New answers tagged

1

Lots of good answers here, but I thought I'd add my thoughts. Storing should be much more expensive. Maybe a single charge/die costs an entire day of being under the weather. Second -- I would not make that storage last indefinitely. Stored health is like a loaf of bread -- it goes bad after some time. I would figure out a time frame (perhaps once a week) ...


1

They only don't work if you use Xanathar's Guide to Everything Under the default rules, nothing prevents you from taking your bonus action simultaneously with your action-- indeed you can take your bonus action 'at any time'. Unless you use the simultaneous action optional rule from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, you can thus cast the spell twice at the ...


-3

It's often thought, that there is no "flavor text" in DnD 5th edition. If description specifically says the bracers allow you to cast multiple Minor Illusions, then they do. But the text doesn't actually say that exactly: A powerful illusionist of House Dimir originally developed these bracers, which enabled her to create multiple minor illusions ...


3

The illusion also ends if you dismiss it as an action or cast this spell again. The spell description of minor illusion does not allow you to have two minor illusions going at once, as the first one ends if you cast it again. Your observations are correct: Illusionist's bracers aren't helpful with minor illusion, except in niche circumstances. Suppose some ...


2

Adding a 1d8 radiant damage to a magic weapon is fairly straight forward: Add a modifier Set Type to Damage Set Subtype to Radiant Dice count to 1 and Dice Type to d8 This should make the d8 radiant damage be added as a note on the attack option. However, this doesn't make it automatically rolled when you roll for damage (this might have something to do ...


1

The feature you describe is currently not supported. I’m pretty familiar with DnDBeyond’s home brew tools. As of right now, there is no way to have multiple types of damage dice display in the dice roller button for a weapon. For now, it can only display the base damage die of the chosen weapon type. You will have to use the manual dice roller on the left ...


-2

Well, of course! I happen to play a bard (female elf, chaotic evil) who does exactly that: she is a producer (and consumer) of the finest crafts you could find: perfume, fine cloth, you name it. She can craft all sorts of goods, but is especially good in making women's dresses. After gaining access to level 6 spell slots, she has begun to produce a special ...


1

You don't want this item to be balanced As pointed out by others, this item as described is fundamentally unbalanced. In the Mistborn series, the Lord Ruler uses this ability in fundamentally unbalanced ways - if I remember correctly, it lets him rule unchallenged for millennia. If you want to recreate the books, this item needs to have a similarly ...


3

I love the idea of trying to re-create this ability! There's a tension between thematic ideas and mechanical systems to navigate here, but I reckon that it's resolvable. Others have pointed out the flaws with your approach, so I'd like to suggest some constructive ideas to implement the ability in line with the effect in the book. Storing: Storing health in ...


6

This encourages boring play patterns. Suppose you're level L, and your mean hit die result is H (so if the die is a d10, H = 5.5 + Con mod). Every day, you recover L/2 hit dice. You can reasonably expect to have 15×L hit dice in the bracers per month that you've owned the bracers, with no limit. (Subtract any hit dice you spent, but how many days per month ...


20

It exists in moderation Beyond the Glamoured Studded Leather, there is something called the Cloak of Many Fashions: While wearing this cloak, you can use a bonus action to change the style, color, and apparent quality of the garment. The cloak’s weight doesn’t change. Regardless of its appearance, the cloak can’t be anything but a cloak. Although it can ...


28

You should look into Shiftweave. It is from the same setting as Changelings (Eberron): When a suit of shiftweave is created, up to five different outfits can be embedded into the cloth. While wearing the clothing, you can speak its command word as a bonus action to transform your outfit into your choice of one of the other designs contained within it. ...


3

This item is hardly balanced. Here are my fix suggestions. This homebrew item has 2 main problems: Unlimited charges As @BenBarden points out in his answer, there is no cap on the number of hit dice that can be stored, nor how often they can be stored. Storing a charge is basically free Storing a charge comes at no real cost due to A) there being no cap ...


43

This is profoundly unbalanced as written. During downtime days, as written, the item permits the user to pour unlimited numbers of hit dice into the bracers. All you have to do is ensure that you don't end the day with less than half your maximum number of hit dice, and that you finish storing at least an hour before you go to sleep, and you're losing ...


3

All I'd say is, it's your story. You're the DM, you're the one in charge. You're not a terrible DM for enforcing your story---after all, YOU took the time to write it and create the space for your players to explore. In the future I would have everyone in the party loot, and have a list ready of possible items and money to be found. Don't assign those items ...


4

No The unconscious condition would end the spell effects if they required concentration. The potion's specifically state that is not the case.


13

They don't wear off As you indicate, the duration of either potion is one hour, and there is no limitation should the affected creature become unconscious. The general rules for magic items also make no mention of such a limitation. In fact, this is the only excerpt I could find addressing durations and potions: Many items, such as potions, bypass the ...


19

A non-magical crystal ball is sufficient assuming it is worth at least 1000 gp. We can see this from the typography of the spell listing, in which the words "crystal ball" are not italicized. The D&D 5e rulebooks consistently italicize the names of magic items anywhere they are used (except section headings), as per the D&D Style Guide. It ...


7

I can find nothing in the description of magical rods in general, or the tentacle rod in particular, that defines its weapon properties. ... in 5e. It may be worth noting that 3.5e’s description of the physical properties of magic rods said Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs due to their sturdy construction. This ...


6

First, its magic item type is: Rod, rare (requires attunement). Compared to say: Vorpal Sword Weapon (any sword that deals slashing damage), legendary (requires attunement) I believe in this case the word weapon is being used only as a descriptor and not as an identifier of a weapon (capable of use in anything that affects weapons.) This actually happens ...


1

It is worth noting that the artificer has the same wording listed in its class description of similar ability. Mainly important because it was released much later so at the very least, it is unlikely to simply be an error. You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using a magic item. However as for Actual applications: One ...


-1

Creatures cannot voluntarily enter an Iron Flask Dale's probably right; it's very dubious that any creature could voluntarily enter an Iron Flask of its own accord. Ordering the recently-ex-occupant not to resist your attempt to put it back won't work either. This order isn't 'likely to result in [the creature's] death', so the Iron Flask rules don't ...


9

A creature can’t voluntarily enter an Iron Flask You can use an action to speak the flask's Command Word, targeting a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you. That’s the only way creatures can get into the flask. So, the problem is not that ordering her in is an illegal order, it’s an impossible order. What troubles me is threatening to kill you ...


2

Creatures can't just willingly enter the flask. If you want it to enter the flask, use the flask on the creature to trap the creature again. An action in 5e only takes 6 seconds, so if the creature succeeds the save, just try again. You could even pass the flask from party member to party member to try multiple times every 6 seconds.


6

The feat Rage Casting (Dragon #310 30) has stiff prerequisites: It requires 5 ranks in the skill Concentration; both the feats Combat Casting and Quicken Spell (Player's Handbook 92 and 98, respectively); the ability frenzy or rage; and the ability to cast 1st-level spells. The feat has the following benefit: When raging, you can cast spells that you can ...


0

No, not even Pun Pun possesses the other-worldly might to do what you ask. The closest you could get would be to have a familiar activate items at your behest. While a familiar is technically an NPC, it must obey every command you issue. Thus, if the familiar is capable of using the spell triggered item, then you could activate it by proxy by telling the ...


5

The item is somewhat overpowered, and can be balanced by reducing the effect or imposing a higher cost. The item's description is mostly clear, although it has some ambiguities: In "the highest level of spell slot available to you", the "available to you" clause may have ambiguous interactions with items like a Ring of Spell Storing. It ...


2

It is different rarities at different caster levels For the following analysis, I will address balance as if it gave you the ability to cast blindness/deafness x times per day, and then I will address action stacking and charge implications. Comparing magic items that cast spells (or have spell-like effects) to instrument of the bards is helpful. When we do ...


2

Thematically, it's a cool idea. Mechanically, it's... a bit strong. Here are the issues I see with this. First, you are effectively granting a number of free castings of Blindness/Deafness (a level 2 spell) a number of times per day, except you can only chooses the blind option (which is by far the stronger option). The bearer gains a number of charges ...


1

The idea of item that can't be removed is against concept of most spells and effects and items in D&D 5. So, if you want an item that "can't be removed by remove curse" - it's close to impossible and whatever such item would do - it likely would belong to area of 'legendary' things, some of which break the normal rules. And certainly, would be ...


3

Yes, if the optional rule is used. The rules for mixing potions is a variant rule that a DM has the option to use if they want. The optional rules state: A character might drink one potion while still under the effects of another, or pour several potions into a single container. The strange ingredients used in creating potions can result in unpredictable ...


9

Variant: Mixing Potions is already an optional rule, so it is entirely up to the DM. It is already up to the DM to decide if they want the Potion Miscibility table to apply to mixing potions. The artificer's elixirs seem to behave very similarly to potions, so a DM could reasonably rule that Potion Miscibility applies to the elixirs as well if they have ...


8

Thomas' answer is by far the most complete, but it lacks my favorite option if you have some... poor ethics. Summon Greater Demon Bear with me. This 4th level spell does the following: You utter foul words, summoning one demon from the chaos of the Abyss. You choose the demon’s type, which must be one of challenge rating 5 or lower [...]. When you summon it ...


12

It would appear that illithids likely do have souls, and therefore can be captured in a Ring of Mind Shielding Illithids themselves at least don't believe that they have souls In Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 80, under the Divine Magic subsection of the Mind Flayer chapter, it says the following: Illithids acknowledge the existence of divine entities, but it ...


8

Your DM is actually wrong, at least according to the rules. While using Detect Magic, after you concentrate for 3 rounds you can make a Spellcraft check to determine the school of magic associated with the item's powers. If you exceed the DC of this check by 10 or more, you automatically identify the item. This makes the DC to identify a magic item with ...


23

You are right that this does not work with the Attack action The tentacle rod gives you a use option for your action. This is different from the Attack action, since the item does not specify that this has anything to do with the Attack action. To see this, you can compare the tentacle rod saying: you can use an action and the class feature you cited: ...


3

Zone of Truth and Truth Serum Zone of truth, and by extension the truth serum magic item which replicates the effect, doesn't directly detect lies, as much as prevent them from being told and thus force creatures to evade the truth if they would otherwise like to lie. For all intents and purposes this is detecting a lie. Detect thoughts As an alternative, if ...


17

Zone of Truth With some careful questioning, we can get the job done with zone of truth: You create a magical zone that guards against deception in a 15-foot-radius sphere centered on a point of your choice within range. Until the spell ends, a creature that enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there must make a Charisma ...


1

Note: Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden has not yet been published, so some details of how this magic item works may change by the time the adventure is published on September 15, 2020. For now, this answer is based on the description shown in the the linked tweet. You can only use a scroll of tarrasque summoning once. Wizards can't copy non-spells into ...


8

With just detect magic and non-epic Spellcraft, the DM is correct. Detect magic can, at best, tell you what school of magic is involved in the making of an item—but curses and traps can be made from any school of magic, so that doesn’t really help you. This is incorrect—Yopi Lapi’s answer reports a way to identify items with just detect magic and Spellcraft. ...


3

Actually no. You'd only be at +24/+19. Oil of sharpness won't work with +3 arrows as the arrows would then carry 2 +3 enhancements, which you would take the higher of...so +3. Oil of sharpness states the weapon/ammunition has a +3 bonus, not that it adds +3 to the bonus. Very small wording differentiation but very important when it comes to ruling things ...


4

Offensive rating increases from 1 to 4. First of all, you have a +3 sword. That means +3 attack bonus and +3 damage. Replacing the morningstar with a Vorpal longsword carries the attack bonus from +4 to +7 and the damage from 11 to 14. Mathematically, the beheading is worth at most two points of damage. When considering tier one PCs, they usually won't have ...


3

Magic weapons should not affect an individual creature's CR, but they should affect the difficulty of the encounter My reasoning behind this is that magical weapons can be nullified fairly easily. A low level party would be able to nullify the Vorpal Sword by: The command spell (available to 1st level clerics and 2nd level paladins) can be used to make the ...


6

We don't have enough information to know The item description is a teaser for an as yet unreleased book. We don't even know if that is the complete description of the item or if there is more restrictions. All we really have to go on is the follow up tweet: Not a spell scroll. #wotcstaff So it is unlikely this item will obey the standard rules for spell ...


15

It is just an attack, not ranged, not melee, not a weapon, not spell Let's start with the obvious, the item doesn't say it's melee/ranged/weapon/spell. The ring isn't a weapon, and although it is magic it isn't creating a spell. The ring hits at 60ft, so it's not melee. The attack can hit a target 60ft away, so maybe it is ranged? Ruling that it is ranged ...


2

It is a ranged attack, neither weapon nor spell. The description need not explicitly state it is a ranged attack, as long as the description has the properties of a ranged attack: You can make ranged attacks only against targets within a specified range. If a ranged attack, such as one made with a spell, has a single range, you can't attack a target beyond ...


9

"Using" a magic item means... using it The "Using a Magic Item" section of the rules explains what "using a magic item" entails: A magic item’s description explains how the item works. Handling a magic item is enough to give a character a sense that something is extraordinary about the item. The identify spell is the fastest ...


3

It's Unclear Here's the text of the rogue Use Magic Device ability: You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of Magic Items. If a weapon gives extra bonuses to elves, is that a "race requirement", or merely a bonus specific to that race? We don't know! There aren't any rules about what counts as a race requirement and what ...


8

The Moonblade is an existing example. The Moonblade states that it "(requires attunement by a Elf or Half-Elf of Neutral Good Alignment)" - this is the kind of restriction that the Rogue can ignore. The kind of wording that would not be affected is wording within the text such as "If an elf wields the weapon, they get +1 to hit", since ...


-3

Homebrew is fundamentally problematic for published rule adjudication. It's 100% possible that your DM has specifically designed the dagger in some way that overrides any and all published information. Check with your DM for a definitive answer. However, taking your description as entirely true, it's the latter: the Rogue ignores the restrictions. The text ...


Top 50 recent answers are included