-level, ...


2

The Necklace of Fireballs does massively more damage per action Comparing cost per d6 damage is a good metric only when time is not a concern at all. In these cases, spells of any sort are unnecessary: a quarterstaff costs nothing and does infinite d6 damage in infinite time. Instead, we might want to compare the d6s each item can do in a round. Throwing ...


3

There's a few Divination spells that can do similar things. The 1st-level spell Identify states, among other effects: You choose one object ... You learn whether any spells are affecting the item and what they are. You'd have to cast it on the scroll after the fact (while holding it), but if an NPC is able to acquire the scroll, an Identify will reveal ...


6

Object reading I don't think there are any published spells which explicitly function in the manner described, so your GM has probably invented this anti-tampering spell as a plot device. However, one character option that does let you find out about the history of an object is the Knowledge Domain cleric's Object Reading ability, gained as part their ...


3

I can say with some confidence as a fan with fairly extensive knowledge of the material available for the game (q.v. here) that nothing published by Wizards of the Coast updates the magic items from the Dungeon Master's Guide to the format found in the Magic Item Compendium. While later writers would—through accident or design—deviate from the guidelines ...


8

Talk to your DM Character creation with a new DM is going to rely on their decisions about what you can use. While they may allow you to transition your current character, they may also not if the campaign isn't yet at that level or for any other reason (like not allowing multiclassing.)


11

You can't store the spell in the Ring without using a slot Unfortunately, casting darkness with sorcery points makes it not storable in the ring of spell storing. (Copy pasted from my answer here), based both on the description of the ring: The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. And the tweets by Jeremy Crawford: ...


4

Play any session of Ghosts of Saltmarsh The latest Content Catalog permits players to purchase magic items from Xendros, an NPC in the town of Saltmarsh (ALCC v8.08, p. 9): To purchase specific items from Magic Item Tables F or G, characters must pay gold according to the chart below and 30 downtime days for Xendros’s services, as well as the item’s cost ...


1

No The portable hole creates an extra-dimensional cylinder-shaped "hole" 6 feet in diameter and 10 feet deep. This space is not described as having walls - its just a hole into nothing. The pigments require a surface to be painted on and the hole doesn't have any. Just like you can't drive a nail into the side of your hole to hang a picture, you can't ...


3

Maybe The rule for Marvelous pigments states: When you complete the painting, the object or terrain feature depicted becomes a real, nonmagical object. The area of the Portable Hole is a magical item and therefore can't be created or expanded by Marvelous Pigments. This much is very clear. However, as David Coffron points out, the rule doesn't say the ...


4

Rare The primary actor in this item is the Wand itself, which as you've linked is a Rare item due to the +2 modifiers. While the other parts add some utility, there really isn't anything that's going to push the rarity up another level. The silvered scimitar makes this wand a weapon as well. While that improves the utility of it, I don't think it's a real ...


43

Multiclass Barbarian Any character who is not proficient in medium armor (and has 13 Strength or more) can multiclass (if using that optional rule) into Barbarian to gain proficiency in martial weapons without gaining proficiency in any new armors. Multiclassing Proficiencies \begin{array}{|l|lr|} \hline \text{Class} & \text{Proficiencies Gained}...


Top 50 recent answers are included