Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.
7

No, you can't AoO yourself The general rules about attacks of opportunity and threatened spaces state that (emphasis mine): You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. [...] An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. Here it is ...


3

The rules are pretty consistent—though not remotely clear—about “provocations” being things that can happen repeatedly during a single action. For example, spellcasting or making a ranged attack both provoke attacks of opportunity, and that means if you cast a ranged-attack spell, you provoke twice—even though you are casting with a single standard action. ...


2

Technically, movement happens square-by-square. If something happens when you reach one square, that can change how you decide to spend the rest of your movement. So if you used Sidestep to avoid your attacker, but they still have sufficient movement to reach you, then they just have to keep moving towards you to make their attack. Even with Combat Reflexes, ...


2

The feat Sidestep (Miniatures Handbook 28) could render an attacker unable to attack a defender that possesses the feat Sidestep. However, the attacker would be unable to attack because the attacker exhausted its movement and can't reach the attacker rather than because the defender somehow caused the attacker to forfeit its remaining movement on account of ...


2

Effectively, yes In the section on movement types, it states: Switching from one movement type to another requires ending your action that has the first movement type and using a new action that has the second movement type. For instance, if you Climbed 10 feet to the top of a cliff, you could then Stride forward 10 feet. So, while not disrupted ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible