New answers tagged

3

It's a good ruling Either your GM didn't know the RAW ruling at the time, in which case he came up with a ruling off the bat that he thought would be balanced, coherent and believable, or he did know the RAW answer and chose to ignore it, as I would have. The problem I have with the RAW ruling is that it clashes with my view of the scene. A strong NPC is ...


6

It's definitely against the rules, but not unreasonable The scenario as presented is fairly reasonable, but the ruling isn't RAW, and if this irritated you it's completely justified. Plainly put, forced movement breaks grapples, and it doesn't care which creature is moved. PHB pg. 290 under conditions, Grappled: The condition also ends if an effect ...


1

Is it reasonable to make Water Whip a tug of war, requiring a Strength saving throw against my characters' Ki Save DC, in situations where a target is being restrained? The specific ruling is probably not RAW, but could be entirely reasonable IMO. There is good precedence in the case that a target is only grappled, then any forced movement should still take ...


13

No, a monk's fists are not considered weapons. Monk's Martial Arts states Your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don't have the two-handed or heavy property. which means that even for the monk, unarmed strikes are not ...


1

Martial Arts • You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table. Polearm Master This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals ...


-4

I would say that it does. I will describe why with very colorful hyperbole's and circular logic, and all the things that make it difficult to find the information you are looking for. When relying on descriptions 100% of the time to do 100% of your thinking for you: If you relied on every single spell description to tell you that your spell indeed exists ...


16

RAW is unclear, but I believe the intent is that you are still limited to a certain distance; it's not indefinite RAW, the feature is worded in a way that only makes sense in combat when time is divided up into turns, therefore it is unclear what this means outside of combat. However, if I guess the intent of the feature, then I believe it is equivalent to ...


7

Shadow Step is teleportation. If it were based on "ninja like reflexes" then there would be no way of moving between shadows that are not connected and the characters's movement rate would apply. A human monk with a movement rate of 40 feet can take their full movement then telport an additional 60 feet into a shadow that is on the other side of a deep ...


13

The Shadow Step feature is not magical The Sage Advice Compendium (page 17) answers the question on determining a game feature as magical as below: Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature: Is it a magic item? Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell ...


21

Yes, you can dispel it The Shadow Arts feature says: Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. The key term here is "cast" because ...


3

No, “extra damage” is part of the same “damage roll” that Warrior Born gives a bonus to, not a separate “damage roll” that would get a separate copy of Warrior Born’s bonus. You only get the +1 once. But the situation is more complicated than that because you have misunderstood how the spiker race works. The spikers from Planar Handbook do not get “1d8 ...


8

The Multiple Attack Penalty (MAP) rules on p446 state: The more attacks you make beyond your first in a single turn, the less accurate you become, represented by the multiple attack penalty. The second time you use an attack action during your turn, you take a –5 penalty to your attack roll. The third time you attack, and on any subsequent attacks, you ...


0

With the addition of Xanathar's Guide to Everything, the Kensei Monk can use Ranged weapons as a Monk weapon. Kensei Weapons. Choose two types of weapons to be your Kensei weapons: one melee weapon and one ranged weapon. Each of these weapons can be any simple or martial weapon that lacks the heavy and special properties. The longbow is also a valid ...


Top 50 recent answers are included