New answers tagged

3

You can't communicate if using a helm of telepathy or detect thoughts spell as it relies on detect thoughts, which doesn't allow this, but yes for 3 int animals with telepathic bond. You become immune to detection of thoughts at int 3. (PHB 231-2) If the creature you choose has an Intelligence of 3 or lower or doesn’t speak any language, the creature is ...


3

Rules As Written, having a low INT does not prevent you from communicating. The designers of 5e have a saying: "The rules only do what they say they do. There are no secret rules." There is no rule that says that you can't communicate abstract concepts if your Intelligence score is too low. It's possible to write lots of arguments for why ...


3

College of Valor, Combat Inspiration may boost AC enough At the party's level, 8, the Valor Bard has 4 or 5 Bardic Inspiration uses per short rest. (Charisma of 18 or 20 assumed1). While this won't stop critical hits, and neither will an AC of 16, rolling a d8 as a reaction to an attack will improve the Armor Class by an average of 4.5 for some of the ...


7

What you can do now Magical Armor As others have suggested, AC enhancement spells like mage armor and barkskin will remain in effect even after you are polymorphed (although for mage armor the AC will be based on the ape's dexterity). From Sage Advice: Can a creature under the effects of polymorph have other spell effects on them, or are those game ...


5

Ok, hear me out. Magic armors +1, +2, +3 don't require attunement. Additionally, per the DMG in the "Wearing and wielding items" page 140: In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. I know "most cases" is vague on purpose, but assuming polymorph lasts one hour, and it takes 10 ...


26

Any spell that can boost armor will work. There's no real problem with casting barkskin or mage armor prior to transforming; the spell effect will carry over after you transform. Polymorph doesn't block any ongoing spell effects. While your statistics get replaced by the creature's, spell effects aren't your statistics, they're the effects of a magic spell ...


5

For wild shape you can get an ioun stone and/or animated shield. Standard animated shield is just +2AC and ioun stone +1, but there is no reason +1-+3 animated shields or ioun stones can't exist. In the game I'm running the druid has a +1 animated shield for +3AC. Unfortunately in your case thoguh polymorph is worded so this won't work. Barkskin should carry ...


4

Yes, but also No Polymorph and True Polymorph meld the Equipment and any Clothes/Armor into the New form or being. The item theoretically actually ceases to exist for a certain time (or it gets trapped along with the original Body in a theoretical magical subspace for the duration of the change in form). As neither the item nor the Owner's body exist, ...


14

I would say that no, it doesn't, nor should it. The last line for Polymorph is rather explicit; and specific trumps general in this case. The target’s gear melds into the new form. The creature can’t activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its equipment. They intentionally worded the spell in such a way that you can wear none of your magical ...


17

Yes Clearly, the fact you are an elf is not part of your personality and alignment, but rather your game statistics. So you aren't an elf, thus you can't be attuned to the item that requires being an elf. No The fact you are attuned to an object is part of your game statistics. The attunment doesn't break because it is not present when you are polymorphed. ...


5

It should not break attunement The key to this answer is the following from the Polymorph spell description The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. What does that italicized part mean? For a given creature, it can be rendered as "you ...


27

Rules as written, unfortunately so. You've found an interaction that seems undeniably correct from a strict reading of the rules. For example, should a magic item require attunement by an elf, and you are polymorphed into a frog, you no longer satisfy the attunement prerequisite of being an elf. You are unattuned. But before you implement this ruling in your ...


1

Yes, provided those class features are not limited by the new form If there were a statement in polymorph that "class abilities may not be used while polymorphed" it would be simple and done. However, that is not what the spell description says, and as far as I know there is no Sage Advice that indicates that ruling. Rather, polymorph explicitly ...


-4

Yes, impaired intelligence impairs communication. Intelligence From the Player's Handbook: Intelligence measures mental acuity, accuracy of recall, and the ability to reason. (PHB pg. 177) The Polymorph spell can severely impair a character's intelligence. When it does, that individual's reduced mental acuity, reduced accuracy of recall, and reduced ...


Top 50 recent answers are included