67

From memory the War Caster feat is the only thing that might work well with this. Its third benefit is: "When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that ...


34

Usually a creature has only a single opportunity attack available To make an opportunity attack a creature needs to use their reaction to do so. From the rules on opportunity attacks (emphasis mine): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction ...


27

This is going to make your combats a lot more static. Nobody likes taking opportunity attacks, and it costs an action to get away without one (rogue aside), so everyone who likes melee will tend to get into position and then stand very still -- even being in a poor tactical position would be better than taking OAs or giving up a turn to change it. A big ...


26

Note up-front that allowing PC to ride another PC is already up to DM discretion as to whether the PC (the dragonborn in the case) has the "appropriate anatomy" to be a mount. Playing around with this can allow fun things like your gnome/dragonborn duo but also things like centaur stacks. The rules also clearly are not written to handle mounted stacks. But I ...


26

The hydra can take them all at the same time in response to a single trigger or pace them out over a round in response to multiple triggers. Here's the text of the feature we're talking about (from the hydra's stat block): Reactive Heads. For each head the hydra has beyond one, it gets an extra reaction that can be used only for opportunity attacks. And ...


26

A very specific true story where this would have helped: The party enters a large room with visible enemies at the far end and a side hallway 80 feet from the entrance. The (small) PC monk wins initiative and Dashes forward. At the end of his move, he becomes aware of a large number of archers waiting in the side hallway for their turn to come up. The ...


23

Yes, Fancy Footwork applies in these instances Your reading is correct. To trigger Fancy Footwork all you need to do is: make a melee attack against a creature The cantrips Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade use identical wording when they say: you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature So both Booming Blade and Green-Flame ...


22

Yes, you can use it again on someone else's turn As you note, Savage Attacker can be used to reroll damage "once per turn". In a given round, each creature gets a different turn (PHB p. 189, "The Order of Combat"): The game organizes the chaos of combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a ...


22

You would not benefit from the third bullet point of Blade Mastery Casting Booming Blade, or any other Spell, in place of your Opportunity Attack means you're not performing Opportunity Attack; you're simply casting a Cantrip as a Reaction. It's worth noting how the War Caster feat words its feature: ... you can use your reaction to cast a spell at ...


21

No saving throw is involved When trying to avoid opportunity attacks in D&D 5e one can use the Disengage Action: If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn. All one needs to do is take this action to be able to move without worrying about opportunity attacks. No rolls are needed. Note ...


19

Yes The Hydra contains the following in its stat block: Reactive Heads. For each head the hydra has beyond one, it gets an extra reaction that can be used only for opportunity attacks. If Fighter A is in fact leaving the range(10') of each head, then each head is able to take its reaction for an Opportunity Attack. Each head can take the reaction, but ...


18

Yes, you can cast a spell instead of an Opportunity Attack at either 5' or 10' Let's look at the sequence of action and of the logic here: Enemy is at in your current reach - They are currently in your active reach if you are wielding a whip because it has the Reach property which extends your reach when using it by 10' and they are also in range of your ...


18

Sometimes, the potential reward outweighs the risk of an opportunity attack. This is going to be a cost/benefit analysis done on the fly in combat, and will vary wildly depending on circumstances. Let's imagine a few scenarios: A Cleric is engaged in melee with a pair of enemies. Across the battlefield, 100 feet away to be exact, the party Wizard has ...


18

The Polearm Master feat does not allow opportunity attacks against invisible creatures My reasoning is that things that are named the same thing generally are the same game feature with the same rules. (I'm sure I've seen something stating this in a Crawford tweet or UA or something - even though the tweets are no longer "official" - but I can't remember ...


16

Yes, disengage does not prevent you from making opportunity attacks, only provoking them. If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the turn. Only your movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks. Everybody else's movement provokes as normal. Since the enemy's movement still provokes an ...


16

Two questions here really, but: 1) Yes. Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says: You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction. Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target ...


16

You usually get everything but Divine Strike (which only works during your turn) The rapier deals 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage. Booming blade as an 11th level character deals an extra 2d8 if the character doesn't move (3d8 more if they do). Sneak attack adds 2d6 even if you've used in a previous turn this round (see below, emphasis mine, and this ...


15

No, you're meant to make the opportunity attack with the weapon whose reach the enemy is leaving The rules on opportunity attacks state: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The ...


15

No the caster cannot trigger Opportunity Attacks while Time Stop is active Time Stop includes the following two sentences: You briefly stop the flow of time for everyone but yourself. No time passes for other creatures while you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row [...] If time is stopped for all other creatures, they are unable to perceive and unable to act in ...


15

Yes You flank when you are adjacent to an enemy: Flanking on Squares. When a creature and at least one of its allies are adjacent to an enemy and on opposite sides or corners of the enemy's space, they flank that enemy You are adjacent when you are within reach. You are within reach in the moment of the OA: The attack interrupts the provoking ...


14

Yes, but Improved Pact Weapon isn't necessary. When an enemy moves out of your reach, it provokes an opportunity attack from you, so when an enemy leaves the reach of your whip (by moving beyond 10 feet away from you) it provokes an opportunity attack from you (rules on Combat): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see ...


14

Long-limbed increases your reach on your turn. Thus, on your turn, your reach is 15. On anyone else's turn, your reach is 10. Polearm Mastery's triggered OAs follow suit - 15 on your turn, 10 on everyone else's. It is possible to get OAs on your own turn, though relatively rare. In your case, if this happens, it will most likely be because you're ...


14

No. CRB pg. 462, "Limitations on Triggers": You can use only one action in response to a given trigger.


13

A creature with several reach attacks can only make an opportunity attack with an attack for which the conditions to trigger an opportunity attack are met. The best available authority on this issue is actually Jeremy Crawford's guidance on adjudicating opportunity attacks by a PC with the War Caster feat. Bear with me here. One of War Caster's benefits is ...


13

Opportunity attacks can only be made against the provoking creature You can't make an attack of opportunity against the net, only the creature provoking the opportunity attack. From the rules under Opportunity Attacks from the Basic Rules (emphasis mine): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. ...


13

No War Caster states: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, instead of making an opportunity attack. When you use the action of such spells to deal damage, you are not casting the spell again1. Therefore, the War Caster text does not apply. Note that this ...


12

Riders are using their mount's movement thus they do not provoke OAs According to the rule for opportunity attacks: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. When mounts move, they use their own movement not that of the rider. Thus, when using ...


12

Can you attack in the middle of your mount's movement? No. This was clarified by Jeremy Crawford in his twitter feed a couple of years ago: Q: rider on controlled mount wants to attack mid-move. Do rider and mount share one turn, or does rider need to Ready attack? Jeremy Crawford: A rider and a controlled mount have separate turns, but they have ...


12

No; the speed reduction is not optional (assuming you hit) The first benefit of the Sentinel feat (PHB, p. 169-170) says: When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature's speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn. It doesn't say you "can" reduce its speed to 0; it's simply stated as fact that if you hit with an opportunity attack, the ...


12

If you use the Disengage action, you don't cause opportunity attacks from any enemies during that round. Begin your turn by taking the Disengage action and then you are free to move around as you wish with nobody taking an opportunity attack against you. They could only attack you during your movement if they had taken the Ready action to do exactly that ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible