82

Numerous spells, abilities, and actions change The boss is stronger in strange ways, because they... Can try to save four times per round against hold monster and similar save-or-suck spells. Other effects, like a monk's Stunning Strike, are unaffected. Can grapple or shove four times per round. (One cannot substitute a grapple for an attack within ...


40

No. You quoted the relevant text. Extra attack specifically only triggers when the Attack action is taken, not on any attack. By contrast, the Multiattack racial feature is an action that allows you to take three attacks. Thus, because the Multiattack action is not equivalent to the Attack action, Extra Attack does not trigger. Additionally, you do not get ...


40

An Erinyes is a monster, not a race This means two things: one is that you're not actually supposed to be playing as one, and the other is that if you REALLY want to be playing as one, you shouldn't use its stats as-is on top of your existing class features. The distinction between monsters and PC races is not arbitrary. Mechanically, monsters are designed ...


34

The rules for Multiattack in the Monster Manual (page 11) are perfectly clear: A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. A creature can’t use Multiattack when making an opportunity attack, which must be a single melee attack. Or, in other words, it works exactly the same way as Extra Attack, and can't be ...


32

No, even monsters only get one action per turn, and actions should not be confused with attacks. in the case of monsters that can attack multiple times, that's because Multiattack is one action, that just happens to result in attacking more than once. Each attack is not an attack action! Multiattack is also very specific about which attacks the action ...


30

As you have mentioned, the spell haste tells you exactly what you may do with the extra action granted by it. The relevant portion is: Th[e extra] action [from haste] can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. As the Multiattack action is a separate type of action (see the listing on page ...


30

Obtain a Scimitar of Speed which allows an extra attack per turn as a bonus action. Unfortunately this is not a warhammer like you wanted to use. You might be able to convince your DM to convert it to a Warhammer of Speed or simply accept it and use a scimitar instead.


30

The D&D 5E system already has built-in rules for important creatures acting out of turn or more than once per turn: Legendary Actions and Lair Actions. Legendary Actions happen a certain number of times each turn (usually three), though some specific instances take up more than one. These actions take place after another creatures turn, interrupting the ...


29

A creature affected by slow makes only 1 attack during its turn even if they have multiattack The slow spell description states that: Regardless of the creature's abilities or magic items, it can't make more than one melee or ranged attack during its turn. There is not much room for interpretation, it is clearly spelled out. The creature gets one ranged ...


28

Reactions can interrupt multiattack. The rules on reactions says: A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on Your Turn or on someone else’s. [...] If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction. Emphasis mine. Multiple attacks on one turn are ...


27

You can dip 3 levels into Monk and get the Way of the Kensei (XGtE pg.34) tradition, that will turn your warhammer into a monk weapon and allow you to make unarmed strikes with bonus action when you attack with it. Not exactly an extra attack but it's still an attack. As a bonus the Agile Perry feature will give you +2 AC until start of your next turn if ...


24

No, dealing damage does not mean you "hit" 4e uses a highly formulaic language. Miss, hit, attack roll and damage - these are all specific game terms. There are no gray areas there. As for hit points, they are an abstraction. Loss of hit points due to Missed attacks could be explained as exhaustion, demoralization, etc. You can even describe the Missed ...


24

You can choose which hit to apply the sneak attack damage to The Sneak Attack feature states (among other things): Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. Notice that the feature does not specify the first attack, ...


24

Not sure if this fits your criteria well enough, but it's a spell I recently learned about that seems close to what you want: The 2nd-level Cleric spell Spiritual Weapon creates a floating weapon you can attack with as a bonus action. It is not, as you say, 'always on', but it lasts for 10 rounds and is a lower-level spell than Haste. It does 1d8 damage (or ...


22

A creature's stat block will indicate what kind of multiattack it gets to make. For instance, if we look at a Black Bear (MM, p. 318), it says: Multiattack. The bear makes two attacks: one with its bite and one with its claws. If a bear were somehow to pick up a sword or two it wouldn't be able to use them for multiattack. However, if we look at a ...


22

No. Extra Attack doesn't give you two Attack actions, it gives you two attacks per Attack action. A 5th-level monk still only has one Attack action. That means that not only do you not get two Multiattacks, but if you take the Multiattack action you don't get a second attack from Extra Attack either, because only the Attack action triggers Extra Attack's ...


21

The Multiattack is restricted to the Wand Orcus can only use Multiattack with the Wand of Orcus - just like, for example, the Assassin can only Multiattack with a shortsword. Shortswords don’t grant Multiattack to anyone wielding them either. As for why this is so: It’s written that way, Maybe Orcus has a special affinity for the Wand of Orcus, that it ...


19

The +10 damage bonus does not cascade, but it does apply to each attack. While there are often time/speed benefits to rolling attacks in groups1 (some people like to use different colored dice), you still consider each attack separately. An 11th level fighter using Extra Attack will roll three separate D20s, evaluating hit or miss for each of them. After ...


18

When you use Wrath of the Storm with Thunderbolt Strike, the creature that attacked you is pushed back immediately. From the section on reactions: If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction. The creature doesn't get to finish its turn, then get hit by your reaction - your reaction ...


18

...the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack. (PHB p.194) Since you are making multiple attacks you make an attack roll for each one. This is true even though you may not be taking the Attack action multiple times. This applies whether the source is bonus action (Flurry of Blows, two-weapon fighting), Extra attack (...


18

If you have the ability to make multiple attacks in a round, they can be against the same target or another target unless the specific ability prohibits it. You can move between attacks, as mentioned on page 190 of the PHB. Moving between Attacks If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even ...


18

In the final rules it's pretty clear: a monster can make multiple attacks only if it has the "Multiattack" action, which always specifies which attacks can be made. In the case of the Owlbear, it has a Beak and a Claws attack (Claws counts as only one attack). It also has a Multiattack action saying "The owlbear makes two attacks: one with its beak and one ...


18

No Tentacle Slam is not technically an attack. In the stat block, the other actions include the phrase Melee Weapon Attack while Tentacle Slam has no similar verbiage. Tentacle Slam does not call for making an attack roll with a d20. Tentacle Slam is an action that causes grappled creatures to make saving throws. It does not qualify as an attack for the ...


18

Yes, they can make two of the same attack As you intuit, the use of can means the option for a vampire is either... 2 unarmed strike attacks (claws for vampire spawn) 1 bite, 1 unarmed strike attack The inclusion of that clause is to remove the option of... 2 bite attacks only one of which can be a bite attack. [emphasis mine]


17

You get one attack roll for each natural attack you possess, and you do not get any extra natural attack for high BAB (you still gain extra weapon attacks for high BAB if you are using a weapon) In the case of the Oliphant exposed, because both the Gore and Stamp attacks are primary, you get all the three attacks at your full BAB, and no extra attack because ...


17

Theoretically, yes, a creature could still Multiattack while missing a limb Take, for example, a level 5 Fighter that uses Sword&Board, i.e. they fight with a Longsword (or some other one-handed weapon) and a Shield. In a given turn, they're permitted to make two attacks with their Action, one normally, and one permitted by their Extra Attack feature. ...


16

Correct, multiattack tells you which attacks you can use simultaneously, whereas a creature without it is limited to choosing between the attacks it has available. There's actually nothing more to add as you covered it appropriately within the question itself.


16

Natural Attacks are weird. The pathfinder rules break down what happens. Instead of using the iterative attacks from your base attack bonus, you get a full attack made up of all the natural attacks. The particular bonus depends on whether those attacks are considered primary or secondary (see the table at the link above). In the Oliphaunt's case when you ...


15

You get two attacks with your main weapon, and one with your off hand weapon (if you want them). Your attack action gets you two hits with your main weapon. After you take the attack action, you can then take a special bonus action to make the off hand attack. This is a single attack. So yes, you get 3 attacks, two with your main weapon, and the third with ...


15

I personally found the distinction between Multiattack and multiple attacks confusing, and have appreciated the discussion both for and against using grapples as substitutes for part of a Multiattack. I reached out to Mike Mearls to get a better sense of how the rule was intended, and he was very kind to reply. It would seem Mike sides mostly with the ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible