Skip to main content
31 votes
Accepted

How does the Enlarge/Reduce spell interact with the Oversized Weapons rule when you Enlarge a Medium size creature with a medium weapon to Large size?

There is no rule for oversized weapons. The section that you quote is not rules text. Rather, this section that refers to oversized weapons is part of the instructions for creating a custom monster: ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
26 votes
Accepted

Is it against RAW to allow an Enlarged/Oversized net to restrain a Huge creature?

There is no official ruling, but allowing it does not seem to be unbalanced. As you mentioned in your question, there are no explicit rules stating how the Net interacts with being Oversized (made for ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k
22 votes
Accepted

Is there a D&D 5e equivalent to the Monkey Grip feat from D&D 3.5e?

You don't need the feat in 5E to wield oversized weapons The DMG section on creating a monster provides rules for using oversized weapons under "Step 11. Damage" (p. 278; emphasis mine): ...
illustro's user avatar
  • 28.1k
16 votes

Does a Rune Knight fighter using the Giant's Might feature get a bonus to their weapon's damage?

The class feature description has everything you need to know. The feature description for Giant’s Might is complete - you don’t have to look elsewhere to learn its effects: As a bonus action, you ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

Do you get the benefits of Oversized Weapons with Path of Giant?

The class feature description has everything you need to know. The feature description for Giant Stature is complete - you don’t have to look elsewhere to learn its effects: While raging, you gain ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
12 votes

Must a PC (or other creature) be Huge in size to deal the 3d12 damage dice upon a hit with a Huge-sized greataxe as per the oversized-weapon rules?

This is up to the DM. To directly address your specific question, "Must a PC (or other creature) be Huge in size to deal the 3d12 damage dice upon a hit with a Huge-sized greataxe as per the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

Do weapons looted from creatures that are larger than Medium in size retain their damage when wielded by Medium-sized PCs?

Technically speaking, yes. The looted weapon will still deal extra damage. Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit. The "that" is pretty clear - the ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
11 votes

Can a barbarian dual wield with Giant Instinct?

You can probably use two such weapons I've come to the same conclusion as SpearCarrier.no2, but for a very different reason; I would interpret the rules even more loosely than them. Giant Instinct ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.6k
9 votes

Statistically, when is wielding a Large weapon worth it for a Medium-sized character?

When you already have Disadvantage anyway It doesn't stack with itself, so if you have Disadvantage, you get a free bonus to your damage if you happen to have an oversized weapon. When your target has ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 81.4k
8 votes

Is it against RAW to allow an Enlarged/Oversized net to restrain a Huge creature?

DM's Call, but it seems OK This isn't against RAW because RAW doesn't address this situation. As a result, the DM would make a ruling. Here's what I'd rule and why: Previously you were asking about ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
8 votes

Must a PC (or other creature) be Huge in size to deal the 3d12 damage dice upon a hit with a Huge-sized greataxe as per the oversized-weapon rules?

The quoted text does not apply to PCs There are no rules for oversized weapons in 5e and it’s not a sort of weapon the PCs can wield. The text that you are quoting is not a game rule but part of ...
AnnaAG's user avatar
  • 9,566
8 votes
Accepted

Statistically, when is wielding a Large weapon worth it for a Medium-sized character?

It is never better than Medium Weapon with GWM Taking disadvantage on all attack rolls is a pretty large penalty. Generally this is a worse idea than using the other abilities available to you. Taking ...
linksassin's user avatar
  • 30.9k
8 votes
Accepted

Can a mind smith's materialized weapon be of large size?

The Mind Weapon Can Be Any Size Mind Smith Dedication has no limitations or references to the mind weapon's size beyond this, just that it has one of the basic weapon statistics mentioned in the feat ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.9k
7 votes

Is the Wield Oversized Weapon epic feat as bad as it looks?

Just about every option in the game for wielding a larger weapon is awful. A size category adds, on average, +1 damage, which is nothing, and certainly isn’t worth a feat. Damage does grow super-...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
7 votes

How does the Enlarge/Reduce spell interact with the Oversized Weapons rule when you Enlarge a Medium size creature with a medium weapon to Large size?

You only get the d4 This is a case where specific beats general. In general, larger weapons (at least when wielded by monsters) deal double, triple or even quadruple damage of medium sized weapons. ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
6 votes

Is the Wield Oversized Weapon epic feat as bad as it looks?

Wield Oversized Weapon is not amazing. Most feats are not amazing. Sadly, D&D 3.x is kind of broken, especially at the higher levels. High-level spellcasters (prepared casters especially) can do ...
Ben Barden's user avatar
  • 25.6k
6 votes

Using a large dwarven waraxe as a medium creature

I remember seeing a chart showing weapons that could be used as other weapons of different sizes. E.G. a medium shortsword is equal to a small longsword. Both do 1d6 damage and have a critical rating ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
6 votes

Monkey Grip Large Two Hander and Reach?

The Rules Compendium says, "No additional reach is granted by a reach weapon that is too big" (151). Thus even if a Medium creature that possesses the feat Monkey Grip (Weapons of Legacy 29) wields a ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

What are the rules for the size of weapons?

In the interests of balance and simplicity, some flexibility is lost Pathfinder 2e removes the capability for Small/Medium ("Standard") creatures (read: PC-like) to wield particularly odd-...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.6k
5 votes

Do weapons looted from creatures that are larger than Medium in size retain their damage when wielded by Medium-sized PCs?

Yes. The same rule applies to Small creatures wielding heavy weapons. So I think that your logic is sound. PHB, page 147: Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy ...
Matthew's user avatar
  • 2,220
5 votes

Are Goliaths able to wield large-sized weapons?

There is no rule for oversized weapons. The Dungeon Master’s Guide has some discussion of oversized weapons on page 278, however, this section is not a rule for players to use. Rather, this section ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

How does the lance's special rule of being wielded in one hand work with a large lance?

You can't wield it at all According to the rules on weapons: Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
4 votes

Does Enlarge increase your normal reach?

No; Being Large doesn't inherently increase your reach (from the edge of your space); you just have a larger space to reach from To quote V2Blast's answer to the question "Does the Primeval Guardian ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.2k
4 votes

Are Goliaths able to wield large-sized weapons?

Use the Enlarge/Reduce spell as reference The level 2 transmutation spell Enlarge/Reduce (PHB 237) can enlarge the target and everything it is carrying to large proportions. That makes it's attacks ...
Ivan Ivanov Vulpe's user avatar
4 votes

Can a barbarian dual wield with Giant Instinct?

Yes, you can have two oversized weapons (English is not my first language either, but I think this is not a linguistic question) The instinct doesn't talk about "replacing" the way Mind ...
SpearCarrier.no2's user avatar
3 votes

How does Free-Hand work with Titan Mauler?

To my reading, I never wield a Free-Hand weapon. I would argue that is an incorrect interpretation (although I will admit this isn't the clearest case in the world). Breaking down the Free-Hand trait:...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
3 votes

Is it possible to wield inapproriately large ranged weapons with feats?

If you have those feats, you can definitely use a ranged weapon at least up to 4 size categories larger than you Which would be Colossal for a Medium creature. The rules behind this are kind of ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

Can a barbarian dual wield with Giant Instinct?

Only one of your two weapons must be larger When wielding such a weapon in combat, increase your additional damage from Rage from 2 to 6, but you have the clumsy 1 condition because of the weapon's ...
Ruse's user avatar
  • 18.2k
2 votes

Is it possible to wield inapproriately large ranged weapons with feats?

Just for the record, there is but a single official PFRG feat that I'm aware of (from the PFRG Advanced Race Guide) that affects the ability to wield a larger ranged weapon: Goblin Gunslinger (...
Brandenfascher's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible