Hot answers tagged

29

So, first up, we need to make something clear: The (capital A) Attack action is a specific action defined on page 192 of the PHB. It lets you make a (lowercase a) attack, or multiple (lowercase a) attacks if you have the Extra Attack class feature. Volley is a specific action that lets you make as many (lowercase a) attacks as there are creatures within 10 ...


24

No There's been discussion here to the effect that reliable fireballs simply don't make sense and that it reduces the fighter's uniqueness. Given that dailies are reliable or have miss effects, it's not fair to be able to decide if half-damage is acceptable at this time. Encounters should not be made reliable: they are usable every combat and while it's ...


24

No. The teleport trick is an immediate reaction, not an immediate interrupt. Since it's a reaction, the entire attack occurs before the pixie can teleport away, and the pixie can still get hit. For reference: a reaction to a trigger occurs only after the trigger (in this case, an attack) has been completely resolved. An interruption occurs before the ...


22

No. The Player's Handbook 2, page 219 has this to say on the matter (emphasis mine): Failed Saving Throw: Sometimes an effect changes as a target fails saving throws against it. The new effect, specified in a “First Failed Saving Throw” or a “Second Failed Saving Throw” entry, takes effect after the target fails a saving throw against the previous ...


19

I'm going to copy from another answer of mine regarding changes between Revised and the 20th Anniversary edition. Potence and Celerity have been significantly altered. Each now adds a passive bonus (at no vitae cost) to their governing physical attribute; you add your dots as extra dice in pools using Strength and Dexterity, respectively. In addition, ...


18

Rules as written: When an attack targets "one creature", it targets one creature. The engulf ability of the cube (as detailed in Monster Manual) says nothing about the creatures engulfed being damaged by attacks against the cube. Therefore, you are able to use single-target attacks against the cube without damaging your engulfed friends. Area attacks, ...


17

Present them with challenges that simply using powers from their cards won't solve. No matter how many times you explain it to them, they will forget now and then. But if they solve a challenge by improvising, next time you present them with a challenge, they will remember to at least consider improvising. After you are sure they consider improvising in ...


17

The Player's Handbook 2 is a 4th Edition book which means it is not compatible with 5th Edition. Two of the main reasons with this power is that the turn structure was changed from 4th having a Standard, Move, and Minor action on your turn and Immediate Actions and Opportunity Actions when it isn't your turn to having an Action, possibly a Bonus Action, and ...


15

Yes, it can. Blasts and bursts extend in the third dimension as they do in the second. And now for proof. First, the discussion where this comes up is in dimensional scramble, here: A Large creature occupies a 2X2X2 cube, and so would be in a burst 1 centred 2 squares up. If any single square (or cube, in this case) of a multi-square creature is in a ...


15

No, you cannot move via Lightning Rush while prone. You can use Lightning Rush against the enemy adjacent to you as the Move part is an effect. Being unable to do it does not limit your attack in any way. Lightning Rush: Effect: Before the attack, you move your speed to a square adjacent to the triggering enemy. Ok, so before the attack you move, what ...


15

In an average deadlift, a character with +3 Might and Inhuman Strength have the same level of capability. However, that is nowhere near the whole story. First of all, the game doesn't care about the average deadlift. They only care about deadlifts that might advance the story - and in those cases there is going to be a choice about whether or not to spend ...


15

No, there's no strength limit to forced movement. Pull 2 means pull 2, regardless of the size or weight of the target. This means your players could also use that forced movement on a gargantuan dragon - it's up to you to work out how that works, and really, if they're up against a gargantuan dragon, they need all the help they can get. A lot of sources of ...


15

Generally, conditions and effects stay, however, specific conditions will go away. Dazed has no such exception and stays until it has run its course. If the attacker is dead and the condition is End of Next Turn, then it stays until the attacker's turn in the initiative order comes up. From Conditions: Duration: The effect that imposes a condition on a ...


15

Yep, allies are hit too, otherwise it would say "each Enemy in the blast", as is the case on plenty of attacks (For example, Fire Shroud, contrast with Shock sphere).


15

No. They're completely different rules for two rather different games. None of the Powers from D&D 4th edition are part of D&D 3.5e, and those that happen to have similar names to 3.5e spells work completely differently, and reference rules that don't exist in 3.5e. If you want a spell reference for 3.5e, you're better off cutting and pasting out of ...


14

There is nothing explicit within 4e's rules against using powers out of combat.. Some powers, such as the Executioner (Assassin)'s class dailies, have out of combat uses for the power written on the card. Further more, 4e allows you to choose whether you are dealing lethal or non-lethal damage if you damage an enemy to 0 hp without any penalties to you as a ...


13

You do not use actions to make the secondary attack. The secondary attack happens automatically when you sustain the power: Sustain Minor: The zone persists until the end of your next turn, and you make the secondary attack. There's no other way to make the secondary attack (it only happens when you sustain, and you can only sustain once per round).


13

It means you roll your d20, add your Wisdom modifier, and compare it to the enemy's Will. You don't just compare your Wisdom score to their Will - that isn't what's used here. On Scores and Modifiers If you have 20 Wisdom, that's your wisdom score. 20 wisdom gives you a wisdom modifier of +5. The wisdom score is not used in the roll at all. Aside from ...


13

Burst actually doesn't inherently mean the power targets every enemy - it means the power covers, in some way, the area of the burst. (Close bursts are bursts centred around the caster.) Bursts are used in a few different ways, and do not by default target everyone (or necessarily anyone) inside them. For instance, the Cleric has the level 16 Hallowed ...


13

This is nothing special for power cards in particular - powers in the books share this notation as well. The [W] means your weapon damage dice. Crack your Player's Handbook open to page 276 — the Attack Results section — and look at the right hand side. As in the example it gives: if the weapon you're using for this power is a regular dagger, ...


13

Fighter, Monk, Wizard, Sorcerer, Cleric, Shugenja (from Complete Divine), Rogue and Ninja (from Complete Adventurer) Unfortunately, you have selected a massively disparate subset of the classes. Fighter, monk, ninja, and rogue are four of the weakest classes published for all of 3.5 (with Complete Adventurer’s ninja actually probably the worst here), ...


12

Dresden Files is pretty tracking-light compared to D&D; the only character assets that really need tracking are the Stress tracks (which work fine on character sheets) and Fate points. For my games I've been using the following: A stack of poker chips for Fate points. This makes it easy to keep the Fate economy moving quickly; I can take them when spent, ...


12

Warlords have Opening Shove (from the Martial Power book), which does, in fact, push. Warlords who use a two-handed spear or polearm can also take the Longhand Student feat, which adds push 1 to Viper Strike. Warlords who use a greatbow or longbow can take the Adamant Arrow Student feat to add push 1 with Paint the Bullseye. If none of those meet your ...


12

Remember that in D&D, damage is very nebulous - and in 4E particularly so: You reduce it not to kill but to defeat - whether through imprisonment, eternal slumber, knocking them unconscious or, ok, murder. Additionally, your damage reflects your skill - it increases as your experience increases. As such, you can decide to deal less damage than your ...


12

No. The name and the "fluff" text in itallic at the begining of the power just do not matter. The power Inescapable Blade can be used with a Hammer or a Flail for example. The same is true for feats, races, classes, items and everything else. The name is just a (preferably) unique identifier, has no bearing on the actual rules. If you can make it ...


12

Yes, it means enemies and allies Creature A being in the game world. Both adventurers and monsters are creatures. See also adventurer and monster. - Published in Rules Compendium, page(s) 310. There are options for avoiding friendly fire while still laying down a burst/blast zone that includes friendlies War Wizard's Staff feat lets you slide an ...


12

It depends on the exact writing of the power. The Warlock's Eldritch Strike has "This power counts as a basic attack." So all things that trigger on basic attacks do so. However, powers such as the Paladin's Ardent Strike have "This power may be used in place of a basic attack while charging" and do not count as a basic attack, because it is only "in place ...


11

Teleportation ends grabs. According to PHB page 286: If you were immobilized because of a physical effect, such as a creature grabbing you, you can teleport away and are no longer immobilized or restrained, if applicable. I guess you could say they didn't teleport "away" since they were still in the burst. However I'd say "away" means "out of the ...


11

The text in the compendium agrees with the HotFL with the following note: "Update (9/30/2011) Updated in Class Compendium" That seems pretty clearly to me that there is errata in the class compendium that updates the PHB1 power to the HotFL text. Checking the Class Compendium for the Scoundrel Rogue (an update to the PHB1 classes), it agrees with the ...


11

From my reading of the PHB, both require line of effect from their origin square, and neither require line of sight (p272): A blast affects a target only if the target is in the blast’s area and if there is line of effect from the origin square to the target. and A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible