Hot answers tagged

32

Paladins are not powered directly by their god, but by their oath A paladin may address their god while making the Sacred Oath—but their god is there only as a witness. The oath is much, much bigger than that one god. The paladin swears themselves to Devotion, or the Ancients, or Vengeance, or whatever, themselves. Although many paladins are devoted to gods ...


19

The paladin suffers no mechanical consequences whatsoever. From the PHB on paladins, p82 (emphasis mine): Paladin ... Whatever their origin and their mission, paladins are united by their oaths to stand against the forces of evil. Whether sworn before a god's altar and the witness of a priest, in a sacred glade before nature spirits and fey beings, or in a ...


11

Changing to a new Oath may be appropriate Other answers cover that there aren't any rules or flavor for Paladins which are fundamentally incompatible with your player's character realizing that he no longer agrees with the god he was worshiping. A Paladin's powers aren't necessarily derived from a god in the first place and it is entirely reasonable for the ...


4

No. Rules as Written, the description for Empowered Spell is: When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice . . . Contrast that wording with the description for critical hits: When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage . . . Note, Piercer has the same wording ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible