91

No. PHB, Page 163, Multiclassing With this rule, you have the option of gaining a level in a new class whenever you advance in level, instead of gaining a level in your current class. This wording seems clear to me that you must choose either a different class, or gain a level in your current class. In the case of a cleric, this implies that you ...


71

There are two main downsides to multiclassing, though depending on your play style and group you may never run into the lesser of the two issues. Falling behind single-class characters The primary issue, and one that is more likely to impact any game that makes it past 5 levels or so, is that classes scale in power generally at the same time. Casters get ...


65

I would say no to both copying and casting Wizard spells above level 1, based on the spellcasting rules under multiclassing on pg 164 of the PHB: You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class I read that as saying that you would count as a level 1 wizard, which comes ...


57

This is known as a "re-spec", and it's reasonable on occasion. While changing one's character levels isn't a standard rule in D&D 5th edition, it's not unreasonable to allow a character to change a poorly-built character on a one-off basis like this. In fact, the Adventurer's Guild organized play rules explicitly allow low-level characters to do this: ...


55

Yes, you can level a multiclass Paladin further in Pathfinder. Your friend may be thinking of a restriction from the 3.5 edition of Dungeons & Dragons: Like a member of any other class, a paladin may be a multiclass character, but multiclass paladins face a special restriction. A paladin who gains a level in any class other than paladin may never ...


54

Sorcery points are not restricted in which spells they can affect. Other class features similarly work between classes, as the classes merely grant abilities and few of them state that they have any form of exclusivity. Metamagic abilities and other methods of spending Sorcery Points are not restricted to only affecting Sorcerer spells. Considering that in ...


50

Everywhere that you can get a Fighting Style includes this important sentence: You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again. So it doesn't matter whether it stacks with itself, because you can never take it twice.


41

Yes. The PHB p. 163 is explicit in that you have to have the GM's permission. Prior to the game in this context means that you have to get permission from your DM before you use it in game. If you decide during your campaign or a session of the game and ask them to multiclass before it happens in-game and they give you permission, then that works. Even ...


40

The big issue with this seems to rely on being able to stockpile spell slots through short rests during downtime. Unfortunately, in the Resting rules (page 67 of the basic rules), it states: Adventurers can take short rests in the midst of an adventuring day and a long rest to end the day. This leads me to believe that RAW, characters cannot take short ...


39

For instance, we have a 3rd-level Barbarian who has started multi-classing in to Druid. He's not going to be getting any more significant Barbarian abilities until 9th-level... I would strongly disagree with you on that statement. At 4th level, your barbarian receives an Ability Score Improvement, which is essentially a +1 to every single task that uses a ...


38

Naetuir is right – Bard is exactly what you're looking for here, even to the point of being a bit of a joke. Using "Fighter: melee dps Wizard: buffing Thief: skills" as the main set of requirements, lets see what we can do to build a straightclass Bard Elan, as compared to his needlessly complicated twin brother Nale. (Who's a wizard, not a sorcerer, as per ...


38

Your spell slots recover based on the class feature that allows your spellcasting. The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. ...


38

In the PHB pg 164 it gives you the multiclass table for what proficiencies you gain once you place 1 level into Druid (or any other class). Note on this table it also reminds you that Druids will NOT wear any armor or use any shields made of metal, just like it does in the Druid section earlier in the book. Thus your answer becomes: No, you may not wear ...


37

In this unofficial tweet, Jeremy Crawford states that the prerequisite ability scores for multiclassing are intended to be met by your base score and not a temporary score. As such, we can infer that magic items that don't permanently increase your ability scores wouldn't work. Keith @mikemearls @JeremyECrawford would a temporary stat bump fulfill a ...


37

No. The multiclass spellcasting rules are more specific and override the individual class's spellcasting rules. Player's Handbook You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. The example given in that section is a ranger 4/wizard 3. This character knows 3 1st-...


36

The multi-classing rules say on PHB page 163, under “Prerequisites”: To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one, as shown in the Multiclassing Prerequisites table. Emphasis mine. You do in fact have to meet the prerequisites for BOTH classes if you want to multiclass, whoever ...


35

You're on homebrew territory Multiclassing a character to maximum level in multiple classes is not possible under the base rules. The maximum character level is 20, so the total levels you have in Sorcerer and Bard can't sum up to over 20 either. In accordance with that, the multiclass spellcaster table (5e PHB, page 165) only goes to level 20 as well, so ...


35

RAW: it appears that this would not matter. Page 163 of the PHB (emphasis mine): To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one, as shown in the Multiclassing Prerequisites table. In your scenario you just would not be able to qualify for any new classes. Nothing in the rules that ...


35

It doesn't Multiclassing has its own set of rules that define what spell slots you have, and this overrides the spell slots mentioned in the wizard class section. The errata you mention was added (I assume) to avoid you using those slots for spells gained from some other place such as a feat or racial feature.


34

Your Proficiency Bonus is based on the total levels you have as a character, not on any one class. Your proficiency bonus is always based on your total character level, as described in Chapter 1 [p.15], not on your level in a particular class. For example, if you are a fighter 3/rogue 2, you have the proficiency bonus of a 5th-level character, which is +3....


34

Starting Equipment Which class you begin with may provide better starting equipment for your eventual playstyle. Bonus Feat (Credit to Sdjz in comments) If Abserd is a Variant Human, the feat gained would be limited with certain starting classes. For example, only a class with the Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature at level 1 could take Spell Sniper and ...


33

You need not be your class(es) You are playing a character, who has a certain skill set. That character may self-identify as a rogue, and then may recognize a distinct switch from being a rogue to following the way of the monk. Those are options. They are not the only options. Consider Miko Miyazaki: Elan: So Miko, did you take levels in the old samurai ...


33

You use the ability associated with the class you learned the spell from. For example, charm person is on both the warlock and the wizard spell list. If you learned it when you took a level in warlock, then it counts as a warlock spell and uses your Charisma modifier. If you learned it when you took a level in wizard (or by finding a scroll or spellbook and ...


32

It takes a lot of time and effort to do it properly It is difficult to mess up a single-class character1 but multiclassing efficiently is hard. You have to keep in mind what features can be fueled by another class's resources (you can use Sorcerer spell slots for Divine Smite) and what not (Eldritch Strike only works with Warlock slots), what weaknesses ...


31

Ability score improvements are a class feature, and are only gained when the class level grants it. Different classes gain these advances at different levels (the Fighter is the clearest example of this), and there is no unified table of advancement by character level. It's possible to never gain an advancement by always multiclassing into a new class ...


30

Number 3. From page 163 of the PHB: You add together the Hit Dice granted by all your classes to form your pool of Hit Dice. [...] If your classes give you Hit Dice of different types, keep track of them separately. If you are a paladin 5/cleric 5, for example, you have five d10 Hit Dice and five d8 Hit Dice.


30

2 levels of Warlock are enough for full Eldritch Blast damage You are absolutely right, there is not much reason to go above level 2 with Warlock from an optimization standpoint, if you only want Eldritch Blast. You get every benefit from Eldritch Blast, without giving up much in return, since cantrips scale with your character level, not your class level. ...


30

Not necessarily a violation, but a concern, which I noticed thanks to Weaveworker89’s comment, that may affect this character’s ability to maintain this approach: Adventurers can take [...] a long rest to end the day. Long rests are what end an adventuring day. Without them, an adventuring day never ends, and thus a new day (including, e.g., a downtime ...


30

You cannot keep them as sorcery points, because: You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level. (PHB 101) But you can make spell slots out of them, as The created spell slots vanish at the end of a long rest. (PHB errata v1.0) So yes, you can "stack up".


30

Optional Rule Unfortunately, multiclassing is an entirely optional rule, so there is no way to force your DM to allow it. If the DM allows for it, the character needs to have a 13 in the relevant stats for both classes. In the case of a Druid/Rogue, this means Wisdom and Dexterity. As for how the blend will work, there really isn't much combat synergy ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible