465 votes
Accepted

Can you drink a potion one-handed underwater?

I am a huge dumb nerd so I just went and proved this for myself with a bathtub and a bottle of Red Guitar. By pulling the cork with my teeth and immediately folding my thumb over the lips of the ...
Eikre's user avatar
  • 3,446
82 votes

Can you drink a potion one-handed underwater?

After reading Eikre's answer, I thought, sure you can.. but what about swimming? and since I live near the beach.. So, The Answer is "with extreme difficulty" if the water is moving. Having to keep ...
BaneStar007's user avatar
  • 1,186
79 votes
Accepted

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

Your players are right. An unconscious character can consume a potion administered by another player. This ruling is held up by the Sage Advice Compendium (p. 21): Can potions be administered to ...
Tal's user avatar
  • 3,906
75 votes
Accepted

Potion of Longevity and a 9 year old character

When you drink this potion your physical age is reduced by 1d6+6 years, to a minimum of 13 years. You can't reduce something to a number lower than its stated minimum. By a plain reading of the text,...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 101k
50 votes
Accepted

Can an unconscious PC or NPC reject healing from a potion?

You cannot choose to abstain from a potion effect Potion of Healing states: You regain hit points when you drink this potion. In that language, there is no choice. Just cause and effect. You drink ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
46 votes

How does a Potion of Poison work?

You have to be poisoned to take the damage (he is correct) The description of the Potion of Poison says: If you drink it, you take 3d6 poison damage, and you must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.8k
44 votes

Can you drink a potion one-handed underwater?

The rues of D&D are simple: The DM describes the environment The players describe what they want to do The DM narrates the result of the character's actions So: "You are underwater" "I want to ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k
36 votes
Accepted

Can you drink part of a potion?

You can't drink part of a potion—That is, you can't drink enough to enjoy any of its effects without automatically chugging the whole thing. Page 139 of the Dungeon Master's Guide states: "Once ...
Ryan Veeder's user avatar
  • 3,224
31 votes
Accepted

Can you have a potion of Inflict Serious Wounds?

Yes; it damages the drinker. The rules on potions, from the SRD: It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute. Potions are like spells cast ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
29 votes

Potion of Longevity and a 9 year old character

This sort of corner case is exactly what the Golden Rule exists for, so I'd be inclined to say that you as DM should arbitrate the result as you see fit. Personally, I would be inclined to say that ...
Steve-O's user avatar
  • 291
29 votes
Accepted

What happens if you feed a potion to a dead (not unconscious) creature?

Some “potions” are applied topically. Actually, these “potions” are called oils, and refer to things like oil of sharpness which, when poured over a piercing or slashing weapon, makes it magically ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
29 votes

Are potions and breakable things carried by a character broken or damaged when a character falls?

There are no rules for this. The general assumption seems to be that your equipment will not break when you fall or become unconscious. This is also true for being targeted by spells, which ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 81k
28 votes

Drinking Bless Weapon Oil

If a player does something unexpected that's not covered by the rules, just saying "there are no rules, so it does nothing" is the boring way out. That's one of the advantages of roleplaying games ...
lisardggY's user avatar
  • 10.4k
27 votes

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

From DMG p.139, "Most potions consist of one ounce of liquid." Just to clarify the amount of liquid we are dealing with here. From PHB p.197, "If damage reduces you to 0 hit points and does not kill ...
tzxAzrael's user avatar
  • 3,281
27 votes

Are these good rules for throwing a potion of healing?

The rule is, apart from some inconsistencies with the existing mechanics, roughly fine. Basically, you're giving your players a new option to use, which is to their advantage - however, the option ...
kviiri's user avatar
  • 54k
26 votes
Accepted

Is there any other effect that induces sleep other than the Sleep spell?

Unconscious A filtered search of spells and items that include the unconscious condition on Dndbeyond.com yields only two results. Sleep effects give you the unconscious condition and include language ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
26 votes
Accepted

Does the Beacon of Hope spell maximize the HP regained from any Potion of Healing?

Beacon of Hope affects any and all healing, including potions of healing The beacon of hope spell states: For the duration, each target [...] regains the maximum number of hit points possible from ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
24 votes
Accepted

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

I've seen potions houseruled to be available as a bonus action, and I've houseruled this myself on occasion. The answer to your question is: It depends on the availability of potions In the early game,...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.6k
23 votes

Is there any other effect that induces sleep other than the Sleep spell?

NautArch mentioned the spells Eyebite and Symbol in his answer. However, there are also a few monster features that can put others to sleep; namely the following: MM: Beholder and Death Tyrant - ...
PixelMaster's user avatar
  • 26.1k
20 votes

Do potions use concentration for their effects?

If a potion explicitly duplicates the effect of a spell that requires concentration, the concentration requirement remains. Unless the potion's description states otherwise Sage Advice Ruling This is ...
Lovell's user avatar
  • 5,627
20 votes

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

Actually, I used to be a paramedic and during a cardiac arrest situation (the patient is making death saving throws), we would routinely give some drugs through the endotracheal tube (a tube, used for ...
CharlieHorse's user avatar
  • 1,175
20 votes
Accepted

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A Rogue cannot use Fast Hands on any magical potion Magic items do not require the Use an Object action to be activated, but a separate action entirely The following quote directly addresses how this ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
18 votes
Accepted

Drinking Bless Weapon Oil

Technically, nothing happens. The drinker's chugged what he should've applied, and claiming to have applied the magic oil on the inside doesn't count. (Unless maybe the drinker's a gully dwarf; those ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
18 votes

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

The idea of "administering" a potion to someone who is fighting is so hilarious to me that I have trouble envisioning any use for "administering" a potion EXCEPT to someone who can't drink it ...
Airk's user avatar
  • 3,382
18 votes
Accepted

How to learn new potion's formula?

Xanathar's Guide has mechanics for this. Crafting a magic item, which includes all potions, can be handled via the Downtime Activity rules in Xanathar's Guide to Everything. All of the rules in the ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.3k
18 votes

Can Constructs use magical potions?

Yes, constructs (in general) can drink potions. For reference, the construct type is described in the basic rules identically to its description in the introduction to the Monster Manual: Constructs ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
17 votes

How does one craft Potions of Healing?

Confirmed by Jeremy Crawford. Potions of Healing are magical items, and crafted using the magical item crafting rules in the DMG. As well as the requirements listed under the magic item crafting ...
EightBitTony's user avatar
17 votes
Accepted

Can I drink more than one potion in one round?

There is no such rule that I can find, and I tend to think that I would have heard of it if it existed. It certainly isn’t to be found anywhere in the potion rules, which is where such a rule should ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
17 votes

Can you only gain the benefits of a healing potion by drinking it?

RAW, the effects only apply when it is consumed "per os". (Emphasis mine). You regain 2d4 + 2 Hit Points when you drink this potion Source
Ben's user avatar
  • 23.1k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible