Skip to main content
98 votes

Backtracking from multiclassing with consequences

This is too harsh Your player is unhappy because her character is weaker than the other characters. You're trying to fix this by weakening her character further. Here is how I handle this When I run ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 90.3k
80 votes
Accepted

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

There are two main downsides to multiclassing, though depending on your play style and group you may never run into the lesser of the two issues. Falling behind single-class characters The primary ...
LegendaryDude's user avatar
63 votes
Accepted

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Everywhere that you can get a Fighting Style includes this important sentence: You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again. So it doesn't ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 145k
62 votes
Accepted

Can a rogue/Kensei monk use Sneak Attack with a Kensei weapon?

No, this is a converse error Your logic is something like this: Sneak Attack […] The attack must use a finesse […] weapon. (Player’s Handbook, pg. 96) Finesse. When making an attack with a finesse ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
57 votes
Accepted

Would letting a multiclass character rebuild their character to be single-classed be game-breaking?

This is known as a "re-spec", and it's reasonable on occasion. While changing one's character levels isn't a standard rule in D&D 5th edition, it's not unreasonable to allow a character to change ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
49 votes

How do you help a new player evaluate complex multiclassing options without driving them and yourself crazy?

The Simple Answer Simply, you don't. It's the players' responsibility to learn the rules and build their characters. You as DM have enough on your plate without running the players through a dozen ...
James's user avatar
  • 2,843
48 votes

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

The big issue with this seems to rely on being able to stockpile spell slots through short rests during downtime. Unfortunately, in the Resting rules (page 67 of the basic rules), it states: ...
Weaveworker89's user avatar
48 votes
Accepted

Is Bard level 20 utterly worthless, mechanically?

Yes, it is particularly underwhelming. Suppose your table actually runs what the Dungeon Master's Guide calls The Adventuring Day: Assuming typical adventuring conditions and average luck, most ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
47 votes

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

For instance, we have a 3rd-level Barbarian who has started multi-classing into Druid. He's not going to be getting any more significant Barbarian abilities until 9th-level... I would strongly ...
chif-ii's user avatar
  • 2,849
44 votes
Accepted

What can a ranger 1/paladin 1 do with their spell slots?

You have no spell slots. Even if you add before dividing and (1+1)/2 = 1, you have no spell slots. This is because the multiclassing rule that grants Combined spell ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
43 votes

Do you need to let the DM know when you are multiclassing?

Yes. The PHB p. 163 is explicit in that you have to have the GM's permission. Prior to the game in this context means that you have to get permission from your DM before you use it in game. If you ...
Akixkisu's user avatar
  • 19.7k
40 votes
Accepted

What happens when it's time to level up and I no longer meet a multiclass prerequisite?

RAW: it appears that this would not matter. Page 163 of the PHB (emphasis mine): To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new ...
Slagmoth's user avatar
  • 22.3k
40 votes
Accepted

In this absurd multi-class, is there any other benefit to having a specific starting class?

Starting Equipment Which class you begin with may provide better starting equipment for your eventual playstyle. Bonus Feat (Credit to Sdjz in comments) If Abserd is a Variant Human, the feat ...
David Coffron's user avatar
38 votes

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

This no longer works under RAW, due to wording changes in later printings. Once your elf uses the Trance feature for four hours, they satisfy the conditions for a long rest, and thus take a long rest. ...
illustro's user avatar
  • 28.2k
38 votes

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

It takes a lot of time and effort to do it properly It is difficult to mess up a single-class character1 but multiclassing efficiently is hard. You have to keep in mind what features can be fueled by ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.6k
37 votes

Is Bard level 20 utterly worthless, mechanically?

It's useless, if you mainly use Inspiration in combat This might seem like a strange statement, since Superior Inspiration triggers upon entering combat, but it's important to keep in mind how this ...
1600hp's user avatar
  • 6,452
36 votes
Accepted

Can you multiclass out of your starting class if you don't have the required stats for it?

The multi-classing rules say on PHB page 163, under “Prerequisites”: To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one, as ...
Nemenia's user avatar
  • 3,226
36 votes
Accepted

Can a rogue multiclass into druid?

Optional Rule Unfortunately, multiclassing is an entirely optional rule, so there is no way to force your DM to allow it. If the DM allows for it, the character needs to have a 13 in the relevant ...
T.J.L.'s user avatar
  • 48.8k
36 votes

How do you help a new player evaluate complex multiclassing options without driving them and yourself crazy?

Don't use mutliclassing; or, use it with some restrictions Don't use multiclassing Since you're throwing around words like hexsorcadin that are not in the core rules but are widely used in online ...
RedGeomancer's user avatar
  • 6,815
35 votes
Accepted

Is it possible to "charge up" a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

You cannot keep them as sorcery points, because: You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level. (PHB 101) But you can make spell slots out of them, as The ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.7k
35 votes
Accepted

How does the November 2018 PH errata change the usage of multiclass spell slots to cast spells?

It doesn't Multiclassing has its own set of rules that define what spell slots you have, and this overrides the spell slots mentioned in the wizard class section. The errata you mention was added (I ...
PJRZ's user avatar
  • 28.4k
35 votes
Accepted

Does this strict reading of the rules allow both Extra Attack and the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation to be used together?

No. Or, more specifically, yes, as long as you didn't get those features via multiclassing, which is never. The multiclassing rules state: Extra Attack If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar
35 votes
Accepted

What are the benefits of multi-classing over gestalting?

Gestalt isn't a choice, it's a game variant. That's very important to understand when asking why you don't just do it: because it's not generally assumed that it's a valid option. The game doesn't ...
Firebreak's user avatar
  • 6,250
34 votes
Accepted

How does multi-classing Sorcerer/Bard total spell slots work at lv 20/20?

You're on homebrew territory Multiclassing a character to maximum level in multiple classes is not possible under the base rules. The maximum character level is 20, so the total levels you have in ...
kviiri's user avatar
  • 54.1k
33 votes

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Not necessarily a violation, but a concern, which I noticed thanks to Weaveworker89’s comment, that may affect this character’s ability to maintain this approach: Adventurers can take [...] a long ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
33 votes

Multiclass Warlock/Wizard: Can I use Int as spellcasting ability for Pact Magic slots?

You use the ability associated with the class you learned the spell from. For example, charm person is on both the warlock and the wizard spell list. If you learned it when you took a level in ...
chif-ii's user avatar
  • 2,849
32 votes
Accepted

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

Yes, you are granted a spellbook by your spellcasting. Spellcasting (PHB 114): As a student of arcane magic, you have a spellbook containing spells that show the first glimmerings of your true ...
Akixkisu's user avatar
  • 19.7k
31 votes
Accepted

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Yes, it can make spell slots used by other classes. No, it can not make a Warlock spell slot specifically. Total spell slots from multiclassing are calculated using the method described on page 165 of ...
Liesmith's user avatar
  • 3,472
31 votes

Does this allow Shillelagh to be cast using Constitution?

No Under Divine Soul Sorcerer the phrase is: ...from the cleric spell list or the sorcerer spell list When you learned the spell as a Cleric, it doesn't add it to the cleric spell list. It is still ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.9k
30 votes
Accepted

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Yes, you can cast a spell with any spell slot available to you As a multiclassed spellcaster you can use any spell slot you have to cast any spell that you know/can prepare from any of your ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible