33

You cannot move across the rain A definition for the English word "across" is: From one side to the other of (a place, area, etc.) To move across a liquid would thus require you to go from one side of the liquid to the other. This can easily be applied to concepts like walking over a lake, or a pond, or an actual body of water but if you were to ...


32

A creature with a speed of zero cannot stand up. The rules for being prone say: You can't stand up if you don't have enough movement left or if your speed is 0. To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation. A creature with a speed of zero cannot stand up. What if the monster can teleport? This question establishes that teleporting ...


31

You'd need your monk to have a move speed of over 500'. Even if it did allow you to step on raindrops, you have to remember that in D&D falling happens instantly OR 500'/round depending on how your DM handles falling. Assuming your DM rules that the rain is falling at 500'/round to ascend you'd need a faster movement speed see Fastest a character can ...


30

Yes, a frightened creature can circle the source of its fear. There are no secret rules and I'm not sure this needs that much more clarification. If you are 10' away from a creature you are frightened of then you can circle it, as long as you do not move closer. This is not too dissimilar to my sister fearfully circling the spider in the middle of the room ...


29

Movement does not reduce your speed. The way Speed works in D&D 5e is as follows: Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round. Some creatures and characters additionally have a flying speed, which is how far they can fly in 1 round. After moving its speed on a turn, a creature ...


27

"Who are you, and what have you done with our leader?" Thomas Markov talks about the RAW regarding a spell's casting/effects/etc being perceivable, but I'm going to argue that the issue wasn't the visibility of the spell itself. Consider these three quotes (emphasis mine) from your question: ... we encountered a frost giant and a few stone giants ...


24

RAW: The flier can escape the surface. Depending on our flier's normal and flying speeds and the condition of the water (normal or difficult terrain), she'll be able to escape just fine, it's only a question of how long it takes to get out of being prone. If she's lucky, she'll fall, land, and not be prone because she took no damage from the fall, whether by ...


21

You can't block a 10-foot-wide hallway, regardless of the grid Rules as written, a Medium creature controls a 5-foot-by-5-foot space. When you play on a grid but try to "stand between squares", you're effectively trying to control a 10-foot-by-10-foot space, which you'd need to be a Large creature to do. Playing on a grid is an optional rule. If ...


20

Getting up from prone uses movement, but is not the same as moving. The Tabaxi's Feline Agility trait states (VGtM, p. 115): Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you move 0 feet on one of your turns. While standing up from prone uses some of your movement, it is never described as "moving": You can drop prone without using any ...


19

This works, the spell water walk defines snow as a liquid for mechanical purposes. Water walk says: This spell grants the ability to move across any liquid surface--such as water, acid, mud, snow, quicksand, or lava Here snow is described as a liquid for mechanical purposes. I argue that this demonstrates that for mechanical purposes, the rules are ...


18

You can obtain the correct Unarmored Movement for levels when the character has that feature using math.floor((MonkLevel+6)/4)*5. This gives correct unarmored movement for levels 2-20; at level 1 this would give 5 ft. of unarmored movement, but monks don't have the feature at level 1, so you're fine =) If you're dead-set on inputting the formula at creation ...


18

To benefit from Step of the Wind, you must use your bonus action. Step of the Wind says: You can spend 1 ki point to take the Disengage or Dash action as a bonus action on your turn, and your jump distance is doubled for the turn. At the end of the ability description it says "for the turn." This means that step of the winds jump distance is ...


18

The DM should respond "Sorry, you spent your action attacking, you don't have one left to spend hiding." You've cited the relevant rules already. If the PC wants to conceal their location after the attack, they will need to take the Hide action to do so, even if they are invisible. So they cannot do this. (They'll still benefit from invisibility ...


16

The creature(s) does not have to dash Actually, compulsion seems quite carefully worded around to avoid that. Let's look at a couple of points: If the spell forced taking the Dash action it would say so. For example, fear states: a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route Compulsion explicitly states the ...


16

Yes, you can misty step above someone. There is nothing in the rules preventing this. Misty step says: Briefly surrounded by silvery mist, you teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you can see. If you can see the unoccupied space, you can teleport to it. The trouble is adjudicating what happens when you fall onto another creature. Tasha's ...


15

The creature is not compelled to gain additional speed or movement Compulsion forces the creature to "use as much of its movement as possible". The Dash action does not involve using movement; rather, it allows a creature to "gain extra movement". A compulsion to use all your movement does not imply a compulsion to also gain movement so ...


15

The rules do not say Here's the spell description: Slick grease covers the ground in a 10-foot square centered on a point within range and turns it into difficult terrain for the duration. When the grease appears, each creature standing in its area must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or fall prone. A creature that enters the area or ends its turn there ...


15

Time is measured in turns not seconds In D&D 5e, movement and actions do not consume time, they consume actions. The game is inherently turn based. Actions happen in sequence, usually each action completes before another can begin, the exceptions are movement (which can be broken up between actions or attacks on your turn), Bonus Actions (which can occur ...


13

You cannot end the move closer if you are already as close as you can get. The second sentence of Aggressive says: You must end this move closer to the enemy than you started. If you are grappling the creature, you are most likely already as close as you can get to the creature in terms of how the rules measure distance between positions. Since you are as ...


13

Speed is Speed If you have more than one speed, such as your walking speed and a flying speed, you can switch back and forth between your speeds during your move. The creature subjected to the Wall can choose which speed (or combination thereof) to use.


13

The Echo does provoke opportunity attacks To start with, creature is not a strictly defined term in the game. Since D&D 5e uses natural language as opposed to strictly defined language, we need to figure out whether or not it "walks like a duck" so to speak. But we have some clues it should be counted as a creature: It has an AC and Hit Point(...


13

No The text is clear that you must make a weapon attack on your turn to get the bonus speed. The only ways of making a weapon attack on your turn use the Attack action or Cast a Spell action (using the right kind of spell). As such, you do not have your action available to Dash. There are some niche ways of triggering an opportunity attack using your ...


13

Does your DM like Wuxia? Wuxia is "a genre of Chinese fiction concerning the adventures of martial artists in ancient China [and] is traditionally a form of fantasy literature". The abilities of monks in D&D have drawn on this literary and cinematic tradition since the earliest editions of the game. One particular source of wuxia abilities is ...


12

The spell is unclear, so it will be up to DM ruling/interpretation. As you pointed out, the spell is unclear. I haven't found any kind of clarification on it in the Sage Advice Compendium and the spell has never received any kind of errata. And, well, spells do what they say, so, failing the saving throw does... nothing. From my reading. It does not stop the ...


12

This generally works The Immovable Object does not have any specific language calling out it works differently with worn or carried objects, a piece of clothing is definitely an object so it's a valid target for the spell. Addressing the individual questions: Would a creature trapped by an Immovable Object spell on their clothes be considered grappled? No, ...


12

Taking the Dash action doesn't force you to move The Dash action merely states: When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash. Any increase or decrease to your speed changes ...


12

It's #1 The creature's land speed can only benefit from one enhancement bonus. To determine the creature's speed while it's wearing the boots of striding and springing and affected by a haste spell… determine the creature's speed using only the effect of the boots of speed; then… determine the creature's speed using only the haste spell. After that, the ...


12

A standard wagon can carry 2 tons (4,000 lbs) The Arms & Equipment Guide has considerably more detailed rules for representing vehicles than can be found in the core books - though it's a 3e resource, there isn't a 3.5e update for this book so it's still valid for 3.5e games (and other 3.5e books specifically refer to its rules for vehicles). Amongst ...


11

The notion of movement speed being per round and not turn is not very useful. In general, the stuff a character is able to do during a round is limited to their turn, the major exception here is reactions, which we'll get back to. Your speed is a metric which informs how far you can move on your turn for free. In addition, all creatures can take the Dash ...


11

Both characters are squeezing The rules describe how a character can fit into a space smaller than the 5 ft. square they normally occupy, officially listed as Squeezing into a Smaller Space: A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's only 5 ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible