New answers tagged

0

It depends on circumstances If you aren't in combat and the enemy has reason to suspect you are around, then it is your Stealth vs. their passive Perception as long as you are keeping out of sight. If you move openly in front of the enemy, then they will see you. If you aren't in combat and they have reason to suspect you are hiding nearby, they can make ...


4

Movement through the wall should be voluntary Below is a direct quote of the answer @gandalfmeansme provided to the related question "If a creature is moved through a prismatic wall multiple times is it affected multiple times?" There are numerous spells that do damage or otherwise inconvenience a creature when that creature moves, or is moved, into their ...


-1

Let's look at the prismatic walls description and compare it to other wall type spells. A shimmering, multicolored plane of light forms a vertical opaque wall--up to 90 feet long, 30 feet high, and 1 inch thick--centered on a point you can see within range.... As it passes or reaches through each layer, the creature must make a Dexterity saving throw or ...


7

First, about your scenario specifically: Do be aware that being invisible is not the same as hidden. Did your sorcerer take a hide action? To even lose the Wyvern's awareness he'll have to surpass its passive perception of 14. If he did roll at least a 15, did you consider using a turn on an action to roll the Wyvern's +4 perception against his stealth ...


17

The Wyvern is unable to pass through the Sorcerer's space and must move around them or attack them. It would seem there are no additional rules that come into play here, either from invisibility or movement, so unless your monster has a trample ability, it would not be able to move through the Sorcerer's space, as per your quoted movement rule. (It feels a ...


-2

In my opinion, the most voted answer is contradicted by the PHB and thus incorrect. The RAW answer to your question is NO if using the Variant: Playing On A Grid (PHB 192) rules. You cannot move diagonally in that specific scenario illustrated in the question. In the PHB page 192, it states Corners. Diagonal movement can't cross the corner of a wall, ...


11

There are no special rules for 3D distance Emphasis on the special here. The default rules already assume a 3 dimensional world. Hence why areas of effects are described as 3D geometrical shapes such as spheres, cubes or cylinders rather than 2D shapes. The DMG pg. 249-252 has some optional rules for estimating how many creatures are caught up in an area ...


-1

Teleport A scroll of teleport typically costs 1000 gp and can teleport you and 3 other creatures and all your gear to wherever, with a small but potentially significant chance of failure. A scroll of teleport crafted by an Arcane Savant who added the Summoner's teleport spell to a full-caster list costs only 700 gp, but can teleport only 3 creatures. This ...


16

RAW is unclear, but I believe the intent is that you are still limited to a certain distance; it's not indefinite RAW, the feature is worded in a way that only makes sense in combat when time is divided up into turns, therefore it is unclear what this means outside of combat. However, if I guess the intent of the feature, then I believe it is equivalent to ...


15

No, it's an illusion with no speed. Difficult Terrain does not affect it. The Trickery Domain Cleric's Channel Divinity: Invoke Duplicity states: As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the illusion up to 30 feet to a space you can see, but it must remain within 120 feet of you. You are moving the illusion, it does not have a speed. Having a speed ...


9

It is possible by cooperating with a Gnoll Pack Lord A Gnoll Pack Lord needs to help. You also need a victim to be reduced to 0 hit points by the Flesh Gnawer for Rampage (hopefully a creature adjacent to the Flesh Gnawer). Here is how the situation can play out: On the Gnoll Pack Lord's turn, it takes the Ready Action: it will use Incite Rampage on the ...


8

When haste has been cast on it A standard Gnoll Flesh Gnawer (Volo's, 154) has to choose to between each action option and does not naturally get more than one action. In the normal scenario, the creature can either use their Multiattack or Sudden Rush. They can not normally do both. If they've chosen Sudden Rush, then there is no action remaining to make ...


7

They likely only prevent reductions to your speed from encumbrance and heavy armor First, it would be highly unusual if your speed constantly became 30 feet, this is not something which seems to come up elsewhere in the rules. Instead the Boots of Striding and Springing likely would have used wording similar to that used for effects such as the freedom of ...


Top 50 recent answers are included