New answers tagged

4

Yes. The Ocular Spell Feat changes a spell‘s effect to a ray, thus makes it become a ray spell. If a ray spell deals damage, you can score a critical hit just as if it were a weapon. A ray spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. This damage can be hit point damage, nonlethal damage, ...


4

You may use both abilities for the damage roll, but not together on any dice affected by the other ability. Both abilities explicitly state, "you must use the new roll." RAW (Rules As Written), this is pretty straightforward. Whatever you roll on the re-roll, you must use it. This means if you roll a 1 on a fire damage die and use Flames of ...


13

I believe that in both cases, the "you must use the new roll" should be interpreted only within the context of the effect itself. That is to say, the intent is that the Flames of Phlegethos effect can only reroll a given die once; you don't get to keep rerolling 1s until you come up with something that isn't a 1. But then once all that rerolling is ...


5

It doesn't matter, both abilities stipulate targeting only a second creature. Reaper says: the spell can instead target two creatures Twinned spell says: target a second creature If at any point you are targeting a third creature, you are contradicting both abilities as they each specify targeting only two creatures and a second creature. See the first ...


-1

It depends what books you are playing with If you play without Xanathar's Guide to Everything, there are no explicit rules regarding simultaneous event resolution, so there's no particular guidance here except as regards game balance considerations (rerolling sequentially isn't a problem; empower is a relatively weak metamagic) and that whatever the DM ...


4

When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier When you spend the sorcery point, you can reroll a number of damage dice. You can reroll 1 die, because 1 is a number. You can reroll 2 dice, because 2 is a number. You cannot defer the decision of how many dice to reroll until ...


8

To give an interpretation with my DM hat on: The wording of the ability is "reroll a number of the damage dice". To me that is one reroll, of a number of dice. So when you activate the ability, you pick "a number of the damage dice" and reroll them. In your 'sequential' example, you can make one reroll then decide whether to make another. ...


3

Are you rolling damage? Is it for a spell? If the answers are “yes” and “yes”, you can spend 1 point and reroll up to CHA mod dice. Each time you roll damage for Chaos Bolt the answers are “yes” and “yes” so you can [see above]. However, due to the restriction that only one Metamagic option can be used on any one spell, you can only do it once.


7

No, that would require a second use of Empowered Spell on one spell Empowered Spell triggers "[w]hen you roll damage for a spell." When 8d6 is rolled, the ability triggers, and you have the option to spend a sorcery point and reroll some dice. However, you can only reroll "a number of the damage dice" [emphasis added], meaning that you ...


6

Yes, that is supported by a Sage Advice ruling on Scorching Ray Empowered Spell: When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier Note that it says "the damage dice" [for the spell]. If it had said "When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery ...


3

Frame Challenge: It doesn't matter whether you reroll the damage dice, you can't make the spell leap The d8's used are serving many functions. They are damage dice, to be sure, but they are also determining what kind of damage the spell does and whether or not it leaps to another target. Empowered Magic lets you reroll the damage aspect of a die or dice, ...


12

The Metamagic option Empowered Spell says it may be used "when you roll damage for a spell." When you rolled all three of the dice, you were rolling damage for the spell. Your decision of how many and which dice to re-roll (one, or up to your Cha limit, two; a d8 or the d6) needs to be made at that time (after you see the results of the initial ...


1

No rule is violated in this process: You are casting a spell [Darkness] per the ability description. (Allowed) You are applying a single metamagic option [Quickened Spell] to the spell. (Allowed) Casting the spell with sorcery points is still casting the spell, there isn't a source restriction on how a spell is cast, so combining the two works as normal.


13

Yes, Metamagic may be applied to spells that are cast using a class feature instead of spell slots. The Metamagic feature says a metamagic option may be applied when the sorcerer casts a spell: You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. That is the only criteria: the Sorcerer must cast the spell. Metamagic ...


6

Yes, you should be able to quicken a darkness spell cast in this way. I'm assuming you're concerned about this restriction from the description of the Metamagic feature of the Sorcerer class: You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. Metamagic options are sub-abilities granted by the Metamagic class feature, ...


Top 50 recent answers are included