New answers tagged

2 votes
Accepted

How can I get Inner Radiance Torrent in PFS?

There does not seem to be a way (currently) As a Limited option, you must have a Boon that specifically says you gain access to it. Going through the List of Boons available (link to your account on ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
4 votes

Pathfinder 2 Alchemist - Adding formulas

The rules on formulas have a bit to say about copying formulas from one formula book to another: You can copy a formula into your formula book in 1 hour, either from a schematic or directly from ...
user avatar
  • 2,259
0 votes

Running a oneshot for a group with no TTRPG experience

Do not use PF2 for the first game PF2 is my favorite RPG, but even I have to admit, it is very much not beginner friendly. For beginners, I suggest something rules light, like Fate, Mouse Guard or ...
user avatar
  • 51.9k
4 votes

Pathfinder 2 Alchemist - Adding formulas

The Alchemist gets a unique class feature, Formula Book, which specifies that they gain a formula book (item) and many of their class features reference that formula book, suggesting that you can only ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
6 votes

Running a oneshot for a group with no TTRPG experience

Talk to the players You might not have time for a full session 0. You might not have the chance to get everyone together as a group. But try to find a few minutes to talk to each player. Find out ...
user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

Running a oneshot for a group with no TTRPG experience

Shield the players from the mechanics TTRPG rules especially for Pathfinder are huge and complex, and likely to overwhelm any newcomer who is playing for the first time, and a single time. You want ...
user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Can Troops be flanked?

Troops can be Flanked There's no rule stating troops are unable to be flanked, so the default flanking rules would apply as though the entire troop was one creature. Troops do have Troop Defenses, ...
user avatar
  • 2,259
12 votes

How many people can be poisoned with ingested poison?

One dose is sufficient to poison one creature The general rules for Alchemical Poisons (core rulebook p. 550) state: Each poison’s stat block includes the Price and features for a single dose So the ...
user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

Can summoned creatures take reactions?

Summons don't have reactions Summoned creatures have the Minion trait. This trait includes the following: A creature with this trait can use only 2 actions per turn, doesn't have reactions [...] (...
user avatar
  • 7,209
6 votes
Accepted

How do damage resistances work with regards to magical weapons?

Yes Magical weapons only bypass resistance when explicitly stated. The example from the rules on resistances explicitly addresses your case: If you have resistance to a type of damage, each time you ...
user avatar
  • 7,483
8 votes
Accepted

Can a Magus use Expansive Spellstrike with a Conflux spell, and if so what exactly happens?

You cannot use Spellstrike with 1st level Conflux spells Spells that "target a creature or that has an area of a burst, cone, or line" have either a Targets entry or an Area entry. The 1st ...
user avatar
  • 51.9k
7 votes
Accepted

Can animal companion use grapple in Pathfinder 2e?

Technically, no As you've noted, Animal Companions don't meet the basic requirements to perform the Grapple skill action. But really... yes Any and all GM's should interpret the Grapple rules by the ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
7 votes

Reactions and free actions (Summoner and Eidolon)

You get one Reaction As a Summoner/Eidolon pair, you get one Reaction (at the start of your shared turn) that can be used by either creature. See the sections I've bolded for clarity: You and your ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
1 vote

How does natural attacks interact with double slice and other dual weapon fighting feats?

The Dual-Weapon Warrior archetype has similar restrictions in each of its feats, that you are wielding two weapons in your hands. Unfortunately unarmed attacks are not considered weapons and don't ...
user avatar
  • 2,259
9 votes
Accepted

Chain Lightning and Expansive Spellstrike

No. From my read of Expansive Spellstrike, and the prerequisite Spellstrike, you cannot target multiple creatures while using Chain Lightning alone. One Target: The spell targets only the target of ...
user avatar
  • 106
6 votes
Accepted

What Arcane spells can actually hit multiple targets with a Spell Attack (for Spell Swipe)?

There is currently no other* multiple attack Arcane spell *Not counting Horizon Thunder Sphere's AoE because it's not valid with Spellstrike I couldn't think of a good way to parse this, but realized ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
2 votes

How does natural attacks interact with double slice and other dual weapon fighting feats?

Double Slice requires weapons As vonPryz accurately points out, Unarmed attacks are not weapons and are only included on weapon lists for convenience; Double Slice specifically requires that you are ...
user avatar
  • 36.1k
6 votes
Accepted

How does natural attacks interact with double slice and other dual weapon fighting feats?

Let's see about the rules. Unarmed, CRB 283: An unarmed attack uses your body rather than a manufactured weapon. An unarmed attack isn't a weapon, though it's categorized with weapons for weapon ...
user avatar
  • 426
11 votes
Accepted

What damage type does the Disintegrate spell deal?

Typeless Damage Nothing in Pathfinder 2e puts the damage dealt by disintegrate as force damage, or as any other type of damage. This lack of damage type is repeated across a few spells, including ...
user avatar
  • 2,259

Top 50 recent answers are included