48

You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. The phrasing may seem unclear but you cannot use several metamagic options and neither can you use the same metamagic option several times on the same spell. Here is a link to a Sage Advice of J. Crawford regarding the matter : https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/08/18/can-...


42

Rule 0: You can. But you can't - and you probably shouldn't. Combat starts when the intent to attack starts (attack or do something else harmful). You should roll initiative, and, if the player character rolls higher than the sorcerer, they have the opportunity to do something. This is the whole point of the Alert feat and the initiative system: it doesn't ...


35

Metamagic Adept does not give the Flexible Casting feature. Flexible Casting is uniquely a feature of the sorcerer class that allows a sorcerer to convert sorcery points into spell slots. This feature is not a feature of the Metamagic Adept feat, so a warlock with the feat cannot convert sorcery points into any kind of spell or pact magic slot. The sorcery ...


28

Two eldritch blasts is fine. Step 1: Cast eldritch blast using Quickened Spell to make its casting time a bonus action. You can do this. Step 2: Flip to PHB p. 203's "Casting Time" section and review the "Bonus Action" subsection: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. ...


27

No, you can not. The rules for Metamagic contain this line You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. Neither the Quickened Spell nor the Twinned Spell metamagic have exceptions allowing them to be used with other metamagics, so in the absence of other features allowing you to use multiple metamagics on ...


27

The text of Extended Spell, emphasis mine: When you Cast a Spell that has a Duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double its Duration, to a maximum Duration of 24 hours. The text of Time Stop, emphasis mine: Time Stop 9th level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: Self Components: V Duration: Instantaneous Classes: ...


26

Each description specifies targeting a second creature. Each feature description is specific to state that we may “target a second creature”. Twinned spell says: target a second creature in range with the same spell. Split enchantment says: you can have it target a second creature. The first three ordinal numbers in English are first, second, and third; ...


22

Twinned Spell simply lets you target a second creature; it doesn't make you cast the spell twice. This is specifically stated in its description: [...] target a second creature in range with the same spell... Therefore you are only casting the spell once and only have to provide the material components once. And, even though Mike Mearls and (his) tweets ...


20

There can be only one Bonus Action On your turn you can only take one bonus action: You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available. In this case, quickening a spell to cast as a bonus action is the use of your bonus action. Should you do that, then you no longer have a ...


18

A range of Self with an area of effect is a further specification. Booming blade has a range of Self (5 foot radius). Twinned spell says: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self Xirema's answer has alleged that Self (5 foot radius) is not a range of Self with respect to Twinned Spell. This is not the case. The ...


18

You Can't Transmute Enervation The Transmuted Spell metamagic states the following: When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder. Because the enervation spell deals necrotic damage, you can't ...


17

There are some Metamagic options that are more situational, and there might be some abuse you could do. There's two things I see: Subtle Metamagic In many campaigns and situations, this ability is pretty much useless. Somatic and verbal components hardly ever matter to your character, unless it's a flavor thing or your character likes lugging around heavy ...


16

It provides more flexibility than intended to classes, which is more forgiving to unexperienced players, and powerful for experienced ones. If your kid isn't trying to optimize the character because, as you say, he's a kid and lacks experience, this is a fun homebrew rule. If he takes metamagic options he dislikes, he can fix that mistake. It makes the ...


14

No. Link Spell [Metamagic] You can cast two spells at the same time. Benefit: When preparing spells, you can link two spells together. These spells must then be cast at the same time; when you cast one, you automatically cast the other. The casting time is equal to the longest casting time listed between the two spells. (For example, if one spell has a ...


14

Yes, Metamagic can be used on ritual spells from any source. Most metamagic options specify that you can use it "when you cast a spell [...]", and casting a ritual version of a spell still counts as casting the spell. Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can ...


13

Yes, Metamagic may be applied to spells that are cast using a class feature instead of spell slots. The Metamagic feature says a metamagic option may be applied when the sorcerer casts a spell: You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. That is the only criteria: the Sorcerer must cast the spell. Metamagic ...


13

I believe that in both cases, the "you must use the new roll" should be interpreted only within the context of the effect itself. That is to say, the intent is that the Flames of Phlegethos effect can only reroll a given die once; you don't get to keep rerolling 1s until you come up with something that isn't a 1. But then once all that rerolling is ...


12

You can use one Metamagic option or the other for a single casting of a spell, but not both at the same time. The Metamagic section of the Basic Rules states (emphasis mine): At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs. You gain two of the following Metamagic options of your choice. You gain another one at 10th and 17th level. ...


12

The Metamagic option Empowered Spell says it may be used "when you roll damage for a spell." When you rolled all three of the dice, you were rolling damage for the spell. Your decision of how many and which dice to re-roll (one, or up to your Cha limit, two; a d8 or the d6) needs to be made at that time (after you see the results of the initial ...


11

If the spell effect says to make an attack roll, Seeking Spell works. When a spell description instructs you to make an attack roll, the attack is part of the spell’s effect. The rules for spellcasting in the Player's Handbook make this clear: Each spell description in Chapter 11 begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school ...


10

The transition from not-Combat to Combat happens when the DM says it does. It doesn't have to happen on "turn boundaries". Turn boundaries are an abstraction to keep combat simple. Someone with the alert feat cannot be surprised (well, except by a plot twist or the like, but they still get to roll initiative). And entering combat doesn't happen ...


10

The description of the Heightened Spell Metamagic option says (emphasis mine): When you cast a spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw to resist its effects, you can spend 3 sorcery points to give one target of the spell disadvantage on its first saving throw made against the spell. Heightened Spell only ever changes the first saving throw made ...


10

You have found the only way for an Artificer to restore the Metamagic Adept SP apart from a long rest. A 14th level Artificer has the Magic Item Savant feature: You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using a magic item. So a 14th level Artificer may attune to the Bloodwell Vial, which says: In addition, when you roll ...


9

You can only benefit from a long rest once every 24 hours The long rest rules state that A character can't benefit from more than one long rest in a 24-hour period So even if metamagic could stack and Time Stop was a valid target for Extended Spell, no time would be passing because time would be stopped. If it had been less than 24 hours since the previous ...


8

Quickened Spell does nothing; the item always requires an action. You are casting a spell through the wand, so the spell is a valid target for metamagics. For 1 charge, you cast the 3rd-level version of the spell. As an example, if it were a single-target spell like chromatic orb, you could use Twinned Spell on it and target 2 creatures. However, the spell ...


8

No, only once, regardless of the number of feats. The rules as you quoted are pretty clear: When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level." Emphasis added. The use of plural noun and verb form cover the use of different single ...


8

To give an interpretation with my DM hat on: The wording of the ability is "reroll a number of the damage dice". To me that is one reroll, of a number of dice. So when you activate the ability, you pick "a number of the damage dice" and reroll them. In your 'sequential' example, you can make one reroll then decide whether to make another. ...


7

RAW? No, you cannot. HellSaint's answer covers this well. If you declare a hostile action (like casting hold person), the game drops into rounds and turns: Determine surprise. Establish positions. Roll initiative. Take turns. Begin the next round. What can the Alert character even do? If the Alert character goes first... ...describe the environment as you ...


7

No, that would require a second use of Empowered Spell on one spell Empowered Spell triggers "[w]hen you roll damage for a spell." When 8d6 is rolled, the ability triggers, and you have the option to spend a sorcery point and reroll some dice. However, you can only reroll "a number of the damage dice" [emphasis added], meaning that you ...


7

Spells that directly deal damage can be made merciful. Merciful Spell says (emphasis mine): You can alter spells that inflict damage to inflict nonlethal damage instead. Spells that inflict damage of a particular type (such as fire) inflict nonlethal damage of that same type. A merciful spell does not use up a higher-level spell slot than the spell’s actual ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible