New answers tagged

1

The specific overrules the general. The general rule: A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. However, when you use Mounted Combatant you modify the target, this overrides the general rule: You can force an attack targeted at your ...


4

The circumstances of the attack roll (including cover) are irrelevant in this case-- the rider does nothing to the attacker. The feat applies specific rules which override the general rules. As Medix2 cited, the relevant rule about cover is [...] A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach ...


10

You can't see the attack coming. Unless you're in total cover inside impenetrable transparent windows (what are you riding, the Popemobile?), you can't see that your mount is getting attacked, so you can't do anything about it. No, the feat doesn't say you have to see the attack coming. This is a corner case that the rules shouldn't be expected to address--...


7

The rider gets no benefits from total cover because a redirected attack is not a direct attack but an indirect one; alternatively, this is a case over specific over general The rules on Cover state: [...] A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area ...


9

This ... Original rider dismounts. The mount is no longer serving as a mount and reverts to its original position in the initiative order. The mount could have taken some, none or all of its movement, action and bonus action (MAB) but any that remain are lost when the rider dismounts. If the mount's turn occurs before the second rider's turn, the mount can ...


18

RAW it gets an entire extra turn The mounting rules state that a controlled mount has its initiative set to yours when you mount it, which would give it a full extra turn just like normally happens when your initiative comes up. To emphasize that this is in fact the case, the mounting rules state: A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn ...


0

The description of the find steed spell says: Your steed serves you as a mount, both in combat and out, and you have an instinctive bond with it that allows you to fight as a seamless unit. [...] While your steed is within 1 mile of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Anytime you are within that mile seems like a legitimate time. Discuss ...


4

When you mount it The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. The choice of if it will be controlled or independent happens when you mount it. To change that you need to dismount and remount which takes your entire movement (half to dismount, half to remount) so it's not much of an impediment because, while mounted, you ...


2

No you cannot "mount a vehicle" On page 198 of the PHB it states: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount. On page 216 of BG: DiA it states: Infernal war machines are vehicles built in the Nine Hells and fueled by the souls of the damned. PHB page 181-182 have a section titled "...


1

No you cannot "mount a vehicle" On page 198 of the PHB it states: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount. On page 216 of BG: DiA it states: Infernal war machines are vehicles built in the Nine Hells and fueled by the souls of the damned. PHB page 181-182 have a section titled "...


Top 50 recent answers are included