Skip to main content
14 votes
Accepted

Can Vecna’s Rotten Fate ability kill a player outright?

It is Vecna’s next turn after the humanoid dies, not Vecna’s next turn after using the ability. A Humanoid killed by this magic rises as a zombie at the start of Vecna's next turn [after the humanoid ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
9 votes
Accepted

Can you stake a Vampire before it turns Gaseous and floats away?

No. Unlike a normal undead, a Vampire reduced to 0 hit points or less is not immediately destroyed. Reducing a vampire’s hit points to 0 or lower incapacitates it but doesn’t always destroy it (MM ...
Peregrin's user avatar
  • 4,873
6 votes

Vrock spores question

The cloud has a 15 foot radius. In this case, the trait description tells us exactly the size of the cloud: A 15­-foot­-radius cloud Therefore, it doesn’t matter the size of the vrock or where the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
5 votes

Does being in the same space as a swarm reduce the chance of being hit by an attack?

Probably not First, we can consider cover (PHB p.196). In general, a creature being between an attacker and the target grants half cover, which gives the target a +2 to AC. However, this requires &...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Can we prove or disprove that Humanoids and Giants are defined by their Size Categories?

This search at D&D Beyond yields five large humanoids (and zero huge or gargantuan humanoids): Deformed Duergar Ghald (a named sahaguin) Lizardfolk Render Sahuagin Baron Sundeth This search at D&...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
5 votes

Can we prove or disprove that Humanoids and Giants are defined by their Size Categories?

The Sahuaguin Baron from the Monster Manual is a Large Humanoid. I know of no official statblocks for a Medium/Small/Tiny Giant. However, creature types in D&D 5e do not have inherent rules, as ...
DwayneTheVrock's user avatar
5 votes

Can Vecna’s Rotten Fate ability kill a player outright?

The player character rises after dying, not after the ability damaged them There is nothing in the ability description that would suggest that the PC dies immediately. It just deals damage on a failed ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes

Does being in the same space as a swarm reduce the chance of being hit by an attack?

You can rule that way, but it won't help in this case Creatures can provide cover to other creatures [PHB Chapter 9: Combat]: A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws....
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.3k
4 votes
Accepted

Intelligent ooze or cube from old 3.5 campaign

I had misremembered the edition where they encountered the cube in question. It was actually the named NPC "Glabbagool" from the Out of the Abyss adventure. He was a gelatinous cube that had ...
tanbog's user avatar
  • 199
3 votes

Intelligent ooze or cube from old 3.5 campaign

I realize that we already have an accepted answer, and the actual answer wasn’t from 3.5e to begin with, but for the sake of completeness, we also have a list of intelligent oozes from D&D 3.5e: ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
3 votes

If a Water Orm uses its Water Travel ability after swallowing a creature, what happens to the swallowed creature?

The GM must decide There is nothing in the general rules, nor in the rules for swallowing a creature whole that explicitly covers this case. If you look at it technically, a swallowed creature remains ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
2 votes

Can a Will-o'-Wisp be put inside a bag of holding?

How good is a Warlock's aim? This might work It is arguable that if... A Warlock PC is using Eldritch Blast The Repelling Blast invocation is chosen (on a hit it moves target 10') The Warlock is ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible