Skip to main content
48 votes
Accepted

If a character falls off a flying mount (e.g. a pegasus), can the mount fly down to catch them before they hit the ground?

There are no rules that allow for this. The Player's Handbook/basic rules for falling provide no guidance whatsoever: A fall from a great height is one of the most common hazards facing an adventurer....
Thomas Markov's user avatar
43 votes
Accepted

What are the benefits of having a mount?

The game benefits to having a mount in-game are the same as the real-life benefits of having a mount. You can carry much more at a normal pace with a mount. A riding horse's carrying capacity is ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
36 votes

Can a rider move using his mount, attack from his mount, then have the mount dash away?

No, the mount acts on its own turn Controlled mount The PHB describes the rules for mounted combat. In them it describes that a controlled mount has an initiative that is the same as the rider's: The ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
33 votes
Accepted

Is a mount considered an "ally" for the purpose of Pack Tactics?

Yes, as long as the mount is within 5 feet An ally is not clearly defined in 5e, so we can use the English definition: a person, group, or nation that is associated with another or others for some ...
David Coffron's user avatar
31 votes

Does a controlled mount share its rider's turn?

No, a controlled mount acts on its own turn (adjacent to the rider's) Initiative determines the order of turns during combat. [...] The DM ranks the combatants in order from the one with the highest ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
30 votes

If a character falls off a flying mount (e.g. a pegasus), can the mount fly down to catch them before they hit the ground?

Under certain conditions, yes The Rescue Maneuver The rescue maneuver begins on the pegasus's turn and requires the following: The paladin is falling normally, and has not yet hit the ground. The ...
sptrashcan's user avatar
  • 4,425
28 votes

Who, between the player and the DM, decides the actions of an independent mount?

By the rules, the DM controls. But, in every case I've ever seen this happen at the table, the DM has enough going on that they just delegate this to the player. This usually comes with the ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 30k
28 votes
Accepted

Would it be better to target a rider or mount with a banishing arrow?

The Worg Although the hobgoblin and the worg are both a CR 1/2, their CR calculations are vastly different and the hobgoblin is wayyyyy more dangerous when they have their worg by virtue of their ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
27 votes

Can the DM choose to always attack me instead of my mount?

Enemies get to say which one of you they want to attack. Usually the mount is easier to hit, but killing it doesn't stop the rider from attacking on foot. Attacking the rider is harder, but more ...
Superbest's user avatar
  • 1,074
27 votes
Accepted

Can a Druid wild shaped into a horse be considered a mount?

Yes, you can mount your Druid friend The rules for Mounts indicate that a willing creature at least one size category larger than you, with appropriate anatomy, can serve as a mount. A horse is ...
Lost_in_Hyrule's user avatar
26 votes

Is weapon reach measured from the edge of the mount's space or the rider's?

I am unable to find a specific answer to your question by RAW (maybe somebody else can help), but having a look at a relevant rule may help: PHB 198: If the mount provokes an opportunity attack ...
Ilya Donskikh's user avatar
25 votes
Accepted

Who, between the player and the DM, decides the actions of an independent mount?

The DM Controls If you are not actively giving orders, then the mount is basically a NPC not under your control and therefore the DM determines it's actions. If you are actively giving orders, then ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
23 votes

Can the DM choose to always attack me instead of my mount?

Under the Mounted Combat section of the SRD, it states that If the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount. The rules make no mention of ...
Reibello's user avatar
  • 4,158
23 votes

How do we kill what we can't see?

Prevent it from going unseen in the first place The most straightforward way of hurting something that is invisible is by preventing it from going invisible in the first place. If the mage is within ...
Theik's user avatar
  • 36.4k
22 votes

Is weapon reach measured from the edge of the mount's space or the rider's?

Space Controlled The size is not about physical boundaries the creature occupies, but to area the creature effectively controls. The Size Categories table shows how much space a creature of a ...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Is weapon reach measured from the edge of the mount's space or the rider's?

Reach is measured from the rider RAW Nothing in the rules says that mounting another creature changes your size. So, according to the most basic reading of the rules, your size simply does not change. ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Is there a 5e equivalent of the mounted lancers in 3.5?

The benefits of a lance are built into its properties: Lances have the second-highest raw, average damage output of the weapons in the SRD* Lances grant reach, though they also grant disadvantage ...
Conduit's user avatar
  • 5,455
22 votes
Accepted

Is a pegasus summoned by Find Greater Steed controlled or independent when mounted?

In a recent Dragon Talk titled Sage Advice on Mounted Combat Jeremy Crawford explained the intended rules, which are that the Paladin can choose: The spell says that you and the steed fight as a ...
Thyzer's user avatar
  • 18.3k
21 votes

Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

No, it doesn't Firstly it's against the spirit of the rule, which is to allow creatures to become invisible with all their gear, so they don't give themselves away by a floating sword. Secondly, it's ...
harlandski's user avatar
  • 15.2k
21 votes

How do we kill what we can't see?

Remember that unless the hobgoblin takes an action to hide, you know which square it's in(PHB, 291) and also discussed in this question. Weapon attacks don't, in general, require a visible foe. A ...
Exal's user avatar
  • 990
21 votes

Can Opportunity Attacks by a mounted PC with the Mounted Combatant feat be made with Advantage?

Sure Unless the source of your advantage is dependent on something that doesn't apply to attacks of opportunity (like taking the "Attack Action"), you can absolutely get advantage on an attack of ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
20 votes

When a controlled mount takes the Disengage action, does the rider still provoke an opportunity attack if he or she does not also Disengage?

Riders are using their mount's movement thus they do not provoke OAs According to the rule for opportunity attacks: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
20 votes

Can you switch places with your mount using bait and switch?

Probably hilarity Let's just look over the scenario and then the requirements. We have our fighter who is directly above their horse (substitute for any other mount, I'm just specifying for ease). ...
Someone_Evil's user avatar
  • 48.5k
19 votes

Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

Trying to have it both ways Even though you are both creatures, and it should take two spells, or it should take another spell level on this one (invisibility cast at third level) to make you both ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
19 votes
Accepted

Does a centaur PC also count as being mounted?

A creature is only considered mounted if it is riding something The rules for mounted combat (Player's Handbook, p. 198) say: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that ...
Kuerten's user avatar
  • 5,990
19 votes
Accepted

What happens when you are knocked prone while mounted and make the saving throw to remain mounted?

You are mounted and prone In this case, the originating effect is something where the rider now has the prone condition. When mounted and prone, the rider must make another DC 10 DEX save to stay in ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
19 votes

Is the Mounted Combatant feat's ability to redirect an attack at the mount limited by the reach of the attacker?

A bit of a frame challenge here... If your DM requires that square layout you drew, your DM is looking at positioning too rigidly. From Creature Size A creature's space is the area in feet that it ...
T.J.L.'s user avatar
  • 48.8k
18 votes
Accepted

Can I choose to have my mount attack instead of me?

No With some stipulations. First, the PHB on page 198 gives good insight into mounted combat. There are two sections I'd like to call attention to: While you're mounted, you have two options. You ...
UrhoKarila's user avatar
  • 5,973
18 votes

What are the benefits of having a mount?

This started off in the comments, but I'll spin it off to a separate answer. The other answer well addresses some practical RL-based uses for a Mount, and all of those are true. Here, I will lay out ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.7k
18 votes
Accepted

Does Lightning Bolt hit both a mount and its rider?

RAW is unclear about whether a mount and rider occupy the same space One important question is whether a mount and its rider are considered to be occupying the same space, or whether the rider ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible